Chaos Attraction

It Certainly Was...Stuff...

2022-05-07, 3:30 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Week Three Drama - 2022-05-12
Flying Supercow - 2022-05-11
I Can't Do X - 2022-05-10
HR Is Terrible - 2022-05-09
Don't Judge Me - 2022-05-08

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I had yet another session of that class today....I don't know what to make of it. A Big Deal Thing in the topic is going on next week and even though the topic was "relationships," and specifically stuff related to the guy's book that I really like, he talked ENTIRELY about Big Deal Thing. Like extremely narrowly focused on BDT. Which...I guess it's his class, or whatever, but they kept asking for people to ask questions and apparently everyone was asking, "Can you cover all the aspects and not just BDT?" and the facilitator lady kept saying, "He's already answered that, just run the video back later." And I'm all, look, I know I'm not the world's best listener, but I'm pretty sure he didn't mention all of them. Sigh. Whatever. One more to go.

After that, I met Rae at Whole Earth. (Her mom is sick again...probably Covid again...argh...) Which was fun for the most part (the end got a bit much). She had a Lady Loki bellydancer outfit on, that should sum it up for you. This is so clearly her event since people liked it (and mine too, of course). I had on the velvet tie-dye pants and a shirt I got there years ago, and a jacket I didn't have on that long.

I took her to Harmony and she got a ton of tie-dye and was quite happy. I'm not sure how much carte blanche she had with mommy's credit card, but boy, did she buy a lot of tie-dye (a fishy wall decoration, a Darth Vader shirt, I forget whatall else) and Harry Potter-themed art prints that she found at several booths. She said at one point her mom called her (when I wasn't with her--there was a brief run to both our homes midday to drop off stuff) to tell her to cool it, but she did not cool it. Oh well, not my biz. She had the typical WEF experience of saying "I'm not going to buy any more stuff" and then 30 seconds later, buying more stuff. YUP DONE THAT A BUNCH OF TIMES.

I bought more tie-dye...a dress at another vendor, and another shirt at Harmony, and I also dug up the T-shirt I got two years ago (Giant Org logo in rainbow letters) and custom ordered that Brian tie-dye it as he sees fit :) And some (mostly rainbow swirly) stickers, including one that says "Bigfoot Is Real And He Tried To Eat My Ass." I sent this to (Formerly Redhead) Sarah and Scott for my own amusement.

I did hear from (Formerly Redhead) Sarah today saying it's Tie-Dye Saturday at her work if I wanted to go get a free cookie. I dragged Rae over there, but by the time we got there (about 1.5 hours after she texted) they were out of cookies for another hour, and Rae was not gonna wait around on that (fair), oh well. Did see Sarah briefly, so that was a yay.
We also attempted to go get free flower crowns at Farmer's Market that someone told us about, but they were out by the time we got there, so scamming for free stuff was 0 out of 2! So that was kind of a midday derail.

I normally walk over to the festival from my place because I assume if they are having an event over there, the free weekend parking is buh-bye. (I note that I actually had this conversation with Scott last weekend and he was all "I'm pretty sure it's free." I was all "I dunno, if it's an event...") Well, Rae argued enough for me to get my car and see if I could park in the middle of the day, so fine, I got it, drove it over and I was right. The parking was not free and there was a long line to get into the parking lot. Eff that, I said, and ended up dropping Rae off and taking my car back home and walking back there again.

On the way back, I briefly met a hot guy. He looked like Original Hot Mountie Guy on When Calls The Heart (a show I watched once and was bored by, but even I'm aware of Hot Mountie...I forget his name IRL, Daniel something? He's hot in Hallmark movies.). He was walking out and recognized my tie-dye vendor--"Hey, I got my first pair of tie-dye pants from that vendor. Brian, right?" and we had a nice but short conversation about that. And dammit, I wish I could have figured out how to parlay 30 seconds of conversation into asking for contact info! But I have no idea on that shit!

