Chaos Attraction

Chaos Attraction: The New Journal Title, The New NAQ:

2002-05-23, 10:10 p.m.

Q: So why the new title?

A: (1) Ever since I got engaged, the old title has become false advertising. Who ever knew that would happen? Seriously folks, I�ve found from time to time that there�s nothing like being very open and cranky about your singlehood and how you�re never going to get a man to actually attract one to you fairly quickly and thus make you look very silly. YMMV, of course, but I seem to have instead of the power of positive thinking working for me, the power of opposite thinking. Whatever I think will happen, won�t!

(2) I seem to go through phases in life where Things Happen To Me. I don�t do much of anything to bring this on, but chaos sure seems to seek me out like a missile. I pretty much had a chaotic existence with all kinds of changes and weirdness going on from junior year of high school to junior year of college. Then things pretty much died down. Ever since I got laid off, the chaos has returned. Hence why the title.

Q: Your parents don�t know you�re engaged? Then why on earth do you have this on the Internet?

A: My parents have no idea how to use a search engine and they don�t like to go online much. As far as I know, so are their friends. (And my last name�s not on here anyway.) My mom seems to be freaking out lately at the idea of me having a boyfriend in the first place, so I figure she�ll about have a heart attack if I tell her we�re engaged at this point in time. His parents may also be quite shocked if we tell them now. They will all be much calmer about the whole thing if we give them time to get used to the idea after us being single for so long.

Q: So when do you plan on telling them?

A: Damned if I know. Christmas?

I�m getting less and less thrilled with the idea of them not knowing what�s going on, but on the other hand, they will go nuts if I don�t wait long enough to tell them. Period.

Q: So when�s the date?

A: Again, damned if I know. Kinda depends on issues like me not getting out of my lease until September 2003, and how parents will react, and if my mom decides she wants a fancy wedding done or something and thus changes when we�d be likely to do it. Gah. It�s all confusing.

Q: Where�s the old NAQ?

A: Still here. Read it, it�ll amuse you no end by now, given the change in life circumstances. And some stuff�s still current in it, even. (Why rewrite those parts, you know?)

Q: What are you up to these days besides engagement and journal futzing?

A: Looking for employment. Debating where to move after next year�s lease is up. Freaking out about the future in general. Spending lots of money visiting folks. Wondering when is a good time to break the engagement news to my family. Secretly reading wedding manuals and feeliing baffled at what they say. Stuff like that, really.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com