Chaos Attraction

Yet Another Phone Call Recap

2002-03-18, 6:18 p.m.

I normally wouldn't spend most of an entry going on about this, but lord, my day was pretty dull.

Well, sounds like things got interesting after I left town on Sunday night. Gamewise, the new prince has enacted a bunch of scary, crazy rules and punishments that are gonna kill a lot of people. Instead of having heads of clans, he's instituted a "speaker for the clan" position, which went to... Dave's character. Oh lordy. (And according to Dave, I'm probably next in line to get the job should he be killed off. Yikes.) Scott's comedian character got introduced and was summarily killed off (big surprise to that), and presumably Demma's character will most likely bite it if she ever returns. Julia's has a month to "find a purpose" and if she doesn't, she gets killed off (and anything she does is gonna reflect on Dave. Joy.). And Dave's friend Deb's character, who was second-in-command of the clan, ended up biting it after killing off Scott's. In other words, chaos aplenty. Plus Dave got into some kinda pissing match with somebody else (who picked the fight, then denies it), and the guy now wants to get him killed. Oh joy. So not looking forward to returning under this reign on Friday, especially if I'm the "most responsible" after Dave. (The former head of the clan made it onto the council, and the other guy who's been around for awhile would rather die than take the job, and after all of those folks, I've been around the longest. Yikes.) Deb, however, has now "joined the family" with a new character that's the oldest illegitimate daughter. We continue to multiply, I guess...

Ai yi, that game is whacked.

In other news, the store that they play the game in was being sold, and some nice guy is going to buy it. He offered Dave and Scott jobs (working for merchandise until the store makes enough money to pay employees) and possible partnerships in the store later on, and now they're all plotting to improve the place. The boys have wanted to get a store for awhile, so yay for them.

Jeremy and Nikki have apparently managed to piss off nearly everyone in town, and most folks have written them off by now. Dave is apparently getting damn close to it himself, even if Jeremy is his best friend. This is kind of a surprise considering how close they were just a few weeks ago, but I guess they've been doing a lot of money-mooching and lying to people and even Dave's fed up. Damn.

In non-phone-related news, I finally told some of the 3WA folks about the engagement and got a lot of congratulations. I also finally told Jackie via e-mail, and she called him "Prince Charming." (I'm not sure what Dave made of that, other than asking "Where did she get that from?" Jackie's like that.) I was amused at Kismet's comment about "weren't you the one who was bitching about never finding love like a month ago?" Heh, no kidding.

I am freaking out at the Amtrak web site, which seems to hate me or something. When I was in the train station Sunday night I saw a sign that said "schedules change on March 18th." However, they didn't have any new schedules around to take. I tried looking online tonight, but the site seemed kinda hosed. For one thing, it kept claiming I was going to depart on March 15, which it only sometimes noticed had actually passed by now. For another, it would only show me departure times from here from 5:55 a.m. (the station isn't even OPEN then!) to around 2 p.m., no afternoon times. For a third, the times it showed me for departure from there were... well, horrid, and I'm REALLY hoping that's not the new schedule coming up. Basically I'd have to leave to go home either (a) before Dave got off work, and most likely before any friends could come haul my ass to the station, before 5 p.m., or (b) after 9 p.m., which would mean I'd get home around midnight and Mom would be pissed off because I couldn't call her, plus it's dangerous, plus since everyone will probably be at game by 9 p.m. I won't be able to get a ride over to the station then either! CRAP! I really hope this isn't the case and the site's just hosed, but I have the sneaking suspicion that the new schedule is going to be really bad. Damn, and the old one worked so well for me, too.

I ended up spotting my ex last night driving around in the parking lot of the shopping center where Hill and I had gone to go pick up pizza. Or at least I am pretty sure that was his car (which is distinctive). Bleah. So glad he didn't spot me.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com