I did not feel The Psychic Ping Of He'd Want To Date Me, which is mostly why I didn't press that particular issue. But did I wonder if this was the Entrepreneur Neighbor Guy the psychic predicted? Sure I did. Hey, he likes tie-dye! And my outfit! Dammit, I wish I had made a move! I asked the universe that if it's meant to be, that I encounter him again in such a way that would facilitate further progression. Like I do walk by that area to go to work, so...maaaaaaaaaybe? Anyway, it was great to find an actual cute guy in town who seemed to like me, albeit briefly. I wish I'd done something, but asking a guy for his info 30 seconds into meeting him is also kinda much on both our parts, so I dunno... If this is the dude, universe, please facilitate this?! I don't mean to go all Serendipity on it, but this was pretty well unexpected and obviously I didn't think things through! And yet I kick myself anyway. Like it would be good for me to move onto someone who wants to be with me, right? If this one might?

Please, universe? I'd like the right guy, whoever it may be.

After reuniting with Rae, we danced around for a bit, met some cool hippie ladies briefly that I wish we coulda long-term friended, and got food. Now, hippie food is always...sus...at this thing, to be honest. I've learned that the garlic fries and falafel do not get horribly effed up/are at least edible, so I ordered that. I give this booth props for making a falafel pita that did not rip or shred all over me, even if I felt like it was like 80% cucumbers. Rae got something or other (quesadilla?) and ate one bite. She wanted drinks later and she got in a long lemonade-only line and I went to another booth that offered blended drinks. I ordered a watermelon one and they literally blended watermelon strips. Okay, fine. Later she wants another lemonade before we need to leave--I'm going to have to drive her home and I wanted to get home by 5--but that booth had like a 20 minute long line and the one I'd gone to earlier also offered lemonade, so I said "hey, maybe go to this one with the blended drinks, the line is shorter."

Fun quirk of Rae: every few hours she wants a big drink, and then halfway through drinking it, decides she hates it and throws it out. Like, every time. Like she did this five times today (coffee, soda, lemon lime drink I got her at my place, lemonade #1). She does the exact same thing with lemonade #2, except then she starts yelling, "IT TASTES LIKE PISS," over and over and over, kept insisting they literally sold her piss (I was all "I'm pretty sure legally they can't do that"), insisting on going into the nearest store to buy some other drink, and then dramatically trying to throw up in a trash can for like 5 minutes. I am pretty sure she did not actually barf anything up since my gag reflex did not go off from hearing this.

I felt like this was a combination of (a) Lucy from Peanuts yelling about dog germs, and (b) the time that someone got super snitty over stale shortbread. It was...much. It was a lot. I was all "this is exhausting" and I admit I was glad when she decided to call her mom for a ride instead. Oyyyyy. Also, much like the "this shortbread is stale!" rant back in the day, lemonade might...I dunno...taste a bit similar to piss? Anyway, argh. It was a lot. Like I know she has whatever mental stuff going on, but oy. I did get home before 5, though, so there's that.

I did get gifted with a decorated clothesline clip today, painted with hearts and "Love" and "Dance" written on it. Awwww.

People I ran into today: Andy from DMTC (thought I looked quite decked out) and this lady named Lisa I know from the CC, who is a family friend of Rae's. She got an amusing selfie with her and our outfits in it. I also saw TWO girls who had large see-through backpacks they were carrying their pets in! One had a bunny, the other had two cats. (Where do you get them? "Amazon.") SO CUUUUUUUUUTE.


Tonight's show had probably the smallest audience I've ever seen there (though Shorthaired Sarah, Katrina and her husband went, so there's that), so that's...y'know, going well. Also, musical complaints keep on going, with various people complaining that the music is going too slow. (Lindsay: "Every song feels like a funeral dirge.") I agree, though I seriously wonder if that's also supposed to be how it goes for a lot of the numbers that aren't obviously uptempo like "Buenos Aries" and "Peron's Latest Flame." Jonathan did everything pretty funeral-dirge-style anyway and while I do not like that, I don't think it's as out of character as say, double-timing certain other numbers unexpectedly.

I gather complaints were sent down to the pit and Boris agreed that things were slow, but from what other people said, Steve (drumming this weekend since there is no drummer) was going too slow. I don't feel like I have enough musical expertise to really be able to make my own judgment. An already dirge-y song going more dirge-y isn't exactly raising a red flag with me here. But also, I'm not a lead trying to figure out how to balance it all in the moment either, so what do I know. That said, I would certainly appreciate the boring numbers like "A New Argentina" and "The Art of the Possible" (Brunette Sierra and I are seriously like, making faces and grumbling at how slow that is while we wait around and wondering if there's any way to make that less dull) taking less time, at least.

