Chaos Attraction

Fudge The Van?

2021-08-12, 10:53 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
What's Wrong At 8 A.M. - 2021-08-17
In-Office Scheduling - 2021-08-16
Cue to Cue - 2021-08-15
Back in SF Again - 2021-08-14
On The Phones Again - 2021-08-13

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Pap smear today.

Good points: (a) That was fast. (b) I weigh less than I ever have as an adult in my life, ta-dah. (c) New gyno is lovely and said I can stay on my birth control until I'm 51 and she will renew it every time without complaint.

Bad: (a) I have high blood pressure and now I'm in trouble. I did not calm down enough for them at any point in time in there.

Maybe it's work? It's probably work. I usually go to doctor's appointments first thing in the morning. Though today was pretty much a usual day here. I was wide awake at 3 a.m. for no good reason and my brain wouldn't turn off, but that's not atypical either for me or in pandemic, so....

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuck. Now I'm A Problem.

Welp, they have no intention of shutting my work down. Everyone come back in person full time! Yaaaaaaaaay. And no matter what your vax status now, I'll have to get tested every 14 days. Wah. I was hoping to get through the pandemic without ever needing to be. Also you are no longer permitted to consume food in any building unless it is in a campus restaurant. So....we all have to group together with masks off? Great idea? I'd rather....y'know, not? And admittedly I usually eat outside if I can even in the beforetimes, but what when the weather sucks? I usually have to hide in the stairwell because if I eat in the office, people bother me. Frankly, this looks like you can't even eat in your own office.


Camelot rehearsal tonight: all we did tonight was "The Persuasion," or what I call "the dumbest part of Camelot." The plot: Mordred lures out his aunt (on his mom's side), Morgan le Fay, WITH CANDY, I SHIT YOU NOT, to bribe her into "pulling a prank" on Arthur by (a) putting him to sleep while he's out hunting and then (b) building an invisible wall* around him so he can't go home that night. Which means that (c) Lancelot and Guinevere will spend some quality time together so (d) Mordred can publicly catch them at it.

Oh, there's a phrase I was hoping not to hear again....though I note it's in Shrek too. Just not a scene I was in in that one.
Seriously, FUCKING CANDY? Literally as in, waving bags of candy in front of her face? Isn't she supposed to be some badass fairy witch? She literally claims her house is made of food (albeit like, veggies and roast beef), but she can't come up with her own candy?* It's so DUMB. Especially since she seems at least somewhat sharp in her one scene otherwise: calls Mordred out for being an awful kid and he sounds awful still, says she isn't interested in pranking ol' Wart (Arthur), but wave candy in front of her face and it's, I'll do whatever?

Seriously, she can't magic up her own candy? What kind of a witch ARE you? I'm presuming candy might have been harder to come by in the medieval period, but also what he's offering sounds...rather modern.
(Though I admit, Mordred hugging her while popping his leg, and her shoving him off, is funny.)

Even weirder: there is a line in the scene in which Mordred says "Fudge the van." FUDGE THE VAN?!? THIS IS THE MEDIEVAL PERIOD! NOBODY HAS A VAN!!!!!! THE FUCK?!?

Seriously, Mordred getting Morgan to do something, fine. But like THIS? IT'S SO DUMB.

Anyway, what I'm doing here is that all the ladies in the show have to be Morgan's fairy court that follow her around and either dance (two people) or vaguely sorta dance (the rest of us) and then later, you guessed it, build an imaginary wall. So I was fairly clueless on what was going on with this bit. I guess they're down from four dancers to two, and I thought about if I should volunteer to do the more dancing bits, but then I watched those and it involves falling down and/or rolling around and wriggling on the ground (why?) a few times and I was no, thank you. Even worse, (a) they're doing it in white dresses with their dresses coming up on stage and all they have on is tights, I'm told, and (b) Andi landed on her hip and said it really hurt. So yeah, I'll skip that bit, thanks.

No lecture from Kimmy on masks tonight--the entire cast wasn't here anyway (most of the dudes were out except for Mordred, Arthur, and Pellinore). Jan was all, "I knew that once they said about not wearing the masks any more...." Well, yes. Jan also said "I just want to let you know how I love you and appreciate you." AWWWW. I also got hugged by Molly because both of us were in tie-dye tonight. Also awww.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com