Chaos Attraction

Can't Get Tested

2022-05-20, 4:05 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
A Great Migration - 2022-05-25
Second Karaoke Birthday - 2022-05-24
Stop Being Annoying - 2022-05-23
Everyone's Still Sick - 2022-05-22
Clue - 2022-05-21

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Jan mentioned doing one last show next Saturday, but we'd have to take everything down right after that. I hope people are well enough by then. I'm not getting hopes up, but them actually discussing the idea is already better than during The Producers when it was a "hell no, we're not rescheduling" from Steve. Albeit his reasoning for that was "it's Super Bowl Sunday weekend and no one will go," which, understandable. (A lot more sports fans in this theater than you'd expect.)

Got an email from That70'sScott saying he wasn't going to make the play after all because it's Memorial Day weekend and he's going to be partying. Me: "It's not Memorial Weekend yet." :P I...do not know what to make of emails from this guy, y'all.

This morning I watched this YouTube video, "My Twin Flame Is Not Woke." Now, obviously I do not have a twin flame or soulmate or anything of that kind (SIGH) and I hate the whole twin flame thing anyway because it is Drama, but I CRACKED THE SHIT UP watching this because these two playact the (inevitable) woke woman and dim-as-a-post man. She's trying to make a relationship happen and he's all hedging, not reading stuff, going back to church, and getting back together with his baby momma, Becky with the good hair, because there are kids. And she just starts yelling, "YOU DUMB. YOU JUST DUMB. YOU JUST WANNA BE DUMB," and I died laughing. God, wouldn't that be great to just yell, "YOU JUST DUMB. YOU JUST WANNA BE DUMB" at someone. I know it's fake and that's probably not what she did with this dude IRL (he admits he was like that back in the day), but it sounds refreshing.


Testing: So my town, a MODEL OF CORONAVIRUS PROTOCOLS AND TESTING ACCORDING TO YE OLDE FAMOUS NEWSPAPER and all that shit, said I can no longer make an appointment or get tested the usual saliva way at GiantOrg, but I have to go in person spontaneously to the (one remaining) county testing website for symptomatic or exposed people....to get saliva tested the usual way. Nostrils are not involved.. I note that this is the same org I went to back in August 2021 for the last exposure and they were great.

THIS TIME, THE FUCKER REFUSES TO TAKE ME. First he claims it's because it's too windy outside and they can't set up a table (I note it was fucking HURRICANE A' COMIN this morning, somewhat less bad now but fucking awful out, I did not enjoy spending most of 2 hours in it) and THEN he's HORRIFIED at the idea that someone might have come there with symptoms even though their organization website specifically says to, and I'm all "I don't HAVE symptoms" (he was all obviously "whew" to this without saying it) and I said something like "well, you group symptoms and exposure in the same bucket, I just got exposed, I don't have any." And then he refused to test me anyway and gave the overall impression that They Don't Do Such Things Like That Any More In General, not just "because it's windy out." DA FUCK.

He says to go to my health care provider. Um, WE WOULDN'T NEED TO GO TO OTHER AGENCIES IF WE COULD EASILY GO TO OUR HEALTH CARE PROVIDER. Fuck, I didn't even get any shots from mine because it took them so long to get their shit together. Sure 'nuff, my provider is all "There's going to be long lines to get an appointment for that." So I stomp out, go home, and check the GiantOrg testing website, which is supposedly for the asymptomatic/unexposed, but technically does NOT ask if I was exposed, and I immediately get an appointment for an hour from now and do THAT.

You know what, THIS IS NOT INCENTIVIZING ME TO TELL THE TRUTH IF I GOT EXPOSED HERE. I technically did not lie or have to lie to just go do it at GiantOrg, but I was seriously considering it if I had to. And really, why the hell are they being such sticklers to determine which is which? Unless they're still trying to keep track of who catches it obviously from other people vs. somehow getting it via "community spread," which, why? NOBODY ELSE IS KEEPING TRACK OF ANYTHING ELSE ANY MORE. FUCKERS. I asked my boss if they pulled this shit on her in January and she said no. From what I recall, Ashley didn't have problems either.

So yeah, spent the first few hours of the day super mad there.

Then my boss and I had a meeting with our Important Document Vendor, and that's around the time I found out that all mail to The Black Hole Country That Can't Deal With Mail is now shut down indefinitely, ALL mail, ALL carriers, even the ones people paid money for. They specifically said they figured this out after they printed the ID's and thus are going to just mail them to us for us to literally sit on indefinitely. And asked that we not order any going over there.

Somehow my boss seems to have missed that last one? She put a vague "check USPS's website for mail issues" link on the website, which is certainly needed, but which um...you know how a vague disclaimer is nobody's friend? Trust me, the international clientele are all just gonna ignore this and I wish I was permitted to go into greater detail. And when I asked what our office policy was going to be regarding not being able to mail them, she said "no, we'll still mail them" even though I kept pointing out that WE CAN'T and the least we can do is LET PEOPLE KNOW THAT THEY MAY NOT BE ABLE TO GET THE MAIL. She wouldn't budge and I am really annoyed.

Oh yeah, and speaking of, I have been having a pain in the ass time dealing with a SUPER LARGE IMPORTANT DOCUMENT for two weeks and all the finagling that has to happen to ship those. I finally got the fucking thing done Thursday, so after this conversation I start freaking out and go run to the package to say, photocopy it beforehand so at least the client has a photocopy scan if nothing else...and then oh, never mind, it's going to South Korea. That is fine. But then the mail people never came to pick up the mail and I was also very annoyed, because that guy is gonna be shitting bricks. At me.

I answered emails. I am beyond sick of the emails and they drain me dry. Then I had to train my new coworker from 4-5 after she'd literally been training all day and she was totally fried AND had to immediately go to a graduation after work (and then another one tomorrow), poor girl. I kept it as short as possible and then we just hung out on Zoom until 5. .

I listened to an incredibly depressing and hopeless podcast on long covid: you can get it at any time, regardless of your health status or how bad/good a case of covid you have and it can totally incapacitate you and literally give you dementia in the case of one 30+ woman she kept citing as the worst case ever.

And one of my opal earrings, which literally screw into my ears, somehow managed to fall out today :( Had to order another pair.

What a fucking day. I got my stuff out of the theater and that's about all I'm going to do tonight besides mope. Though on the good news side, we are allowed to do one more show next Saturday night, so yay for that, at least. I briefly went over there to get my stuff, but Jean was going to move everyone else's. I note the instructions Isaiah left were "Please throw my stuff on the floor and dump pancake syrup all over it."

Texted the ill people tonight. Brunette Sierra is feeling better, Blonde Sierra still feels like shit, Scott is somewhere in the middle (fatigue/coughing but no fever/headache). He didn't say much other than he seems to be doing better than most people, but Brunette Sierra is feeling chattiest and we have been texting. I'm enjoying that.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com