Chaos Attraction

Family Feudin'

2002-05-28, 6:10 p.m.

Boy, am I glad I WASN'T home on Monday.

My day went nicely. Hill and I went shopping, and despite her moaning that shopping for clothes is BORING, she found a green skirt and matching top at the mall. As usual whenever we go shopping, I ended up spending more than she did on yet another skirt and shirt (hey, I need work clothes for hotter weather) and a beaded ring kit. I now have a lovely twist ring and a butterfly ring on my fingers to go with every other ring. We also did lunch at Chevy's and hit Marble Slab on the way home. Yum. I finally watched the Buffy finale on tape and finished watching the Osbournes tape I borrowed. The day ended with Dave having me help him solve the painting puzzle in Resident Evil: Code Veronica (or whatever the hell that's called).

Mom, on the other hand... well, apparently at the hellish family gathering Laurie and Auntie D. got into it yet again. Laurie and her daughter Amanda came by themselves (I presume Ron spent the entire gathering sulking in a corner by himself) WITHOUT Connor (the baby). Auntie D. immediately got on Laurie for not having him there, and Laurie said he was taking a nap. Auntie D. said "Well, you obviously don't know how to plan for a nap." "Well, I can't HELP when he gets tired and needs one," Laurie said back, fight fight fight, Laurie's forced to go fetch Connor and wake him up and drag him over. Adding to the joy, it was Laurie's birthday AND her parents' anniversary that day. Was she allowed to be with them? Hell no.

Laurie goes to talk to my mom privately (Mom is the general confidante for this side of the family!) about how Ron's being a big old jerk who won't talk and is never home and she wouldn't have done this had she known she'd be doing it alone and one time he shoved her up against a wall, but if he ever hits her she's calling the cops and getting his ass fired. Good for her. She said he was a different person at home and around his parents he turns into well, an angry asshole. Mom said she's seen me go different at home plenty of times too. Anyway, Auntie D. DEMANDS to know what Laurie said about her, and Mom refuses to tell. Smart Mom. Grandma, meanwhile, starts hyperventilating and has to lie down. Everyone stormed out before the dishes were done, a big faux pas according to my aunt. (Honestly, if you have people over, it's your own damn responsibility to do the dishes, not your guests's, even if the guests are related to you.)

Honestly, I don't get the people in my family who are fans of Ron. He acts like a dick to almost everyone of the female persuasion, and he's always given me bad vibes somehow. I am truly amazed that this marriage has lasted as long as it has. I wish I could just tell Laurie to get the hell out, but it certainly isn't my place to. Let's face it, it isn't going to get any easier stuck between two rocky people who refuse to budge. And I really feel sorry for Connor. You just know his parents will hate each other whether together or apart and they'll be screaming at each other (coming from a house where my parents think it's fun to fight, I sympathize), and he will definitely grow up to hate Auntie D. I wish Ron and Laurie hadn't brought him into the whole mess. It was too late for Amanda, but did they really have to have a baby too?

Oh, and adding to the fun, Auntie D and Uncle Bruce don't feel like taking the grandparents home until June 9. Fortunately Mom's letting me off the hook for that weekend. I get the feeling that both the grandparents and Mom would be happier if they left earlier than that. Mom doesn't sound like she's looking forward to having them come over tonight. I'm feeling relieved, because if I had to go that weekend that would prevent me from seeing Dave even longer.

I forgot to mention earlier that Hill asked me if I had any plans for her graduation weekend (15th). She's having a barbeque instead of going out to dinner that day. I suspect she'd like it if I showed up.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com