Chaos Attraction

I Can't Believe He's Doing A Floss In 2022

2022-04-30, 3:15 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
May Fair - 2022-05-05
Murder Mystery Training 2 - 2022-05-04
Love Kernels - 2022-05-03
Murder Mystery Training - 2022-05-02
Tits and Tricks - 2022-05-01

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I woke up at 8 a.m. after getting home at 1:30 (and not sleeping, of course) to find out that my online class was, of course, postponed for another week. Not a shocker exactly, but I didn't exactly check my email last night about it either and my alarm still went off. Oh well.

I did do another online class from 10-1 on dealing with your negative voice in your head--you're to name/personify/dress up as it and talk it out with someone else. The lady I was working with had the voice of her mother perpetually picking on her for not being good enough in her head--I hear ya. I usually call mine "the giant cosmic voice of everyone who hates me," which doesn't have any visuals really so I described it more as a volcano going off. (As for my costume, I put on a Zoom pic of the "volcano jacket" from Stitches West this year, har har.) The facilitator points out that the voice is trying to help you, which is certainly the case in mine but not in my partner's (I suggested they divorce, har har). Mine is trying to protect me from everyone else going after me so I can tone myself down and behave and whatnot. You're supposed to thank it for its service and try to move on. I think the agreement I came to was that I'm already going to get yelled at at work already, could the volcano not make it worse by joining in?


After that, I went to go see Madagascar at Woodland. I still can't remember if I saw the actual movie or not and/or if so, am I mixing it up with Rio, but it was very cute. My coworker Erik played the zebra who wants to do something different. Rachel played a tour guide and a "foosa" (I guess this is the equivalent to a hyena in this show), Jean played a tourist, an old lady with a walker (again!) and then Maurice in act 2. Everyone appeared to be having a very good time and I liked the concept of the animal costumes as suits/dresses but with mane and whatnot. I note that Gloria the hippo is basically Tracy Turnblad but in gray/silver and pink and a hoop skirt. Good job, there. Rachel told me that the giraffe used to have 6-inch-platform shoes until he fell off them at opening--now he has normal shoes, thank goodness. Dude was already tall. It's a short (the intermission's after a half hour!) but fun show with good sets and acting and costumes.

I need to quote a random kid in the audience: "I can't believe he's doing a floss in 2022."

After that I briefly said hi to Erik and Rachel (who were with family) and then followed Jean, along with Eddie/Alfonso and Danny (also there today) and some other Woodland actor peeps to go have an early dinner at a pub. This was lots of fun and I enjoyed meeting new people, trading pics and comparing theater stories, talking about what to audition for next, blah de blah, Danny and I talked about theater sewing and at the end, he said he missed me, which was so sweet!

Jean took a picture of everyone at the table before she left, which I guess she immediately slapped on FB despite leaving to host a party. I found this out because I went to the theater a little early (figured I might as well head on over rather than go home for 10 minutes) and see if Scott needed any help adding brakes to the giant revolving door (answer: slightly), and I was all "yeah, just came over from there" and he was all "yeah, saw the picture Jean posted." Then I felt bad for him because he couldn't go, as usual, for the usual reasons.


This night went a lot better, which was good since the theater reviewer (Other Jennifer) was there, as were Scott's parents and Tomas (who is apparently having issues apartment hunting, so he's still here). I did say hi to his parents this time since Cameron wasn't around, at least. The brakes worked on the door, nobody vomited, huzzah. Peron's Latest Whore/Flame was good for tempo, but then people complained that A New Argentina was too slow. (Poor Boris.) Tessa, subbing in for Sofia this weekend apparently, was waving her arms in the booth during that number. I gather Hugo's guitar strumming is going awry somehow, but I can't tell from backstage.

Lindsay on the show: "No vomiting!" Jillian: "No 30 second version of Peron's Latest Flame!"

Clocky: "Everyone lived except Eva, and that's supposed to happen."

Quotes from backstage:

"If it smells like burning plastic, it's me. I burned my makeup bag." -Brunette Sierra

"They all did a lot of work." -Rhiannon "Or damage." -Brunette Sierra (sadly I can't remember context of this)

Brunette Sierra on auditioning for Music Man tomorrow: "I need a happy show after this." Darned right.

Better selling shows are apparently Music Man, Cats, and Sound of Music.

