Chaos Attraction

Miscelleaneous

2002-08-01, 4:00 p.m.

I can never sleep on any night where I have to get up early. I go to sleep around midnight at best and then wake up at six. I've come to realize of late that this isn't always because of my body knowing the alarm is going to go off and freaking out about that. It's waking up freaking out because it knows that SOME kind of incredibly loud and/or annoying work will be going on right outside my window at the crack of dawn.

A few weeks ago, it was a bunch of strange men sticking stuff over my er, "windows" (we've got some strange construction here, ok?) at seven in the morning so they could repaint the outside wall. Even after this was done, the painters continued to wander around the front of the building for a week, doing not much of anything. On Monday the damn garbage truck was beeping and cranking and generally being as loud as it could possibly be out on the street by seven a.m. Which makes no sense because the trash dumpsters are at the back of the complex and I'm at the front. Lately they've been doing something or other to the side street (I'm not sure what, since I haven't been home when they started working yet).

On Tuesday, oh GOD, they started DRILLING into the pavement. At seven a.m. Nearly in front of my apartment- the closest street corner, to be exact. Fucking LOUD. Hill (who gets to sleep in late these days) was probably awake and seething in her room. It was so much worse when I went outside and realized that (a) it was WAY louder outside, and (b) the drilling was going on only a few feet from the bus stop that I needed to stand and wait at. Even worse. Fortunately, the guy drilling actually went so far as to give me earplugs so I could tolerate it. I'm saving those things for the next few mornings when I get to sleep in, just in case.

Yay sleeping in! Just had to say that. I've been too tired over the last few weeks. Tomorrow is gonna be one lazy-ass day. Perhaps I shall do laundry, or go practice jewelrymaking if I get off my ass about it.

I found out that my Renaissance costume class has been postponed a week, so I'll be having my entire weekend free after all. I started to tell Dave this on the phone ("Guess what I found out today?") and he immediately said "Your class got canceled." It's fun to date someone else who's a bit psychic as well. Then he started going on about how he wants to do something special for our six-month anniversary (Friday) and how he wants to get a hotel room, do dinner and go clubbing again. Sounds absolutely lovely to me =) Also sounds like he's been planning it, huh? Makes me wonder... I guess he'd been thinking it out beforehand even though we weren't supposed to be doing anything for it this weekend. He's kinda beating himself up for not having tons of money to spend on me and "spoil" me for the day, I keep trying to tell him it's not a big deal because neither of us has much right now, he disagrees.

Drat, I have to come up with a birthday present for Demma and an anniversary gift for Dave. I think I'll go with jewelry, sorta: make Demma a necklace with gemstones with certain healing properties, make Dave a "wall decoration" (garland?) with all my deformed beads from class. I'll have to do the other one in the morning after class, though.

At any rate, I'll be leaving early Friday afternoon to go see him and return sometime Tuesday night or Wednesday morning, depending on if I get called about work or not. I probably won't see him for awhile after that, since Wednesday begins the over-a-week-of-hell at his work. They start moving locations that day, and it'll be 12-hour days for over a week and no time off, would be my guess. Lovely, huh? Oh well, might as well squeeze in a parental visit during that time.

It's definitely weird, celebrating a six-month anniversary when we've been engaged, of all things, for.... er, no comment. I know, it does sound bad. I usually do feel pretty sheepish about saying it to people (not to mention this journal), because I know nearly everyone reading it thinks I'm on crack for doing such a thing. Hey, I wonder about it myself. It's hard to explain to those who er, haven't gone loopy like myself. Other than, well, it feels like we've been a lot longer than six months. In a way it isn't as abrupt to me as it would seem to be. Part of me is quite shocked to think "it's ONLY six months?!"

I usually consider making it to six months in a relationship to be a pretty impressive feat. Like, maybe this'll last, kind of a thing. I was pretty impressed to make it that far with the ex, and had been looking forward to hitting a year, when I could be really sure it would last. This time, I'm not worried about it, which is nice. Also, six (official, not "feels like") months has kind of been lurking in my head as kind of a "bare minimum" amount of time for us to be together before telling my parents about things. Like, "okay, they're gonna say it's been such a short time, but hey, it might count as barely enough in their minds. Better than if we were honest, anyway."

Not that we're any closer to telling them than we ever have been, and I haven't even tried to bring up the subject since the disaster that was May. But I've been dropping hints. We'll see. Someday. Though Dave's patience may be going buh-bye about this... On last Saturday night after the whole car/fight fiasco, we came in and were talking to his parents about what went on, and he compared something to the way he's frustrated about my parents. I hadn't heard that before, nor known that he was griping about it to them. Eeep.

Not a lot happened at class last night. He showed us how to grind and shape our own cabochon stones. It's a lot more trouble to do than just buying your own, and takes over an hour just to go through the six grinding/polishing wheels on the machine you use. I haven't finished mine, don't know if I will. That's about all we did- most folks left early after asking him about what to do for the projects.

After paying all my bills, I found out I have a lot less money than I normally do at this point in time. For a few minutes I misadded and thought I had a LOT less and nearly gave myself a heart attack. At any rate, I'd better get hired again by the end of the month. I also nearly gave myself a heart attack when I thought for a minute I hadn't sent the application in. What a night, huh?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com