Chaos Attraction

Grandma's House

2002-04-28, 7:54 p.m.

Oh, I'm so mushy and glowy and happy right now. Writing on the train again and feeling delighted.

Here's how Dave greeted me when I got off the train on Friday: "I've got good news, and I've got bad news. And they're both the same news." I don't know how he did it, but he somehow talked his grandma into letting me stay in the guest room for the weekend. The good news, neither of us goes broke on hotel rooms. The bad news, well... actually, that turned out not to be so bad (ahem), but I've missed sleeping in his arms. Sigh. Oh well.

The whole bed rule did make me feel like kind of a ho, though. The first morning there Dave wanted me to go out with him to ask his dad something, and I was all "No! Not in this nightgown!" (Which, for the record, is long and black, but er, skimpy on top. Had I been warned beforehand, I would have brought sweats.) The next morning I borrowed his sweats and caved in. I just didn't want to wander the halls looking like that when I already felt kinda like the Bad Influence On Dave. (Hah. Other way round.) Not that anyone said anything to me, mind you, I'm just paranoid. My mom would be worse. The other night at my birthday dinner, she was talking about The Batchelor and how one mom kinda forced the guy to kiss her daughter in front of her. Mom was all "You wouldn't kiss a guy in front of me, would you?" I kinda stared at the table and muttered "No..."

I spent the days when he was at work hanging and going shopping with his mom. She's pretty entertaining while doing that. His dad actually smiled at me a few times and talked about suing the landlady. I think I'm fitting in, folks. It was actually pretty natural.

As for evening activities, we went to vampire again Friday, but were rapidly bored and left early. On Saturday, we went out with Teri and two of her friends, one of whom was my supposed lookalike. WE LOOK NOTHING ALIKE! (Is everyone blind?) Anyway, we went off to Chuck E. Cheese for dinner and were very amused that a ton of high school kids were there pre-prom. Cracked me up to see chicks in ballgowns on the arcade machines. Damn, wish I'd done that for prom. Then we went and played the machines, and I got Dave to play my favorite, SkeeBall, for awhile. The five of us racked up 200 tickets, which sadly in Cheeseland amounts to quarter-sized prizes. How people get enough tickets from the games to get anything bigger I have no idea. After that we did karaoke. The girls did "Get The Party Started," very quietly. Dave and Teri did their "signature song", "Because I Got High," and Dave hammed it up no end to great applause. He pointed at me during the "I was gonna make love to you" verse, and I covered my face.

I'm seriously thinking of bailing on going to Rose's wedding thing. Thanks to two guys being fired at his work for flaking and another chick being put on medical leave, once again there will be no time off given. Sigh. I figured that would happen though. (Honestly, if I ever have to work retail I'll probably be homicidal.) That'll make it not seeing him for a month, assuming he isn't allowed two days off in a row any time in there. (Hell, this week he has Friday and Sunday off, but not Saturday. Evil. I swear they do that deliberately so no one can make any out-of-town plans in case they want to call you in to work yet again.) I just don't think we can go a whole month. He said I could go if I wanted to and something about us having separate lives. I don't know. I have to give my final answer to Mom by tomorrow. Eek.

I have no idea if a parental meeting can ever be achieved. Given the frustration about not telling I've had going on, I'd like to get it over with, and then wait six months for her to get used to the idea, as quickly as possible. I can't ask them to come to his town on a weekend because they'll get all nervous and keep thinking about things they don't want to think about, and Dave's scared of going to Livermore (then again, so am I). We all need to meet on my territory, neutral territory, and I just have no idea if it can ever be done! Lord, his work just ticks me off sometimes. If not for the fat benefits and whatnot... I'm glad he likes it, but it's a damn good thing he's there and not me!

And speaking of telling the parents, Dave's told his dad! Apparently the conversation went along the lines of "You serious?" "Yes." "Good." (Awww.) He still dreads telling his mom because she'll likely blow up at first, then quickly calm down and be fine. (He dreads the blowup first.) Then again, he said his parents pretty much did the same thing as we did, so they're not likely to have much of a problem!

There was also one bad thing. We found out some really bad news from Scott. I won't get into the details, but Demma is really not doing well. As in, they might force her to take drugs (and I should damn well hope they would). Oh, and she dumped Scott. He didn't sound entirely sure if she meant it or not, but "I'll know by the end of the month if I need to move out." Considering that the end of the month is a few days away... He asked the both of us to call him (separately, I think), but neither of us has yet. I just don't freaking know what to say any more. I fear what happens if she's left alone in that apartment without anyone to stop her. Plus given that I know that in his mind I'm Possible Wife #2 if Demma's out of the picture... aw crap. Awkward much? Mom was yelling at me to call him, and now I feel guilty that I haven't been able to.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com