Chaos Attraction

Every. Two. Minutes.

2002-05-24, 9:21 p.m.

In a followup to yesterday's entry, it turns out that while the president and the Coffee House director worked out a compromise to hire a chef consultant instead, other senators said "Fuck that" and passed the original thing to hire a chef. Which explains why there was that walkout yesterday. Supposedly a "compromise" has been reached and the place will reopen today (they didn't mention what the compromise was), but I for one plan to avoid the area and not find out in person. I had no idea that the CH was "the largest restaurant in Northern California" and makes $16,000 a day, though. Holy crap.

I was amused to see that on the back page of the paper there was a photo of the chancellor "waiting to take a photograph with an undergraduate for 'Senior Daze'" (what on earth is THAT? I never heard of it as a senior) "as students and others march across the Quad in support of university lecturers." My favorite prof is in the pic squinting at the chancellor, who appears to be talking to somebody who may be one of the protestors. The latter guy looks a bit pissed. Hmmmmm.

Make sure y'all read Jette's good twin entry. And check the rest of the twins linked there too, while you're at it. Damn, now I wish I wasn't such a good little girl to write a good twin entry.

Random dream commentary:

(a) Why did I have a dream about the Trading Spaces Show coming to my apartment last night when I've never seen the show? For the record, this chick wanted to redo my bedroom and living room, then for some reason the project got canceled because of some other show she'd done having to go first. Lord, my dreams are dumb.

(b) Dave had some dream where we were screaming our heads off at each other (and it disturbs me that he dreams of stuff like THAT), and he yelled out "I love you, dammit!" Wasn't there a teenage book called "I love you, stupid?"

I just found a job listing for an editorial assistant at this school. Too bad it'd only be working afternoons.

"I am too old to spend anymore extended periods of time with my family. I am too old for this. I've only been here since Saturday morning, but already, I'm ready to go back and be by myself at home." Sounds like Claire and I had similar weekends.

Grandma asked me four times tonight if I like my little job. I say yes, but she'd ignore it if I said no. I've had to re-established that I changed jobs and will be changing again soon. Given that this is Snoopy Relative Season, the job changing thing is awful timing.

I love Grandma, but she's driving me and Mom nuts. No crying has been going on, fortunately, but every two minutes she's bitching about how she's "SO OLD" and how she's "82 YEARS OLD" (she's not, her birthday's next month) and how it sucks to get old and she hates to move and she doesn't remember nuffin' (ain't that the truth) and blah blah blah blah blah. Every. two. minutes.

Okay, so what does Grandma have wrong with her? Hearing sucks, memory stinks, arthritis, and diabetes. That said, she's doing the BEST of all of her biological relatives over 50. Dad's got his various crap going on, her daughter's got MS (not that Grandma knows that. Nobody tells her anything about diseases in the family until they can't be covered up any more), her sister's on dialysis, and her husband's going blind (and is quite cheerful anyway. I love Grandpa). She can still walk and talk, and she'll most likely outlive her own son. I just want to yell at her to STOP IT! Of course, that would just only end in massive tears.

I just love having to ask Dad seven different times what he's saying. Especially when he gets mad at you for not understanding and blows up after the third time. I'm not entirely sure it's even worth asking after that.

Combining Dad with Grandma...OY.

It hasn't been as bad as I'm making it sound. Okay, the above shit goes on every other minute, but if crying and screaming is avoided, that's doing pretty damn good for this family.

Dinner with them went okay. Grandma kept feeding me her meatballs and when I complimented her earrings, offered them to me. The waiter (who was male and probably around my age) asked how my dinner was, and Grandma said "He was flirting with you." Oh lord. And thanks for saying that while he probably could still hear you, too. I swear, I can't be around anyone my age without a relative making a comment.

It occurred to me a few days ago that when the Catholic side of the family hears that I'm engaged, someone's quite likely to say that we should have a Catholic ceremony. Despite the Catholic baptism, I don't practice the religion or indeed like it at all. I started going off about this to Dave when I called him, and it turns out he dislikes it about as much as I do. Since he's agnostic and I just don't like religion in general, we'd rather go nondenominational. I hope my relatives or his more religious ones on his dad's side don't try to nag us into anything, because Dave ain't gonna take that well. Oh, and I found out that apparently all the unpleasant relatives that you really wouldn't want to have show up to a wedding canNOT be dissuaded from showing up, even if we had a pagan ceremony and forced everyone to arrive naked. Ugh.

Oh, and according to him, it's "unanimous" that all his family misses me. Dave's grandma misses me?!? According to him, anyway. She asked where the hell I was ("visiting her grandma") and then said something akin to "get her skinny ass back here ASAP." I asked him if she actually said THAT and he said that was how he read it. Huh. His grandpa asked when the little redhead was coming back, and even his dad, not a big talker, asked. Huh. My going garage-sale shopping with his mom and grandma apparently impressed his grandma too. And he told his mom that I'd rather be there than at my parents' and she was all "Awww."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com