Chaos Attraction

Evita Is Canceled

2022-05-19, 4:03 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Second Karaoke Birthday - 2022-05-24
Stop Being Annoying - 2022-05-23
Everyone's Still Sick - 2022-05-22
Clue - 2022-05-21
Can't Get Tested - 2022-05-20

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Evita is canceled. Scott got it. Tested negative two days in a row on rapid, tested positive on PCR, feels "like crap" today. Show is over. Steve said later "another negative case" and "we have no men," I'm not sure if that meant someone other than Scott got it too, or if all the guys but Arthur got it (he's tested negative 3 times on all tests, good job, Arthur!), but at that point, it's over.

Very depressing day. I'm still fine. So far. Bummed out to hell he got it, I've been worried about it for years, but I knew he got it the second he said he had a cough. It was inevitable. He's one of those people who catches everything.

Steve and Sage's mom have enormously bad fevers right now, though Sage's broke after a day, mom said. Steve's keeps going up, apparently. Nobody else admitted to testing positive today, though Steve requested everyone test again and a few of us reported negatives, still.

Mark said the other day about his show, "It seems to be very random who got it and who did not." That may be the case, I dunno.

I talked to Ashley today--she is freaking out over heart stuff. I asked if she felt safe having me go to her birthday party (WHICH I CAN NOW BECAUSE I SUDDENLY HAVE THE FREE TIME) and she said she wasn't worried about it.

I tested negative on the rapid test at home around 6 today. My nose started bleeding a little while doing it and I thought that might invalidate or break the test, but I guess it did not. I feel like I have survivor's guilt (so far) about it. My boss, who didn't catch it when the rest of her family did, said we're badasses. I agree. But it's nervewracking. I had on an N95 to go see Tootsie and most people aren't doing it. I wanted to yell at them. At this point I might be worse to them than they are to me?

My mom is being self-absorbed AF about all of this, I feel like virtually nothing I said registered with her and she didn't even fucking care or sound worried that I might get it or might be sad about the play or Scott or anything. All she cared about was "I renewed season tickets for five of us at Woodminster even though Mary hasn't talked to me or responded in two years, and after I bought the tickets Mary said she won't go any more." ALL SHE CARED ABOUT. I said it was stupid to buy tickets for someone WHO HASN'T TALKED TO YOU IN TWO YEARS and she was all, "I know, but I didn't want to lose the seats!" and then wanted me to drive home in the middle of the night from Oakland hills or drive up to Randall's in the hills and I was all "in all honesty, not cool with either of those things." Da fuck, Mother. What the hell is wrong with you of late.


Signs today: literally found Post-It notes saying "Life is tough. But so are you!" with a heart, " "I love you," and "trust in yourself! You are sub-lime!" And while walking around in Sac, someone brought up Scott's name behind me...sigh.

I feel so bad and scared for him. What if he gets long covid? What if it ruins his voice? What if it wears him out for good? Or everyone else, for that matter. Steve and Jan are fragile in particular. And there's nothing I can do, not that there would be anyway. He'll feel wretched and sick and I don't want him to feel bad at all, dammit.


Tootsie: people loved it and gave it a standing O, but I dunno..it's kind of a weird show to do set in these days? I don't think the production was bad, it's just weird writing. It's obviously adapted a fair chunk from the original movie, which I don't remember much of, other than I think Dustin Hoffman was in his 30's and was on a soap opera (which made more sense).

The plot: Michael is an obnoxious 40-year-old actor who argues with everyone and nobody will hire him and nobody likes him. He gets the bright idea to dress up as a woman--"Dorothy Michaels" to audition for the nurse in "Juliet's Curse," a bad upcoming Broadway play. And somehow gets the part.

I would like to note as a 40+ female actor with glasses, I find it hard to imagine that a 40-year-old guy finds it easier to get a part as a 40+ female actor with glasses. Like I'm seriously considering auditioning in drag these days and he can get a part as a lady? I note that his roommate Jeff actually chews him out for this, and for otherwise fucking up and screwing the pooch, and laughs at him a lot, and has a whole song about how stupid Michael's being in act 2.

Dorothy, as a person, turns out to be a lot sweeter and nicer than Michael usually is (like seriously, two different people), and everyone actually likes her. Somehow she manages to configure the entire play into sucking less (I'm not sure how they dropped the period costumes for more modern dress, but that happened) and the play even gets turned into "Juliet's Nurse." I really have no idea how that happened.

Love interest-wise, Dorothy befriends and falls in love with Julie (i.e. Juliet), who is genuinely sweet. Dorothy kisses Julie, who freaks out at first and then is all "I'll give it a go," and then Dorothy freaks out. I note that Michael tries to come onto Julie as himself, and he's still fucking terrible. Meanwhile, the hot himbo in the show comes on to Dorothy AND GETS HER FACE TATTOOED ON HIS CHEST (I note several of the actors revealed their chests to have same during the curtain call).

In something kinda adapted from the movie, Dorothy decides to come out of the male closet ONSTAGE DURING OPENING NIGHT OF THE SHOW, DA FUCK. Suffice it to say, career over, and the show ends with Michael and Julie awkwardly sitting on a park bench, not especially making up, as he deserves. Well, at least Jeff got laid with Michael's ex and got a play idea, so ONE person has a happy ending.

I read some review of the show saying it was transphobic or bad for trans people or...something, I don't remember where it is. I don't think it's transphobic at all, it just...doesn't really deal with trans-ness as a thing other than someone mentions that trans-ness exists at some point. Nobody ever goes, "Hey, Michael, if you want to be a lady named Dorothy from now on, that's cool," which I think is what would happen these days at the theater. Hell, Michael is so awful that giving up on dude life and living life as Dorothy would only improve it, he SHOULD go trans :P I dunno if in the 2020's it's all "Shock! A dude is playing a lady!" in the same way as it was in the 80's and that's kind of the number one reason why redoing it again makes it weird?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com