Chaos Attraction

Why It Sucks To Have A Phone During The Day Again

2002-08-01, 4:02 p.m.

While it was a pain in the ass to not be able to call the doctor or whoever during the day, I rather enjoyed not having to deal with answering a phone at work. Today, however...

My day started pleasantly. While everyone was at work at 8 a.m., I was asleep. While everyone was at work at 9 a.m., I was asleep. Yummy. Woke up, filled out the unemployment form online (oddly enough, it doesn't ask how much I used to make?), and pretty much didn't do a whole lot of what I'd been planning to do that morning.

Then I made the mistake of calling my mother. As you might recall, she wanted me to make Dad a gold ruby ring in class and volunteered to pay for it. I stupidly decided to call and see if she was still willing to, since I'd just figured out how broke I was and all. Instead, I got yelled at for:

(a) not knowing exactly how much the gold would cost. I tried to figure out their pricing system for hours today, folks. I have NO CLUE. I finally gave up and wrote to them when I sent in my order asking them to figure it out (yes, they'll do that).

(b) not knowing if gold or silver was easier to work with. She yelled at me for not asking the teacher this. Pardon me, but I was already asking him a ton of questions about the project as is, I couldn't get everything in. Especially when everyone else is asking questions too. My mother thinks that's no excuse.

(c) being broke in the first place, because shouldn't I have more money than that? I had more the last time I got laid off. Well, sure, but all my bills hadn't shown up at once then, and I hadn't been going out of town a few weekends a month or doing much of anything at all then, and I wasn't getting hit up for money by certain friends every time I went to their house then either.

Suffice it to say, she isn't paying for the ring after all. Fine by me, silver is a fuckload cheaper anyway ($4 versus $306? Think about it...). I don't know why I'm continuing to make the ring, I guess I'm just too nice, plus I do want to make it for Dad.

So after I've been trying to figure out the pricing for the raw materials, which had two or three different ways of doing it mentioned in the book, all of which looked vastly different, my head was splitting and I was pissy. So in other words, perfect timing for Mom to call me up and happily tell me she got me a dentist appointment for Monday morning.

Yes, she knew I was planning on being gone then.

Of course, she wasn't happy that I wouldn't take the appointment.

I tried leaving my phone off the hook, but then it started making that annoying beeping noise.

I haven't even gotten to the craft center today like I planned, or making Demma's birthday necklace, or packing, or doing much of anything because I've been dealing with this shit.

I need to talk to Dave NOW, dammit. Oh well, fifteen minutes until he's off work and I can call him and vent... more like, explode.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com