Chaos Attraction

30

2002-06-24, 7:08 p.m.

Smackdown topic, June 24: what you thought 30 would be like when you were 12.

Honestly, I feel like I shouldn't be answering this one, since I'm not even 30 yet. But what the hell.

In general, I figured I'd be doing some kind of writing job and still be single and bitter by 30. But this was all kinda vague, as I've never really been able to accurately visualize what I thought my future might be. Too much shit changes on me too often and too fast to be able to do that.

The only thing concrete that I've ever thought about 30 was that by that point, maybe, hopefully, I'd be an actual adult. One who was capable of dealing with a lot of shit. One who kept scrupulous track of money and didn't spend a lot. One who actually wanted a house and kids and the whole domestic womanly lifestyle that people tell me is supposed to kick in around then. That whole Saturn Return thing about you becoming a drastically different person when it's done.

But who knows about that, really. It seems like the over-30 folks I've hung out with aren't exactly full on "adults" yet either. They seem to still be trying to get themselves together somehow, and mostly not succeeding all that well.

I don't know why I'd figure by 30 I'd be an adult. Hell, I've had such a damn slow childhood, why would I be? It's probably a big cosmic joke that I would think that.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com