Chaos Attraction

Squirrel Sploot

2022-06-23, 7:58 p.m.

Today at work: in office, more mailing. I got forced to work in yet another office space today and discovered that that one, well, you hear everything the neighbor (Adventure Girl) is doing, saying, etc. I really need to watch my pissy murmurings while in there or I'll get in trouble again. I guess the other offices are larger/more spaced out or something? I only heard hers, not Lupe in the other room, so who knows there.

During lunch, I actually did my duty for the Shiny Unicorns and read my alloted scripts for the next festival--we got enough submissions that we're doling out a few to each person, writing an evaluation, and then weeding things out that way. The theme is "Confessions" and I deemed one of them pretty dang good, albeit it seriously involves surprise!incest/pregnancy and that certainly took me aback to get that far in. The other three were poorly done/incomplete/vague, or in one case, um...involved a naked guy flashing himself online and I was all "oh hell no." I was doing this while on a lunch Zoom and read a bit of this aloud and then thought, "um, I should probably not be doing that...."

While on break, I saw a squirrel adorably splooting and thought, "Squirrel Sploot would make a great name for a rock band." There's also an outside shelter-of-sorts in an office building nearby mine for the stray cats that hang around the garden, and one of the things they have out there is a fairly large bin of water. Today I saw mallard ducks there, two of them next to the bin and the third one standing in the water. I saw them doing this at 11:30 and then still in the same spots at 3:30, which should tell you something. It must be boiling out by the river if over there was cooler water.

My boss had a surprise reveal for us today: I had no idea she'd asked to get a special program created to format one of our giant list things. Now I won't have to spend hours reformatting the list that, per my boss, looks like it's from 1987. She was very proud and happy about it and I'm happy she got it going. I'm flabbergasted, really. Now can we add some other things to the list?

Me before work: "I'll work on memorization after I get off work!" Me after work: "I'm tired, I'm going to eat a snack first....and then I'm still too tired and it's hot out and I don't waaaaaaaaaaaaannnnnnnnnnnnaaaaaaaaa." Seriously, I just ended up reading through the script and making flash cards more than anything else tonight. It's SO muggy and my concentration was kind of shot and my stomach decided it was unhappy and frankly, that was rather interrupt-y and distracting.

I'm debating whether or not to go see Music Man for opening night tomorrow, vs. going next weekend sometime. Reasons, pro and con, for going tomorrow.

Pros for going tomorrow:
(a) Opening night! Free cake afterwards! Which they possibly may let me have even if I'm not in the show! No cake the other nights.
(b) May or may not get sorta-invited-along to Woodstock's on the first weekend. Not sure on this one--sometimes people from other shows have come along, I'm not sure if it's cool or not, it sorta is? Not sure if this is something I should fish for, really, or just take the hint and leave and feel all awkward n' shit. Since weekend 2 is "we're going to go to Applebee's but nobody wants to except the people who live in Woodland," not an option if I go on weekend two.
(c) I miss people. Especially you-know-who, sigh.
(d) What if shows get canceled again due to covid? I know some of them just had it, but people are coming down with it a fucking month after having it the first time now. Or more of them get it. Who knows any more?
(e) Even though I should be working on the show for Saturday, am I actually going to do it? It's fucking HOT out here and my brain is down the toilet.

Cons for going tomorrow:
(a) SHOULD REALLY BE WORKING ON MURDER MYSTERY MEMORIZATION TOMORROW NIGHT, SHOULDN'T I. Really, you have nothing to do next week, why can't you go then?
(b) Given how rehearsals went due to covid, might not exactly be all together that night? (Like yeah, could try asking someone how it's going, but that seems rude.)
(c) Shouldn't really be tempted to hang out all night long if that becomes an option.

Pros for going next weekend:
(a) I'm not doing anything next weekend so that gives me something to do, and I won't have anything else I'm supposed to be doing.
(b) Maybe everyone has more of their shit together by that weekend?

Cons for going next weekend:
(a) No cake
(b) No possible Woodstock's invite because 2nd weekend is "try to get people to go to Applebee's in the next town and then hardly anyone does it."
(c) Run the risk of cancellation for Covid the later I wait to see anything.

....sigh...you know I'm gonna go at the last minute, right?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com