Chaos Attraction

I Broke My Streak

2021-06-28, 6:56 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Yarn Shopping - 2021-07-03
Short Update - 2021-07-02
Work Trends - 2021-07-01
Play Drama - 2021-06-30
Hand On Your Heart - 2021-06-29

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

I broke my streak--107 days, yes, I decided to count-- and emailed Scott back my compliments on the show. This brought to you by both my mother and my therapist actually agreeing on something, and my mom in particular saying "he obviously wanted you to see him because he told you about it." Good point there. I have not checked my email since this afternoon, but am not expecting to hear anything (of course) anyway. In retrospect now I am kinda like "why did I bother?" but since I ended up breaking streak today for other reasons as well (see below), I guess why not.

Other than that, I did the following: (a) Finalized my list of what I want in a guy. (b) Folded the original rough draft into a paper airplane. (c) Drove to the nearest/only remaining(?) pond left in droughtland, which is surrounded by a ton of bushes. I tried to fly said plane into the water--it's a hippie thing--but I think it landed in the edge of the bushes. I hope that's not a bad omen. (d) Otherwise went walking around the greenbelt, checking on my yarn bombs, which are doing fine. (e) Went to the library and got a ton of books.

Yes, this is all the excitement I could come up with to do on a day off on a Monday in sorta-pandemic.

Mom was texting me circa 4-ish if anyone else was going to karaoke and I said no, I think people have moved on with their lives, and she was all "Why don't you group text them?" and I was all "I don't want to be a naggy bitch" and then she actually called me to bitch me out over this, more or less. Though I did finally cave in on her point of "They probably forgot karaoke is going on," which, true, after over a year.

As for how that went: I texted when I arrived along the lines of "here is a reminder that karaoke is going on, I realize some of y'all can't do it any more so feel free to ignore this text." I did get immediate responses of "gonna be fashionably late" (Sarah), "I just got back from somewhere" (Robert, pretty much saying no with that) and Scott, of course, was going to be working late and said "we'll see," which translates into "no." I was all to Sarah, "well, it closes at 8, so if you're gonna be fashionably late, do it before then..." Theater Jim (not Karaoke Jim) actually said he needs to go sometime...we'll see there.

This actually worked out for Sarah, as she did arrive with kids and dog around seven. She said she didn't know how to be Karaoke Sarah and Mom Sarah at the same time--which is legit and busy. The kids had fun playing in the sand and playing cornhole and dancing, though. Blueberry the dog got a lot of pets. Sarah ended up teaching the kids "Twinkle Twinkle" and "Itsy Bitsy Spider" in karaoke.

Karaoke, however, was wonderful. I could go right at opening--not a whole lot of people at 5--but Doris was back, so yay. And two guys she brought were there doing a great job. One guy--I think I remember him before, Jayce or something?--did an excellent impression of Julio Iglesias and later did an amazing version of "A Million Dreams."

There were several other groups hanging out at the bar, including an over 50's singles meetup group. Some of them got into singing, so yay for them. Some others are really rocking it out. I was dancing along at times and one girl called me in to join her on "Before He Cheats" for that! I didn't even know her, but that was amazing.

I sang...5 times, I think? Did "Misery" and "It's All Coming Back To Me Now" alone (the latter one prompted Frank to call me a work of art), got Stephanie and her daughter in for "Shut Up And Dance," joined Ashley for "I Wanna Dance With Somebody," and the aforementioned "Before He Cheats." Bar is definitely getting more people now. They had people inside the bar and downstairs. Some new folks were rocking it.

Since I was there early enough to drink and then sober up before driving home, I tried the guava and cherry ciders and those were delicious. The fried chicken sandwich I got, less so, but oh well, after I ate the fries I wasn't too hungry anyway. I drank from 5-6, was cheerful Woo Girl drunk from 6-7 and then apparently obviously sobered up (per Ashley) around 7.

This worked out because both Jim and Ashley asked me to drive her home when karaoke ended because she was tired and it takes Jim like an hour to take all the stuff down. I originally (when Jim asked) said "sure, I'll have sobered up by 8" when I thought it ended, and he was all "I'll call an Uber" (not sure if that's a joke or not), but we ended up going longer than that, and obviously I was fine by then for everyone. Jim did give me a "Ashley is the most important thing in my life" speech and called her when we were about five minutes away from her house to see where we were, but all was well, I made sure her mom was in the house to let her in, etc.

Ashley would like to do more yarn shopping. We talked a bit about doing this--maybe not specifically Scott's family's store, maybe the other stores--after she's off work Saturday. I told her to check the inventories of the stores online and figure out which she wants to do. We'll see if that happens. Sarah may also go?

Good news in karaokeland: (a) they got karaoke hours extended to be 5-9 p.m. ("they weren't getting enough people" with the shorter time, per Ashley) and (b) I told Ashley about the UoB (local) bar that is supposed to do karaoke and she was all, "Oh, I go there with my dad!" She said they are off until mid-July, but I could have people to go with! Yay! And apparently Sarah didn't get the other text I sent her about it (she said she no longer has the alternate phone), so she was thrilled to hear that she could do adult karaoke somewhere. I sent this to the chat, so we'll see there as well.

I asked Sarah if I should not bug people re: karaoke any more, especially when some can't go, and she was basically all "Don't worry about it, I forget the other week," and then said that Robert had some kind of racist incident with a patron (me: when?! I saw him here once and all was fine! she didn't know) and might not want to go in the future, who knows. I also asked her if everyone was always having tons of Facebook conversations with each other in this group and she made the "so-so, not really" face, which helps.

So that's all the news, and I should head off to bed.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com