Chaos Attraction

Back In The Office Again, The Squeakquel

2021-08-05, 10:25 a.m.

Had to go into the office today:

* I had red hair and a new knitted skirt. Nobody noticed.
* I had on a full on KN95 that strapped to my head, covered by a pink mask. I kept it on all day except for when I was outside eating. Gotta get used to doing that, right? Mostly it just made my throat feel dry when I wasn't drinking casually throughout the day.
* I cleaned out my old office. Mostly had about 2 bags worth of stuff and then had to go through old paperwork.
* I mailed Important Documents, which clearly nobody's bothered to go look for, I guess? I only found about four of them and a fifth one came in the mail today (which is good since two out of those five were emailing me today all mad), but hell if I know where the rest GO.
* After those two things were done, I just wanted to go home already, since the computer I was on was missing one of the main programs I work on, I couldn't get into the group email box, and I just spent my time doing piddly crap, more or less. This is annoying. I got the printer to work and then it ran out of toner, so so much for a working printer. I made a list of things that someone better install on this computer.
* I went to the nearby bookstore during lunch. They really have cut back on the merchandise. Which makes sense, obviously.

My coworker Hope got into a big ol' rage today. It was Yet Another International Situation in which the country requires us meeting a deadline that we absolutely in no way can meet, so they aren't going to get to go to that country. Nothing we can do about it. I will note that this person was asking for something that actually goes entirely against the set rules (they missed the early deadline, can make the late deadline, but REALLY wanted a date in the middle and that's not allowed) and I can understand how there's no point in begging The Gods Of Giant Org for a magical exception for that person. I'm pretty sure a new arsehole would be ripped in that department if they asked, and I said as much to Hope. I did go down a rabbit hole from hell researching Gods's Rules online, which is always torturous and stupid and you can never find what these stupid rules of theirs are we are supposed to follow anyway. But she was steaming anyway that we're totally ridiculous in that a person is done with their thing and we literally make them wait for months to actually get it, which of course I agree with. She was basically all "I don't know if I can take this" and I was all "yeah, wait and watch this shit happen for years on end, you will get jaded" and she was all "gonna say something on the next survey" and I'm all "good luck with that." So that's about as memorable as the day went! Read a few books, tried to figure out a new yarn project.

I heard from a few people on text. Rae injured her arm falling in a hole(!) and Redhead Sarah is throwing a birthday party in the street tomorrow. BYOB/S, and "the theme is Sugar Daddy's Funeral, so wear your hottest number appropriate for such a solemn occasion." I have no effing idea what to wear to such a thing, but I wanna go, after Femme Fatale ends tomorrow (happily, timingwise I think that works out). I'm going to try to whip up a crochet unicorn cupcake.

(I did think, "what if she invited Scott?" but come on, he doesn't go to anything and just works anyway. Nothing to worry about.)

Today's thing I read that freaked me out.

In other news, I got an email saying that Hasan Minhaj is coming to this area in January 2022. I'd sign up, but who the fuck knows what will be going on in January 2022 and if it'll be allowed or if it's too hazardous to go into a crowded whatever even with masks on, or whatever....why bother to spend the money, I suppose.

Really, we can't even make plans to do anything outside any more, can we?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com