Chaos Attraction

Calvary/Calgary

2022-04-22, 2:51 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
The Pope's A Whore Too - 2022-04-27
I Stabbed A Bitch - 2022-04-26
Just Kill Me Already - 2022-04-25
Chaos Magnet Birthday - 2022-04-24
Spring Fling Show - 2022-04-23

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: well, I didn't totally hate myself or scream at the computer or spend a half hour rebooting the computer today and avoided stuff, so there's something! I did do some things that haven't been done for a month, so there's that. I had some idle time in the afternoon, which sadly I had to spend in the office, oh well.

I got Chinese food for myself for the entire weekend--dinner for two. Tonight I ate the appetizers and the soup, so I can pee aaaaaaaaaaaaall night long :P The more portable stuff I'll bring along to eat tomorrow.

The more people (specifically, Loretta) ask me for a link to the show, the more resentful I get about LIVE MUSIC meaning we can't put it online. It makes me pouty. I also had a long text conversation with Kelly this morning about the topic, though Linda is at least providing DVD's to the authors and if anyone else wants one, so there's that to show people later. Kelly was all "now I have to figure out how to watch a DVD? I guess I'll dig out a machine...."

Kelly was also kinda annoyed that I told her that ONE word was changed in the show. Joanna (who's kinda drunk and very religious) says that her son has to face his accusers just as Jesus did in.... somewhere... and then I say "You realize Jesus was crucified at Calvary?" and Joanna is all "Oh, Erica, do not talk about things about which you do not know." Y'know, our usual insults. The script said Calvary in that spot, and apparently while I wasn't there Janene and Nancy decided that didn't make sense to say the word twice and the real intention should have been that maybe Joanna was drunk and said the wrong word, like Calgary. So right now it's performed as her saying "Calgary," me correcting her, and we go on. I admit that logic does make more sense to me so I didn't argue the point. The Calvary thing is a little different in this one than in previous scripts anyway.

I told Kelly this went on and she was annoyed about having her word changed, wished someone had asked her permission, said she wanted to send a "hey, that's not cool" email after the show, asked Dana and me if that happens with plays and we both said yes (I gave her examples from other shows, the use of "Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life" in As You Like It being the most egregious), and noted that in almost all shows, you don't have the playwright around to consult so nobody's used to that.

Eventually I was all "well, if it super bugs you, I'd say something today instead of after the show before it's over." I was feeling uncomfortable, but then Kelly looked over the script and was all "Oh, wait, oops, I meant to use one Calgary and one Calvary, I typo'd that." So....I guess it's okay...? Hopefully? I think she meant ME to say Calgary, but oh well....

I didn't have the heart to tell her that Nancy flubbed the intro and forgot to say her name in the filming last night either (sigh). Nancy is apparently hyphenating now after finally getting married and was having issues remembering her own name, I think.


10 minute play rehearsal: I ignored the Scott-and-Cameron show all night, he only talked to me when he was looking around for his script. Whatever, dude. I get it, I'm third choice and always will be. I just left at the end to avoid watching it some more.

Rehearsal continues to go well, they brought cake and snacks and we don't have to come until 6:30 (rather than 4 as originally stated), people are happy and it's going well. It was filmed for another night (this time Nancy left out her own name and said Kelly's...one or the other), and I found it ironic that right as they started filming live music started blasting outside. Good luck with the recording of that!

My phone continues to NOT play the farts, which is annoying me. I reloaded and reinstalled and nothing works. Come onnnnnnn.

Someday I want real love and not crumbs. Can I EVER get that, universe? SERIOUSLY, can I ever get that? WHY CAN'T I FIND SOMEONE WHO ACTUALLY WANTS TO BE WITH ME THAT I WOULD WANT TO BE WITH AND IT WORKS OUT? Preferably naturally and not a horrible dating app?



previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com