Chaos Attraction

You're Too Little To Be Kissing!

2022-05-13, 3:43 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Evita Zoom Meeting - 2022-05-18
The Cast Is Getting Covid - 2022-05-17
Cow Mascot - 2022-05-16
Giant Party House - 2022-05-15
Cat Facts - 2022-05-14

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

In office day. Did more mail, of course.

I snuck watching some Stitches Online presentations via Zoom while in the office, which is a giant "good luck" there, especially since Grandboss is back from the PNW and was actually in the office for the first time since like January. I squeaked on through "watching" the morning one (while working still), though as it was winding up my boss wanted to Zoom. Anyway, managed that one.

The first one was a talk from an entrelac pattern designer, which I enjoyed listening to (and occasionally peeking at the screen of). I looked at her patterns on Ravelry later, good stuff. The other presenter was talking about inclusive sizing, which I am all for if I ever actually get pattern designing for other people down. She said the Craft Yarn Council thinks there's a 2 inch difference between hips and bust, but on her body it's more like 5. She said sweaters look best if they fit your shoulders, so why are we being asked to pick size based on bust?

Went to lunch with Rachel, talked theater things. ("I know a lot of people who said they want to audition for In The Heights, but they can't because they're white...." "Yeah, I hear that too. I know one guy who's half Hispanic but says he can't audition for it because he looks too white...meanwhile nobody cares if most people in Evita are white...") I told her the latest Evita drama. She said she was out one day for being sick, but since she's ensemble that wasn't a huge deal. She said Erik is auditioning for In The Heights, of course.

She had to leave early, which meant that I saw some interesting stuff around GiantOrg, Someone is posting loving Post-It notes around my work area, which is adorable and I ran around photographing them. I was also super amused after Wednesday's conversation with the new coworker about cows--I spotted a "Cow 4 Mascot" table setup and got some free stickers for it (leaving one for the new coworker to pick up Monday). I wish I could vote for it, I would!

My boss and Grandboss and I had a lovely meeting with a tech guy regarding fixing our ordering programs. We need a few things updated on them anyway, which went well and probably won't be super complicated, but ALSO he mentioned the idea of updating the monthly reorder tool so that we could order things more frequently. This is something we really need to do (especially since people are paying like $150 to rush things so they don't take like 6 weeks now, OY) and I was happy he brought up the idea. I think programming the thing would be tricky AF, but did explain to him (a) what we're doing, and (b) what our vendor does for that sort of thing, so he could get some ideas. So...let's hope someday this actually gets changed. Heck, getting ANYTHING changed for the better is a miracle here.

It's Jen Psaki's last day working at the White House, which is sad to me. I didn't get much time to watch her because I was on Zoom a lot, but will finish later.

Both GiantOrg and the county testing facilities have announced that they are shutting down or mostly shutting down (depending) in June, which is ridiculous since we hit "high" levels again here and literally everyone is ignoring this. (And yet, I still test negative, thank gawd.) GiantOrg is going to end their testing requirements too. GiantOrg claims that they'll "ramp up quickly if public health requirements change," which is to say "only if they are making us," I guess.


Evita show: got there at 5:30 while they were redoing the lifts, etc. for the Buenos Aires dance. Eventually we rehearsed Rainbow High and determined that (a) skip the gloves in that scene because they do not fit over Lindsay's arm sprain wrap, and (b) move the bracelet to the other wrist, but otherwise just...do the same as usual. Apparently Lindsay can still get on the long white gloves for Casa Rosada, so we left that alone.

Turns out Jean is mad/ snippy at those of us (Felicia, Rhiannon and I) for trying to think of what stuff might have issues with it with regards to Lindsay's wrist. She got snippy on Facebook (along the lines of "let me do my job") and IRL, sigh. Rhiannon/Arielle/Alisa asked me afterwards if she's always like that and I said yeah, pretty much and I don't take it personally because the overall vibe here is "cranky but nice," but this was admittedly ah, a bit much this time. I don't know what's going on there. I apologized (of course, yet again), sigh.

