Chaos Attraction

Yarn Shopping

2021-07-03, 7:49 a.m.

Today I met up with Ashley at the Farmer's Market when she got off shift, we got hot dogs, and then Jim picked us up. She wanted to go to Joann's in Woodland rather than to the other store (thank gawd), looking for yarn for socks. I fear what she got for that purpose might be a bit much-- they didn't have any fingering yarn in the entire place and she got DK yarn--but hey, it's her choice on that one and I didn't really want to push going to a proper yarn store for that under the circumstances. She got some yarn, I got some yarn. Jim drove us to Starbucks and to Target (while he got gas) and we bummed around for a bit, and she got a dress.

We also discussed karaoke at other places. He said they'd been to a few bars lately, named things like "Darla's" and "The Thirsty Goat," which I gather were not so great or that into karaoke. He also said he's buddies with the guy DJ'ing at UOB, but the reason why that guy's out for 2 weeks is uh...he caught Covid right before getting his first shot. "I had to go check my vax card...." Anyway, Jim was trying to figure out if the guy needed a sub for tonight ,but never heard anything while I was in the car. I did say hey, I'd be happy to go along anywhere you guys are going if you want me, so yay on that. Later I got invited to go to Luke's* tonight because I really wanted the hell out of the house.

After they dropped me off, I went to the gym and then wrote some book reviews.

I will note that Jim has reservations about places named "The Something Something" and places named after a person....


That night:

(a) Jim had finally heard back from Rance and Rance said that karaoke was canceled at UOB because they wouldn't let him have a substitute.

(b) There are several other dive bars having karaoke on Saturday nights, though: Luke's Lounge and The Buckhorn (note: not "Buckhorn Grill" or "the fancy Buckhorn in Winters") in Dixon and Miss Darla's in Vacaville. Jim warned me that these places were incredibly divey. but we were going to hit Luke's at 8 and then go to another bar when they opened at 9. For the record, I don't think they were that divey, I have seen worse, I didn't even feel like I was going to get tetanus in them or anything! Jim eventually elected to skip the Buckhorn, but we did hit 2 of the 3 . Luke's: small bar, nice bartender who sang well, female DJ who was nice and used Karafun as how to put in the songs. I tried to download the app and it refused to load for me (uck), had to have Ashley put in the song for me. Jim said that she didn't have reverb set up and had Thoughts on that topic. We were only in there for around 45 minutes because he wanted to go to the next bar. Since there were about 5 singers in there at the time, the DJ was disappointed. I did "Disturbia."

Darla's: the DJ is apparently also trained by Matt, everyone's karaoke Jedi master. He had an online database you could look songs up on by name and then another website to put your name in. Larger bar, had stuff like car parts put on the ceiling. I did a few songs over there--"Tainted Love," "King of Wishful Thinking," and "Beverly Hills" with Ashley. Jim did a serenade to me, which was fun. Some guy did an amazing "I Don't Wanna Miss A Thing."

I had one drink at the first bar and two at the second, so I was fairly well tanked for me and it was glorious. I really needed that. We left before 11, both because Ashley gets tired and Jim has a "nothing good happens in a bar after 11 p.m." policy, then we got breakfast burritos at the nearest fast food joint before going home.

I needed that so bad. Hopefully I can do it all over again after Shrek is over.

Seriously I am kinda wondering on auditioning for more plays if they interfere with my ability to do karaoke....


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com