Chaos Attraction

The Pope's A Whore Too

2022-04-27, 3:02 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Murder Mystery Training - 2022-05-02
Tits and Tricks - 2022-05-01
I Can't Believe He's Doing A Floss In 2022 - 2022-04-30
Standing O? - 2022-04-29
Los Trabajawhores - 2022-04-28

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work Wednesday: What a day.

First off I had to tell my boss about the roach spraying and arrange to (a) not go into the office tomorrow, (b) work part of the day online and take the middle part of the day off to move crap around here. I have morning and afternoon meetings that unfortunately prevent me from using more than that...and I have to do THREE days in office next week, sigh.

(b) I had Yet Another One Of Those Meetings with my boss and grandboss about my fuckups again. One of them was from April 13, over a typo and (a) why didn't I notice the typo and (b) why didn't I respond fast enough to an Emergency Situation. Uh, because I was focusing on something else? SIGH. I won't get into the other one, that was of course more fuckupery about how I can't write email and am too blunt and honest about stuff like "it got lost in the office" (i.e. "heck if I know why, I put it out there, I swear") and "I added it to the pile" (i.e. "I don't know when the officials are going to do your thing, they won't do the job until there's a pile.")

This turned into a whole thing of them trying to tactfully ask "if I hate the job, why do I stay?" and me saying "I don't hate the whole job, it's just that I fail at customer service ALL THE TIME." I wish finding another job here was an option, but all jobs are customer service, so. I'm beyond tired of failing so damn much, you know? They said I was "intermittent, not consistent" and honestly, that's the best compliment I've gotten around here, i.e. "I don't suck EVERY SINGLE TIME AT EVERY FUCKING THING I DO." Which is how I feel every time some other thing goes wrong or someone else is mad again. It actually got rather sweet on their parts after awhile, go figure. These folks aren't exactly complimentary people, but them saying I don't suck ALL the time is a damn miracle. I slightly cried, but not majorly, so there's that.

Other than that: more lists, more emails, I'm hugely behind at everything, the usual.

On the good news side:

(a) Rhiannon recommended some kind of high heel insoles that she got at the local shoe store here that supposedly shift the weight of your feet or something. They had the recommended brand in my size there when I ran over during lunch, so yay there.

(b) Remember that audition thing I did Monday? I GOT IN. No, seriously, that happened! I was flabbergasted! The girl was apparently impressed by me to just hire me outright since I can't go to the callbacks, and asked if I can go to trainings next week (sure, I'll just probably be late since I have to be in the office most of the week) and if I couldn't, she'd move me to the summer. Very sweet. I said I didn't think I'd done very well and she said something like no, she was impressed at how I rolled with it, and since the other guy came up with a lot of setup it didn't give me that much to work with. "I'm still thinking about the jokes he made," she said. Yes, he's getting called back too. Told my boss this after lunch and she was all "The pandemic has really helped your theater career!" I did go look up her name in the Mary Poppins program later and now I'm all...did she change her name? It sounds like she's got a different one than before on the message. I'll just leave her nameless in here for the moment. (c) One of the dresses I ordered from Target came in and it fits! And has pockets! It's the light blue one in medium (not the pale purple one in large), so we'll see how the sizing of the other comes out. Wearing it to rehearsal to show Brunette Sierra tonight.

So, some good stuff.


Evita rehearsal: went pretty well, most fast changes were going pretty well. LOTS of hair doing and makeup in there today. So many curls, so much eye makeup. We all refused to get into costume until it was confirmed that we weren't running a quick change before starting the show, which actually started around 8 and we got out around 10:50. Booyah.

Kimmie is still telling people to put on masks back there, but they're going to "address it with the covid committee" within a week. I'm completely confused on the off-and-on policies: stage, have it off! Audience, have it off! Backstage while changing, have it off! Dressing room, on please. EASIER TO KEEP IT ON IN MY OPINION.

Scott is periodically saying stuff in a New York accent, particularly the stuff he yells when the movie is turned off at the start of the show. It cracks me up and I said so after. He indicated he wasn't going to do that in the actual show. I was all, "Do it but in an Argentinian accent?" Him: "Eh." I also cracked up seeing him wave buh-bye at one of the guys leaving during "Art of the Possible."

I tried to keep track of how much time I have between scenes in act 1. Pretty hard to do so in act 2. I think Evie was back in the dressing room for most of it? Saw her playing with people in act 1, at least. Poor kid is still sad and needs a hug from Mommy after watching her die on stage, which makes me think um...should we be having her watch that every night?

Mom called in between scenes. I saw that her email got spoofed by another scammer again this morning--it sent some misspelled email about "do u use Amazon" or whatever. I deleted it. Apparently various work people she knows figured out this wasn't her and deleted it, but cousin Linda...spent $500 on Amazon gift cards for scammers. facepalm And apparently this is an "again" situation. facepalm 2

During Rainbow Tour, Lindsay got to say something sassy to Steve: he had his buttons buttoned crookedly and she told him it looked like a 5-year-old (I asked her later what she said). I don't think he liked that, she was grinning. I asked him what she said and he was all, "I called her a whore. The Pope's a whore too." Me: "No argument here."

I wasn't sure if there was any point in my continuing to be a dresser after the first few scenes in act 2 if we were only putting one dress/no accessories on Evita and not really needing three people for that activity. I asked Jan about this and she was all "do whatever you want" about it. I asked Rhiannon and Arielle if I was needed and they weren't sure, just hang around in the back in case you are, I suppose? We did not get to practice with Monkey Dress beforehand, but did put it on Lindsay over her meringue dress for kicks during intermission, so it does go over the head...Actually, in the end it worked totally fine even though we'd literally never gotten to practice or choreograph this stuff. The dress is big enough on top to not be a problem, I did manage to help on the in and out and held on to the dress afterwards. And even though furry arms is silly, I actually rather liked the dress on her as a pre-funeral outfit.

Still not talking to Scott that much during any of this but am sitting by him afterwards during post-show notes. :)

Quotes: Blonde Sierra: "My brother and I were both named after mountains." Brunette Sierra: "My mom just says I was named after beer." I love the Sierras.

There was some debate as to whether or not the girls with shawls at the funeral should wear them over their heads or not. Jean to Lindsay: "I prefer it over your head, because you are dead."

Brunette Sierra, Kimmie and I talked about bras with pockets. I Googled later, this does exist.

Lindsay and Alisa (I'm not sure which of them said this) were talking about the change between kindergarten and first grade: "I know you're used to songs and naptime, but LEARN TO READ!!!"

"I am just going to fool with my hair the whole time I'm here." -Rhiannon

Alisa: "You know Jillian is the slime queen."

Brunette Sierra: "'Cause I'm a grownup and I can't remember to feed myself." On her fiance: "Matt is the biggest pain in the butt about anything healthy....He doesn't do physical labor...He's a princess." Lindsay: "He's an indoor cat."

Arie, Sage and I continue to make jokes about big money, game shows, lotteries, going to Disney, going on rides, etc. during "Rollin Rollin Rollin" and he and I still snark about selling our kid to a cult in Santa Evita. That said, I was all "Darned if seeing Lindsay and Evie together isn't cute."

Post-show notes: Jan said to be somewhat quieter yelling "PER-ON!" incessantly because you can't hear him even with a mic on. I started singing about the people of Argentina should shut up. (I note that right before that scene, Arie was all "Pepperoni!" and I was alternating singing "Par-rot!" with "Per-on!" Nobody noticed.)

Backstage Rhiannon and Arielle started singing "Don't Cry For Me Argentina," country music style. Morgan did the same for Shrek's "Morning Person."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com