Otherwise a good chunk of us were there early, talking about having surgeries. Scott had his tonsils out and apparently went claustrophobic/got anxiety/couldn't see without contacts coming out of it and that sounds awful. Blonde Sierra (doing fine, swimming in foster kittens, showed photos) mentioned her grandma breaking a limb on the first day of a 3 week European trip and getting no help whatsoever, shudder.

In the ladies' dressing room, and at Woodstock's later, people were passing around animal photos. Cats for the Sierras, lizards and frogs for Sage.

Dressing room remarks:

I forget the context of this one, but Alisa: "As long as she doesn't burn it down."

Animal story roundups:
Brunette Sierra: "He accidentally decapitated a lizard while trying to save it for 30 minutes."
Alisa: "Jared decapitated a rattlesnake."
Alisa: "My tortoise ran away." Me: "How fast?!" (Answer: she let the tortoise go outside, for once it did not return.)
Sage mentioned having a large tortoise named Ninja.
Brunette Sierra: "I even had to give my fish antibiotics. And I did it!"
Rhiannon's husband has some job where he constantly travels. "I think it bothers him the most that the cats don't care."
Brunette Sierra: "My cats punish me for a solid 10 minutes and then they miss us."

Brunette Sierra: "I had friends who were rednecks in college."

Brunette Sierra said that her mother wins every argument about last names because her maiden name...I won't repeat it, but it sounds like "fuck."

Arielle got her hair dyed redder! It looks very pretty, but also very "Queen of Hearts" bright. "I was trying to go for yours," she said to me. I said, "I was trying to go for Kimmie's!" Anyway, it'll fade a bit. We did wonder if Jan knew this was happening (no) but I have no idea if Jan ever saw it/noticed/said anything. Not in front of me, anyway. But since they don't seem to super care as long as it's not a drastic haircut/unnatural hair color, whatever.

Kimmie is back from Michigan (sounds like it was...okay...) but apparently Sofia is out tomorrow so she needs to go do sound tomorrow and bring Clocky back again. Some comments were made as to how to benefit Clocky (no, not X-rated),. Kimmie was all "I'll take care of him, but not a car." Me: "Disney trip!"

Someone sent Lindsay flowers and she was told it was Danny, which obviously confused her. Apparently Dannette mixed up Danny and Stephen's husband...and indeed, one was sitting right behind the other and they DO look alike, hah hah.

Steve told a story about doing Carousel way back when they were in a previous theater and had an outside director who apparently disappeared after opening night. I guess the guy got the idea to have Billy go to heaven a genie lift (loud moveable cart they use to get up to the lights). They didn't try this out during tech week (why?!) and on opening night the thing was...very...loud. It got scrapped after that.

We talked about doing accents. Arielle: "My Irish becomes what I think is Jamaican."

Rhiannon is somewhat better, but "singing makes me cough." Uh-oh. She brought in some kind of steamer thing, which someone noticed that it made smoke. Rhiannon: "That's really my problem, I'm an avid smoker." Later we ended up explaining to Evie why smoking is bad, mmkay?

Sage to Evie: "You're too little to be kissing!"

Sage: "Proving doctors wrong is good." Linsday: "I do that all the time."

Lindsay's blonde wig is the one she used to play Elsa at children's parties. Brunette Sierra: "How sick are you of Let It Go?" Lindsay: "OH. MY. GOD."

In audience: Danny, Lindsay's husband Stephen, and Brunette Sierra's parents. Her dad was waving at her during "A New Argentina," which she found very embarrassing. "I put the cute factor" (Evie) "in front of me!" Also, her dad does not feel bad about this. He at least stayed awake through the show, though he was pretty obviously sleepy in the second act. Sierra. "Parental embarrassment doesn't get better with age."

Evie was eating Doritos backstage. I was all "don't get caught doing that, wash your hands and dispose of the evidence."
Evie: "I'm a little stinker. When I was four I used to sneak chocolate at midnight."

Evie: "I just had soda, that's why I'm all hyper."

Lindsay: "No demon children allowed."

