Chaos Attraction

A Complete Lie

2021-06-24, 6:40 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Hand On Your Heart - 2021-06-29
I Broke My Streak - 2021-06-28
I Already Knew I Wasn't Over It - 2021-06-27
Angels in Riot Gear - 2021-06-26
Water Cooler Time - 2021-06-25

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work was less bad today. I wasn't utterly drained by the end and went walking around after work, at least. I was somehow mysteriously Not Bothered by not many people today, somehow? Just got through more stuff. I did find out from my teammates that they are not thrilled with suddenly having to drop everything when we're overloaded because the public service team is super overloaded and they also found it impossible to keep up with questions on Slack AND answering "Let Me Google That For You" on the public portal at the literal same time.

Hope said that when applying for the job she was specifically told this wasn't very public facing/serving. I said that is a complete lie and whenever they are short staffed they always circle back to "everyone is the same and everyone has to serve the public." Which is wrong because we cover different stuff a lot of the time than the public service team does, and we straight up DON'T know answers to most of the questions they get. We handle the niche crap, more or less, not "how do I sign up?" and "why isn't the computer working?" and "help me with my money." (Please, please stop asking me about your money. I don't bloody know. I did not want to work in money.) Hope was all "don't we have 20-something younger employees to do a lot of that stuff?" and I was all, yeah, NOW we do, but once they all have to come back in person and aren't virtual, we will be back to being super short staffed AGAIN. And that this is going to get a lot worse come fall. We will probably be on phones/front counter every day by that point, so no, we won't get our workloads done. "They never do any of our workload," Hope noted. Yup.

I found out that in addition to yesterday generally kind of sucking, Hope's other car had the following happen to it within 24 hours: (a) Window broken. (b) Car (a "classic car") wouldn't start. (c) She called AAA and they couldn't start the car. (d) Despite the car not starting, someone managed to STEAL IT. (e) The car turned up today and she had to leave early to see what kind of condition it was in, get it out of the lot before the bills racked up, etc. and she still didn't have a place lined up to repair it or where to even tow it to. Good good, good luck.

I had Zoom lunch with Yemi, who is now back from vacation. "Somehow knitting on the beach wasn't what I thought." It was hot and there were flies. I was all yeah, I've never really been able to relax on a beach myself....


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com