Chaos Attraction

Angels in Riot Gear

2021-06-26, 6:44 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Work Trends - 2021-07-01
Play Drama - 2021-06-30
Hand On Your Heart - 2021-06-29
I Broke My Streak - 2021-06-28
I Already Knew I Wasn't Over It - 2021-06-27

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

So I went out to the Farmers Market today to peek in on Ashley for a bit--she was there this time but we didn't talk too much. I got a cookie there, and I got cheesy bread and cherries--I don't know why the cherries insisted on being bought, but they did, so there you go. Anyway, Ashley was on shift with Rae's sister and Rae was also in the vicinity and happy to see me. She said she didn't know where her mother had gone, so we wandered around for awhile and then I said "we might as well stay near the booth, I figure your mom will turn up around there," which she did (twice). Her mom and grandmother were hanging out waiting for the sister to get off shift at noon. So I hung out with Rae for awhile and took her shopping to a thrift store sale (I got a $3 extremely fancy necklace at that) and we got leis at the hippie/fancy thrift store. Yay for having some social life today! She is fun to hang out with.

Seriously, I need to prioritize the people who actually want to hang out with me. As opposed to those who do not.

After the family left, I got a breakfast sammie (fancy bacon and egg sandwich) and fancy lemonade and that was delicious, and then wandered around other stores and downtown and the like. I didn't buy anything else so good for me, I suppose. Mostly it was about the same. Some stores ask for masks or at least say "please wear them if you're not vaccinated," it seems to vary. I went back to the SPCA thrift store, but man, has that gone downhill, it was kind of junky-er and you can't try anything on and eh....

Then I went home to cool off for awhile before the show and checked my email and AHEM, I actually got an email from Scott. Admittedly it's an email forward he sent to his grandma and whoever else and nothing personal, but he is in a online radio show tomorrow with his old director from the 10 minute plays in the beforetimes. ....Yes, I'll watch it, but with my camera off and just "Jennifer" on the name and who knows if it's actually ME or not that way, ahem. I haven't talked to him in three months and I'm not going to break that streak, but I can't resist watching. He's that good, sigh. I'm impressed to actually hear from him on any level though, I pretty much assumed "never ever again" the way last time went.


So in the afternoon/evening, we finally put on Angels in Riot Gear, i.e. "the suffragist play" I have been referring to for over a year without, for whatever reason(?*), mentioning the title.

* I dunno why I never mentioned the title? I guess mentioning "suffragist play" was more descriptive for me or something?

On the one hand, I am overall happy with how it came out for doing an epic play over the Internet. I think the plot/messages/humor came across and people seemed to like it in the chat*, for what it's worth. It was really fun and enjoyable to do and a lot of people knocked it out of the park and all that, even though Technical Difficulties abounded.

* Alas, the local theater person that Kelly was having watching it bailed after the first act....well, what are you gonna do. My cousin Linda also did "to go to bed for church the next morning," but Jackie (castmate Jackie) recorded it and will put it online in a few days, so I can pass the link along to whoever. I didn't look to check who else might have dropped out later. Plus, y'know, busy.

On the other hand, there is no doubt that Technical Difficulties Did Abound. Missed cues/late cues/wrong background/forgot to put my mask on sort of stuff. Carlos wanted a few lines added to the script and then proceeded to not use the version of the script with those lines, so everyone was thrown off when he missed it. Kelly thinks he just printed it awhile back and didn't bother to update or use the one on screen.

Of course there were the inevitable "you're on mute" moments or "person turns on camera late", but sometimes I was quite amused at what I ended up saying to cover for that. At one point Shanna apparently tried to eat a plum in between scenes, started choking, and then broke out into some brilliant improv about it.

"it was just like you were talking to me!" "yes, except I haven't had to tell you not to go to prison." "you seemed so natural. like you weren't playing a part, you were just being extremely natural."

Anyway, we had some discussion afterwards about re-recording the show (assuming others want to) for entry into festivals and the like later. We'll see, I suppose.

Funny quotes I wrote down at the beginning before we started: "It's 12 o'clock and I'm in my hotel room right now. Oh, the sacrifices we make for our art." -Matt "How will everyone hear the dulcet tones of my voice?" -Matt, before Jackie mutes all. "I am always on these prison mattresses." -Shanna Matt started quoting during sound check (I didn't get it all down fast enough), ending in "....will shut up now." "Go now, or forever hold your pees." -Marge on bathroom breaking "Who wants to write The Zoom Play That Goes Wrong?" -Marge Matt said he was in The Play That Goes Wrong and "I was the sacrificial audience member for that show...it was good times." "Don't break your fingers, you kind of need those." -Matt "Go as far covering for shit." -Shanna


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com