Steve is still drumming, various people are still subbing for Blonde Sierra (I was seriously having to grab onto Arthur to figure out where we were sitting in the dark, how is he doing this all the time?), and it took so long to move the bench that I missed getting to hug Scott (or anyone upon entering), I barely made it into my spot and was obviously hustling instead of sad mourning. OH WELL.

(Scott did put his hand on my shoulder during "Casa Rosada" and we're next to each other, but no, I didn't grab his hand...wanted to but did not.)

Rhiannon has been diagnosed with bronchitis, as she is prone to that. All things considered, I'm glad she got officially diagnosed with that rather than wondering if she has covid, because her coughing was pretty uncontrollable even with cough drops and using the last of her daily dosing of drugs (and again...no masks and I'm with her a lot of the night). I'm not sure if she's doing antibiotics or not--possibly not, she said she got raised where her family wasn't into that--so...I gather she wasn't able to sing too well (making jokes about singing tenor or bass tonight) and she literally fled the stage multiple times when coughs were coming on too bad. Fortunately those were just moments where she was just sitting/standing around anyway, I suppose. She said she was feeling better otherwise ("I feel like alive, actually" and "I'm going to actually do my makeup correct tonight") but coughs suck.

(On a related note, I'm watching some YouTube video on "should understudies have to save the show?" and the guy was referring to a "cut show" in which there's no "swing" (understudy for the ensemble roles) parts and therefore they just reshuffle who does what among the remaining cast members. I didn't know there was a phrase for that. He mentions a performance of Heathers where they ended up with one remaining ensemble member after everyone else got shuffled about.)

Brunette Sierra picked out her wedding dress and then her mother refused to send her the photos to show us because she'd show her fiance. "Which, I would." Her mother briefly relented so she could show the cast, then she had to delete them and prove it :P

Quotes:

Alisa had to answer the door with her hair up. "He probably thought I was a crazy person." Her daughter Jillian: "You probably are." Me: "I'd probably have that conversation with my mom too."

Jillian on Requiem: "It's supposed to be messy-ish."

If Lindsay called out, people debated which songs they'd be willing to cover. Easy stuff like "Rainbow Tour" and short bits like in "Peron's Latest Flame."

On "Peron's Latest Flame:" Sage: "I must have stepped on Jennifer's feet 19 times." (Me: "eh, not really, NBD," then did the same that night, oops). Rhiannon: "I elbow Felicia in the boob all the time."

Isaiah wandered into the ladies' dressing room again (door was open, nobody changing, everyone in curlers/makeup). Why are you here? "The men's room is sick of me." Sage: "We're sick of you!" LOL. I also note that briefly walking by the men's room, Isaiah appears to have photos of Evita and Peron up, or at least I assume that's him/his space.

Morgan sprained her finger on the suitcase opening weekend. Sierra got hit in the head with a 2x8. Morgan: "I guess that's why we're drawn to each other as friends." Me: "Concussions and injuries?"

Someone (I think it was Lindsay's visiting best friend) pointed out to Lindsay that she has to be in her underwear in public in the show. "I never thought about it like that..." Another quote from her: "Sacramento, where you wear as little clothes as legally possible."

Alisa: "Jill, dad wants you." Jillian (playing with putting water on her face): "I'm trying to cry."

"Go with the flow and wing it is the theme of the show, that's for sure." -Sierra

I'm commenting on how Eva acts like her entire speech to the mistress dumping her is normal. Rhiannon: "The whole play is weird." Arielle a bit later: "I want the Jen commentary for every scene." I think I love her now.

Morgan on break time: "This is the time to pee. Though it will cost $4.99 plus tax."

On Friday night, Arthur got a splinter in his hand moving the bench. He proceeded to leave it in all first act before finding the time to pull it out. He named it Fred, deposited it in Dannette's hand, and said, "This is Fred. He and I were in an intimate relationship through all of act 1." He said Dannette was confused.

Post-show commentary: Sarah on the show: "It certainly was...stuff...." Sarah to Clocky: "You suck." Clocky: "I know."

Afterwards I asked Scott if he still wanted to go to Whole Earth tomorrow or had gotten over that, and of course he had gotten over that. Obviously he had forgotten all about the idea and then was all "Mother's Day waffles, it's a family tradition!" and everyone else around at the time (Alisa/Jared) were going on about family stuff and I was all "We have no family traditions any more" and left. BLEAH.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com