Chaos Attraction

Video Editing Audition

2021-08-08, 10:45 a.m.

I didn't do much today. I slept for 11 hours, which was great. I got groceries delivered. Beyond that I mostly sat around the house watching "In The Dark" season 2, forced myself to walk around the neighborhood for exercise a bit, read books, and I auditioned for Sacramento Theatre Company.

About that last bit: they were having online auditions and I decided to throw my hat into the ring for A Christmas Carol (what the hell) and Clue: The Musical, albeit more for the latter one as the "detective," the one female part available. I had seen this awhile back and was waiting to get my new actor photos before doing it, but here I was and it's due tomorrow. I admit today I was feeling lazy-ass and about had halfway decided not to bother doing it, then decided "what the heck, let's just do it for practice, it's online anyway," and the latter took me like....four hours to do? I rapidly lowered my expectations to "you know what, fuck it, if I just get this done, it's a win, even if it's not that great."

They had instructions to film two contrasting monologues and a song, put into one video, along with their form and resume/headshot, which had to be put into a special folder on Google Drive and you send them the link/give them permissions to open it.

I re-filmed myself doing the "Tassie Suffers" monologue and singing "Helpless" from Hamilton, and then I needed some "dramatic" monologue. I finally went with Violet's ragging on her boss monologue from 9 to 5: The Musical (hey, at least I've seen it), filmed it, then wondered if it was too similar to the Tassie one because both get quite forceful at points, then said "oh, fuck it, I don't want to spend all day finding another monologue, just doing this for practice anyway." The sound was a bit weirdly off at times, but again, FUCK IT, DOING IT FOR PRACTICE.

The worst part of the whole thing was trying to find something, anything, that let me combine three short videos together. Tried it in YouTube and that's a no-go, tried downloading three different programs, two of which refused to open and the third wanted me to pay money and kept spamming me to boot. Sorry, I'm doing this ONCE, I do not need to invest in a paid program. I found #4 to be the charm and finally got a video that was under 5 minutes together, finally uploaded it, had to go onto my work computer to edit the PDF form, blah blah blah....so yeah, about 4 hours of this stuff for 3 short monologues with my hair matching. I doubt I'll get in, and that's fine (I'm not Equity and they seem to be expecting those people), I can say I gave it a shot. Not sure what their Covid anything is at this point anyway so I don't feel too strongly about it. Clue: The Musical sounds like a hoot--I wanted to see it in this area, but the pandemic hit around that time--but if they only have one part for women, I don't think it'll be me. Whatever.

Sarah sent me a link to a singing concert in Vacaville (again: no mask mandate, not gonna be one there) audition thing, both online and in person by the end of the month. Unsure if I can or should do that one (rehearsals in fall, performance in November), given the lack of masks thing there.

Cameron sent me a postcard saying she liked my letter and she'll write a longer one soon (we'll see). I was thinking of writing her anyway.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com