Chaos Attraction

It's Not Easy Being Slow

2002-03-21, 6:51 p.m.

No sooner do I post that long thing about how I was bored yesterday than today, doom comes upon us. Namely, the boss walked over, noticed that our pile of papers has grown considerably smaller since our arrival, and asked us to give her an estimate as to when we're going to be done with them.

You know what that means? I'm gonna be out of work again by the end of April (if I'm lucky enough that it lasts that long). Call it a hunch, given that she didn't mention this possibility to us, that there's not going to be anything else for us to do after the paperwork's done- and not much more of it is going to come in later.

CRAP.

I haven't exactly saved a whole lot of money from this job like I intended to. Given the out-of-town boyfriend thing and all, I've ended up spending quite a bit on train tickets and food and the occasional outfit/event. Plus the bills will be coming in (Dad is yelling at me to pay my health insurance while I'm employed and wants his check RIGHT NOW). And since this job hasn't lasted four months like it was supposed to, I'm not eligible for unemployment again (not that that paid a whole lot). What the hell I'm going to do, I don't know.

I know I'm going to be so tempted to just crash at S&D's or something for weeks on end so I can see the boy instead of job-hunting, and then I'll be completely distracted from it. I need to find a summer (at least) job in this town, ASAP, so I can start it pretty soon after this one's up. (Which'll kinda suck because I won't get any kind of vacation this summer, but what else can I do?) I'm so frustrated that I found a summer job in this department last month, but I didn't apply for it because it would have started before this job was supposed to be up. Now it's too late to apply. Waaaah! I haven't seen a whole lot listed at school lately either. Shite.

I'm kicking myself muchly right now. Why the hell was I so damn efficient and quick? I knew better, I just couldn't slow down after all these years of speediness at the newspaper. Gah. What a moron I am! I swear, the only way I slow down at all is to er, do stuff I'm not supposed to be doing, and even then I'm still fast.

And the day only got worse from there. I FINALLY got called for a temp job today... and I can't do it, of course. Don't you just love timing?

I also went to the Amtrak station today and... the website was absolutely correct: they have cut a ton of service out of this area :( Now to get there I have to take a bus from here to Sac, from Sac to the train, and then the same train as before. Getting home is much worse- they cut the bus that I used to take home after the earlier train, and they've replaced the earlier train I took with a MUCH slower one that the ticket guy highly recommended that I do not take- "it's always late. It's an hour and a half late right now." So I can't leave town until after 9 o'clock, which means I get home around 11:45 p.m. My mother is so gonna kill me for coming home that late (and not being able to call her for hours as usual). I don't want to have to walk home that late at night alone. CRAP.

(Update: later) Well, this day keeps getting worse and worse. It basically amounts to all of our weekend plans (the riverboat cruise, going to game, etc.) being canceled and me possibly not having any place to stay tomorrow night. Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!!!!!!!!!!! I won't get into the nitpicky details, but things are a total pain in the ass, and I have no idea what's going on and won't know until I get into town, thanks to my lack of phone, etc.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com