Chaos Attraction

A Dull Entry About Personal Hair

2002-06-10, 5:54 p.m.

Smackdown topic: Monday, June 10- body hair.

This one's not the most fascinating topic for me to write on (and probably a really boring entry, actually). I don't like body hair much on anybody, and find really hairy guys to be disturbing. Especially the ones who look like they're wearing hair shirts, ugh. And hairy pits are just weirdly distracting on both genders, somehow. But despite my lack of liking of body hair, it's so annoying to rid yourself of that I often just live and let live.

I used to have a hippie friend who didn't shave, and people would gripe to me about it for some reason. Sure, I didn't think it was all that attractive-looking on her, but hey, it was her body. MYOB, you know?

When it comes to my own, I'm not too thrilled about the feel of it, so I prefer to remove it... when I bother to. It's enough of a pain to remove that I do it sporadically most of the time. Most of the time, people don't really notice if I've shaved or not anyway, or at least they don't comment on it. My ex (who was a Berkeley boy, this might have had something to do with it) never noticed if I'd shaved or not, which was nice. As opposed to *ahem* someone commenting the other day that I was getting stubble. "So are you," I shot back. He couldn't argue with that one.

I don't bother in winter, I'll do it 2-3 times a week in summer. Fortunately the limb hair is light enough so that most people never notice if it's there or not. The joys of being a natural "dirty blonde" and all. The pits, alas, need a bit more effort. And I don't even attempt much in the nether region because that hair resists removal like you wouldn't believe. Even attempts on the bikini line just drive me nuts with the itching and the stubble. Also, one weekend when I was at the boy's Nikki got the idea to shave the area and then spent the entire weekend going around wincing and ow-ing. I may not like hair there, but it doesn't seem to like removal. Mainly I just look for big-butted suits.

I either use an electric razor (which is pretty much only for emergencies, because they just don't work well) or a blade. I'm actually very disturbed by other forms of hair removal, even though for all I know they may be more effective. No way would I do the wax (ow, ow), especially down there (really ow, ow). Stuff you put on, let dry, and rip off seems to often have both the ow factor and the not-all-of-it-gone factor. As for the chemical dissolving stuff... UGH. Just... ugh. Which leads me to...

I find it bizarre that Dave is so hair-removal obsessed. I haven't seen a whole lot of that in guys (well, besides Columbine). He's always looking for some way to get rid of the stuff without taking a razor to it. On the one hand, he hates shaving, on the other hand, it itches... back and forth, back and forth. I guess girls are lucky because the hair isn't as itchy and we can cover up the conventionally shaven areas if we need to. And since I find the aforementioned waxing/hair dissolval crap he's always wanting to try to be rather suspicious products, it always worries me when he's excited about finding another one. So far they've only hurt like hell to use when he's tried them ("I told you you're not supposed to use that if you're a guy!"), but he's determined to get around the shaving issue somehow.

Though in all honesty, it might help if he'd (a) read the instructions- which he didn't last time with the Epilstop and ended up with fried face and random hairs growing all over- or (b) read the instructions, and then followed them. I don't know why he ignores this stuff when he reads everything else he sees... Nowadays he's all excited about using Nads, and experimented with it at S&D's a few weeks ago. Apparently the instructions said something about what length the hair should be at before use, and his was longer than that. He went ahead and put it on anyway and let Demma rip it off and.... OWWWW!!! Ah yes, this might be why you'd want to obey the instructions... He wants to try again doing it right, now that his face doesn't hurt any more, but he left the stuff at S&D's and they seem to have disappeared for weeks (last we heard, they went off to get handfasted. Without inviting us, sniff).

How weird is it when your fella worries more about hair removal than you do, and he's not involved in any social activities (swimming, Rocky Horror, drag queen shows) that would normally lead him to be worried about this?

Then again, he thinks I'm nuts for sticking potato chips into my hamburgers, so I guess we've all got our weirdnesses.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com