Chaos Attraction

Random Swellings

2002-04-01, 9:50 p.m.

Note: This entry has nothing to do with April Fool's Day. I felt too crappy to make anything up, including the fun medical problems that come up in this. Bleah.

There's not a whole lot I can say about Easter. Nice candy, nice egg hunt, good food, nice people, I got to go swimming...

However. There was one fly in the ointment, in that Aunt Susie had me sleep on the couch in her new addition room. Which has the most windows in the entire house. Which is one of those things that is GUARANTEED to give me a big headache when I wake up. I could feel one coming on too, which really didn't help. Plus Cassie'd gotten some kind of weather computer thing for her birthday and it kept beeping. First one beep about every 30 seconds... then two every 30... then three... then just constant nonstop beeping! GAH! It wouldn't turn off, either, so we had to lock it in the pantry. Even with one of those shade thingies over my eyes and sticking my head under the blankets, I could still see the sunlight all over. So of course, I woke up with a headache.

I tried to sleep it off during the day and take aspirin, which helped, but I still somehow was really tired when we were coming home. I was completely cranky at Mom, who'd left Dad's clothes at Aunt Susie's and insisted that I'd taken them and hung them in my closet. I may be a space case, but I think even I would notice if I did that. It took a fair amount of effort to stay up and talk to Dave- mostly mushy "I miss you" stuff again. Doesn't sound like his Easter went all that well. The good news is that (a) he will get two days off in a row at some point during the month, TBD, and (b) with all the overtime he's put in in the last few weeks, he's springing for a hotel for the weekend. So I get to see him after all- "two weeks is too long to go without seeing you." Whee!

That is, if I'm not too bloody sick again... This ticks me off. I'm supposed to be immune to this type of thing. But last night, when I was completely exhausted, I didn't sleep. I laid around shagged out and unable to rest, and when I got up, I found a few nice unpleasant surprises. Besides my voice going crapola on me again- it sounds very rough and is throwing people off when I talk to them- and having to blow my nose more often despite not being around any pollen, and finding new bug bites on me every few minutes, there was some downright scary stuff.

My left eye was swollen and red (but not exactly painful, thank god), and my lips, well... seemed to be falling asleep. They felt like they do when I've gotten shots at the dentist, and they were swollen and off-center, like I'd gotten them shot up with collagen. I could move my mouth, but puckering was surprisingly difficult. I started freaking out no end that I'd ended up with Bell's palsy (a girl I knew in school got that) and end up with a frozen half of my face for three months. I put ice on the eye and that improved it. Fortunately the good thing about wearing glasses is that NOBODY notices the condition of your eyes beneath them. I could have a black eye instead of a red one and nobody would notice. And surprisingly, the left eye and lips have pretty much recovered during the course of the morning. However, I've developed odd red, raised, sensitive areas on my fingers- my left index had one for awhile then it went away, now I have a bump on my left thumb. And when I last checked my face in the bathroom, I somehow managed to get a bug bite above my right eye. GAH! Between all the facial hell and my utter tiredness, I'm amazed I've lasted this long at work. But of course I can't go home, money and all. And at least I can still function at work, unlike last time.

Why do these things always happen the night before you have to go back to work, when you won't be able to even try to catch up on sleep again for another five days? My body's even less likely to sleep on a schedule when that happens.

The only really April-Fooly thing about the day was Dave, Jeremy, Nikki, and I don't know who all else making er... certain sound effects when I picked up the phone tonight. I didn't talk to him for too long because they were going out to karaoke, but he did say that some other vampire game was being started up next weekend. I guess I'll have to go up there again (oh, sure, pull my arm about it, I know). I was amused when my mom called tonight (again about the missing clothes issue, only now it was "Didn't Aunt Susie give you a pillow? We left one there too." Um, nope- she then got irritated at my cousin for not telling her, or whatever.) and I told her I'd be out of town after all, and she said "Well, don't you do that every weekend?"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com