Lindsay during sound check: "The truth is, my voice is tired. I don't have any dialogue..."

Brunette Sierra tried on wedding dresses today and is almost agreed on a mermaid one that's only 4k over budget, so she hasn't committed to it yet. She showed pics. "Wanna see a 90's beaded extravaganza?" Lindsay: "Always!"

Brunette Sierra: "In every show, something happens." She's very profound in her quotes.

I commented that during my workshop thing this morning about negative voices, this show is a whole lot of negative ones about Eva. Lindsay: "The show was written by two men in the 70's." Good point.

Steve has created backstories for people on his end of the stage beyond just his "family" unit, apparently. Brunette Sierra: "We're living with Uncle Steve. That's our backstory."

Someone told me (can't recall who, maybe Stacy?) that they spotted Jan sleeping in the audience.

Brooke apparently injured her arm too this week. I haven't been too concerned about the heinous bruise on my arm (I can't use makeup on it since that'll get all over my other dresses, I don't own Dermablend, and eh, I'm holding up my arm/standing behind other people anyway), but she put a big ol' bandage on hers and then was worried about it. Rhiannon: "I'm scared of Jean too."

One of the musicians walked by us at some point during intermission and then said, "Don't mind me, I'm just making weird noises."

Evie has a blanket fort in the other girls's space.

I was told that while I was out the one night, Arie said "So I got my kid back, but I sold my wife."

I note that during the show when Arie goes off to dance, I start bitching that he's sneaking off with the neighbor lady (Alisa).

Lindsay: "Evie is like 4 kids." Evie, to various people: "You're dead." Brunette Sierra: "We need more space to fake death."

Rhiannon: "Hey Evie, when are you going to change your socks?" Evie: "Never." Lindsay: "You need to change your socks now." Evie: "Why?" Lindsay: "We're doing a show here?"

Rhiannon, currently wearing a jean jacket and shorts: "Can I wear those for the entire show? I think I'm gonna do it."

Alisa: "Bring a 2-year-old to Evita!"

Morgan is quite tired and was making "do I have to?" noises when Clocky (temporary stage manager) called places. Clocky: "I can make you do whatever I want."

During intermission, the Producers guys and I were discussing mashups. Like doing the Nazi salute while saying, "Per-on!" and singing "Springtime for Peron in Buenos Aires."

After that, there was another Woodstock's gathering, but Scott didn't get food and planned on leaving early, so I ended up in the food line for a long time and couldn't sit next to him--Jan was in the middle, I was probably gazing at him over her shoulder or whatever, sigh.

Jan was talking about how the first few times she did Evita--stage managing--she was afraid of cancer and couldn't deal with watching certain parts of the show. Awwww. I hugged her. Then later as a director, she had to deal with that, obviously. Other than that, they'd like more people to get involved since she and Steve are getting old, and various theater stories from Dannette about playing kids until she was 30 (I note she's short) and the likes of that, and at one point I said nobody would cast me in high school or college and Jan said "That's ridiculous" and I was all "awwwwwwww!"

There was also stuff about their Big Day of Giving event thing Thursday. I feel bad about not wanting to go to it, but they are serving chili, having a hot pepper eating contest, salsa lessons (I will never, ever have anyone to couples dance with, so what's the point) and alcohol (and I gotta drive home), so while I want to hang out with people, I literally can't or won't do any of that stuff. Sigh. Anyway, my table (the "adults" table, pretty much, the other table was Party Central) packed it in around midnight and I followed Scott out.

I may go to the Dixon May Fair instead since I found out it's opening Thursday and normally I never go because of Whole Earth being at the same time. I asked him what it was like and he was all "I last went like 15 years ago." Also said he wasn't going to go to the event due to work (of course). Then we ended up having random conversations about how many chicks is he with in Evita (he doesn't even know--"Sierra's my girlfriend in the opener and then she turns into my sister," his other "family" in the show is Brooke and the other Sierra (relationships totally ambiguous), he of course fake makes out with Lindsay because most guys in this show do, and dances with Arielle. Polyamory? Who knows. Then somehow this turned into a discussion of blood types and his parents getting into a horrible car accident before he was born. We have very random conversational transitions, y'all. We hugged goodbye and then I went home and went to bed at 12:30, where I slept marginally better than last time.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com