Chaos Attraction

Annoying Stuff On Campus Lately

2002-04-18, 9:57 p.m.

Annoying Stuff on Campus Lately:

(1) Autoflush toilets, which have been installed in the bathrooms in my building. Not that it's not a nice idea, but these are WAY too er, sensitive. If they hear the slighest noise or see the slightest bit of movement, no matter what said noise or movement is, they flush. Annoying as hell.

(2) So these mysterious orange "ifounditatucd.com" fliers, featuring smiling students saying "I found it!" have been littering the campus for a couple of weeks. I figured it was just another Davis-themed dot com along the lines of Davis 411 or whatever and ignored it, but Hill wanted to check the site out. So we looked, and found... more bright orange and "I found it", a countdown to the next update... and that was it. I was not impressed.

Then the fliers started plugging some big event on the football field for today. Then a couple days ago, a bunch of guys wearing orange "I found it" shirts started staking out the main buildings on campus to hand out some kind of newspaper-esque fliers. I figured given the matching shirts, said dot com had been hitting students up to work for them. Now this kind of behavior always annoys the crap out of me because you'll want to enter the building, but you just can't go about your business without being hit up for something. Especially when you want to enter the library, which has one entrance. Religious groups love the library. Anyway, they hit me up, I said something like "I can't afford it" and walked off. At any rate, it's been hard to find out what the heck they're advertising for. Given the name, the ambiguity of the product, and the big "event" at the football field my guess was something along the lines of online flea market connections or something.

Well, I was wrong: They came out today in the school paper, with a big full page back ad listing all of the students who had "found it." It turned out to be "a personal relationship with God through Jesus Christ." The football field thing is a religious gathering. Now tons of people are wearing the orange shirts, too. Gah. I miss the days when religion was more of a private thing and I could wander around campus without running into so many pimps for Christ or whatever.

("Pimps for Christ." I am so going to hell. But you already knew that.)

Though amusingly enough, I saw an "I lost it" sign posted in a bathroom today...

(3) They've been running word searches in the paper all week offering prizes to whoever completes them by 4 p.m. on the day the puzzle's run. Only the text is eye-hurtingly tiny, and I don't have time to finish it by 4 p.m. any more. Gah.

(4) Why can't the people who load up food in the take and go area actually load it up before 10:30 p.m.? I waste my entire break walking over there to get an early lunch, only to find out they have NO food. I'd prefer to get my lunch before the mob hits and I waste 25 minutes of freedom waiting in line, thankyouverymuch.


Lord, being engaged is getting to me, y'all.

I normally hate weddings. Which is ironic, given that they tend to feature (a) an excuse to get dressed up, (b) fancy food, and (c) dancing, all of which are high on my list, plus they've got the romantic angle. I've spent years bitching every time I had to go to one. Either I had to go to the wedding of someone I didn't know (Mom's boss's kids- why on earth I had to go to THOSE weddings, I have no idea) or I had to go to someone I did know's wedding and then get griped at to get a boyfriend/why aren't you married yet/you're next!

Given my usual wedding antipathy, I'm blaming the engagement as to why I'm actually wanting to go to Rose's post-wedding shindig. Not that I won't probably still get bitched at about when am I getting married (and I can't even say anything), but somehow it seems less heinous than usual.

I've also felt the urge of late (and I swear, this only came after Dave said he'd tell his boss he had to come see me to work on wedding plans) to go off and buy more wedding books. My "What No One Tells The Bride" book came in yesterday (yay!) and I've been devouring it in secret. I even carried it around with me at work all day today, even though I knew I wouldn't have any time to read it. It's excellent so far. I am seriously wanting to go wedding book shopping tomorrow after work. At least get more of those "how to cope with the stress" books, if not necessarily wedding organizers or whatever. Well, maybe one of those. And if I can find it, that book on eloping.

My wanting any kind of wedding planning book is even more out of character, as the idea of wedding planning so gives me the mental hives. All that crap you have to think about and organize makes me want to hide. Not to mention elope. Seriously, as long as I get a nice dress, I don't really care about anything else. The only hitch to this being that I'm guessing Mom will be pissed if I want to elope. Hey, if she wants to organize the thing, not to mention pay for it, fine by me... I just don't want to deal with all of that! I have no idea what she'd want to do, though. Given how I never thought I would get married, I certainly never asked, and if I did now she'd get suspicious.

I've also been surfing around wedding site boards. The Knot boards bore me, but the Wedding Channel's are quite gossipy and scandalous, which entertains me no end. People have parents that are a lot worse than mine, hooray! Though I did feel stomach-punched when I read the thread in which some woman's fiance, who had wanted to have kids, decided he couldn't afford more. It really sounded like he was just having some kind of last-minute financial panic attack to me, but most people there were all "Leave him immediately! It'll kill you to not have children!" Oy vey. I wonder if anyone ever posts that has the opposite point of view (i.e. she doesn't want kids, he does). Certainly nobody there that I saw. Gah, what is it about marriage that makes people automatically think "I want tons and tons of babies?"

The whole he wants kids thing scares the crap out of me. Well, mainly the idea of me giving birth makes me want to hide under the bed with my teddy bear and scream and scream. (Not a good sign, folks.)

It's not like I hate kids or anything, but I've always been low on the maternal instinct. I didn't play with baby dolls, I'm not so good at taking care of pets (well, sometimes I'm better than others. The louder the pet is, the more likely it'll get fed), I can't ever water plants, I'm easily grossed out to the point of nearly barfing (or actually doing it), my cooking and cleaning just plain suck...why people who know these things about me think I'd be a good mom, I have NO idea. (Presumably Mom and Dave are very optimistic.) Given how bonkers I am, I have always had severe doubts as to how I'd parent. Mine screwed me up and were trying very hard to be good, do I really want to do that to anyone else? *shudder*

But presumably that stuff could be taken care of. Assuming I ever shaped up and decided I wanted a kid, when I'm like, 40 or so, I figured hey, I can adopt. Give a home to a kid who already needs it. A ready-made, that's oh, at least in the double digits when it comes to age. (The older I get, the more I feel like I just don't get little kids any more.) I could handle that. Hopefully.

It's the labor part that really gets me down. You see, I strongly suspect he wants our biological kids. And giving birth is something that well, tends to go badly in the family. (Hence why I'm an only child.) All kinds of shitty complications and whatnot that trash your body. Plus babies in his family run HUGE. Honestly, I think I'd die. I don't know how I could survive all of that.

Man, I'd be much more willing to have kids if HE could go give birth to them. But noooo, it has to be me. Shit.

I want an artificial womb or decanting, damn it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com