Chaos Attraction

Finished A Bad Sweater

2022-07-26, 3:36 p.m.

Today's work nightmares:

(a) Me: "Hey, could you work on processing this list?" Tech: "But we found a shit load of errors, which we've forwarded on to our supervisors, all of which are out of the office for at least a week." Me: "Could you do it ANYWAY?" So that may hold up Quarterly Project.
(b) Other office: "Oh, whoopsie, my office forgot to put a bunch of stuff in. Can the tech people fix it?" I send to the tech people, who ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS balk at this, and start asking for a shit ton of proof before they will do anything. WHEEEEE. This may also hold up Quarterly Project.
(c) One girl needs an Important Document immediately for a job offer. However, the office that approves that stuff WILL NOT DO IT because she decided to do a bunch of other stuff recreationally. She made it sound like "oh, I've only got one and it's not needed," but really it's like, four things. Even worse, the magic word "international" is involved, which means EVERYTHING will be held up for months and months, like up to six months after she really really needs it. Nobody can convince the other office to just approve it even if she doesn't need the extra stuff, so she's frantically bugging everyone. And claiming that I am the BigBoss. DA FUCK. NOPEtopus to that. Seriously, doesn't anyone TELL PEOPLE NOT TO DO THIS SHIT if they want out fast?!

I saw a job listing today that I didn't hate and wasn't automatically ruled out of. I will note that one of my issues with job hunting here for so long is that I've seen all the jobs and I've seen them cycle in and out over the years, and I've applied for them and been ignored, and I've learned what not to apply for. This is a job I applied for in 2015 and was ignored, according to my records. The original hiring guy is still in the program but not running it any more, for whatever reason, I don't know if that would make a difference. I literally have nothing more to offer than I did in 2015 either.

On a related note, there is now a job listing for my replacement supervisor. Whee. I'm all "so that idea is still happening?" I suspect my boss just really wants to pass on her special Hell Projects she can't stand.


Rehearsal: music only tonight--covered "Human Again," (not my favorite), "Transformation/Finale," and "Be Our Guest," so I can say I've actually rehearsed that one. Scott sat in front of me (grrr) but otherwise I continued to avoid him and GTFO whenever possible. Now I'm done having to see him for the rest of the week...and he goes to see Arielle and have a lovely date, that he actually wants to go on.

SIGH. I hate my life.

Oh well, at least I finished a sweater tonight during rehearsal, so there's that. Too bad it came out bad.

Oh yeah, and someone else probably got covid, as Elissa got a fever. "Who was her partner last night?" Steve yelled, and I was all "what counts as partner? Because I was vaguely in her vicinity but masked the entire time." Jean raised her hand and was told to take a test immediately. So far, so good.

Quotes from the evening:

It was pointed out that referring to Alisa as "Mrs. Beast" was kind of gendered, as is "Carpet's Mom." Someone else pointed out, "you're napkin #2," and that led to "dirty napkin" and sanitary napkin jokes.

Shorthaired Sarah: "If I stand still long enough, I start to tap dance."

Steve (no, I don't know the context of this one): "My mom's dead, I hope you're happy now!"


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com