Tonight was a bit Evie-vs-Kimmie. The latter was all "She's been running around for 2 weeks?" Yup. There's not enough people in the dressing room to keep her entertained alone, so after about Buenos Aires or so (i.e. everyone's out at some point), she does roam about. Kimmie was all "kids aren't supposed to be doing that, but she's the only one and it's her first show." Apparently she nearly tripped Scott on the other side. Kimmie said later that she told Evie to stay back there and Evie called her a bitch, "though I could have misheard that." I presume Lindsay WILL BE HAVING A TALKING TO later.

Kimmie was having some kind of snark with Eden on comms about "why is the mistress in a slip and mink?" Answer: she stole it.

During "Peron's Latest Flame," I actually looked over more at Che than usual and saw that he's totally imitating us. Hilarious. I think Sage was thinking something like "where have you been, he's been doing that all along," which, good point. I'm usually looking forward for a lot of that.

The ladies were more or less doing some kind of vague squatting dirty dancing offstage during the men's verse (which is quite crude about 'between her thighs.") Kimmie was amused and was all, "Ladies, this wasn't very ladylike."

Most of the show went okay, under the circumstances, except for "Rainbow High," which became a minor trainwreck. Not for anything involving Lindsay's wrist, mind you:
(a) The skirt Alisa's supposed to put on her broke, and she was unable to zip it. They finally buttoned it and left it open--at least the jacket comes down far enough on that.
(b) Necklaces continue to be a trainwreck. Lindsay usually has one on that she takes off during "High Flying Adored" and realized in midshow she was unable to remove it one-handed. Afterwards she said she thought, "Oh well, something else for Sage to deal with, I guess." Unfortunately, both the old necklace and the new one tangled in the wig and finally Alisa just walked up and YANKED at least one off. Possibly both of 'em, I'm not totally sure. I ran in and wrestled the bracelet on the other hand at the last minute myself so I could look deliberately clumsy and give Lindsay a reason in character to get annoyed at me. I fear the trainwreckiness was pretty obvious to the audience.

Afterwards, I had to clean the dressing room/bathrooms (sigh) and then went to Woodstocks. Scott (doing same) came in last and sat on the farthest side away from me. Gaaaaaaaaah. I felt pretty ignored by him all night (though he did sit with me briefly at one point pre-show). Oh, and guess what, he IS now doing The Music Man because they asked him to do barbershop quartet, which he wanted. SIGH. So he is doing a show without me and I hate it.

I also had a bummer conversation with Danny afterwards--Scott was going on about how he wanted to do a show at Woodland and I said I suspect I'm not good enough to get in there--and well, that's true. Danny said that in his experience as a guy, he can pretty much get in anywhere because they are always short on guys and there's SO many women and they have to be 100%...and also he knows some people worse than I am who keep trying, but...(tactful phrasing on this) they are bad, you know? As am I.

(Sometimes I really want to kick Scott for his whole "I'm an ugly not fit troll" thing. Dude, you have a fucking amazing voice, a gorgeous face, you did lose weight, and I know of one place (Woodland years ago) that didn't cast you. You HAVE talent. You don't SUCK like I do. Shut it, you're not awful like me. Imagine being awful like me.)

Otherwise at Woodstock's, the Sierras have decided to gang up on Isaiah in some somewhat hinted at way involving sound check and a possible cricket noise. He has dubbed them "Good Sierra" and "Bad Sierra" and I don't know which is which and I assume nobody knows. (Meanwhile he called me "Awesome Jennifer," so thank you very much there!) I will be curious to see if anything happens there.

I did finally hear out of Steve what happened with Jonathan: (a) "I was clapping from the sound booth" when Lindsay said what she said, (b) I forget exactly how he phrased it, but he said it wasn't okay to yell at people like that. (c) He's been working here 20 years, I have no idea what happened, he wasn't like that until about Titanic or so, something may be going on there.

I went home early at midnight (he stayed around) and I STILL DIDN'T SLEEP ALL FUCKING NIGHT EVEN THOUGH I WENT TO BED LIKE A GOOD LITTLE GIRL. WHAT IS THE POINT.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com