Chaos Attraction

Midsummer Night's Short

2022-08-05, 7:51 p.m.

Work sucked.

I spent the day mostly doing tedious piddly shit and finding other people's errors at it, whee. We did sit through Potential Big Boss Presentation #3, I found the guy competent, sounds like he has tech knowledge, did actually have examples of issues we face here, likes hybrid work. I would give a thumbs up to this.

However: after lunch was hell because someone called that they didn't receive their Important Document. To which I was all (on the phone chat channel) "welp, I ordered it in mid-June, guess they didn't get, I'll reorder another for free" AND THEY WOULD NOT LET IT GO AND KEPT INSISTING ON TALKING TO A SUPERVISOR. Which I am NOT one and I am NOT volunteering and I had nothing else to say about it other than YOU GET IT FOR FREEEEEEEEEEEEE because I am the FREE FAIRY. Like I was seriously hiding in the bathroom for a long time feeling sick and I still got forced to take the call anyway because no one else who actually is a supervisor would do it and they kept asking me over and over and over. And that girl (and her mother) wanted someone to scream at about their bad pandemic graduation experience and we can't even get them a piece of paper, and I had to be the one to take that abuse. And be called out for sounding nervous on the phone (gee, I wonder why). I was COMPLETELY OUT OF ABILITY TO FAKE OKAY and my hands were shaking and I felt like shit all afternoon and I was just waiting for them to call my supervisor and complain about me. Like I even had to say I was in the bathroom feeling sick (I'm sure that's a no-no) to explain why I, the supervisor, wasn't immediately taking their call.

Yes, I'm terrible at this. I'm sure you can see WHY I'm terrible at this. I handled it the same way I would have anyway--FREE FAIRY--but it sure ruined the fucking day, and now I get to wait around to see if/when they call my supervisor to complain about me. I was lucky that neither boss nor grandboss (who was in the building that day) was in the office at that moment. I did warn my boss she was likely to get an angry complaint call about me, but I think she'd been having a crap Friday afternoon too and was all "eh, you did what you could." The anvil will now hang over my head for all of at least next week, though. I don't get away with nuffin' here.

After work: Ashley called to complain that the medical people screwed up her stuff and did the opposite of what they told her. Scott texted to ask when I was going to Midsummer (I said tonight, might have limited options for next week and you never know with covid) and he was all undecided still. Grrr, argh,


Midsummer Night's Dream: I went on my own, did not hear back from Scott (no surprise there), sat around the second row or so when I got in, said hi to people (Nancy said she's writing a play called "Santa Got Covid"). Did I mention they're having another ten minute play festival IRL in November/December? No set dates yet. Not sure if I could or would get into that one or not.

Turns out Scott actually listened to me on the "it's probably better to go tonight given everything else you were pondering going to in the next two weekends" thing, but showed up late and sat in the back, a fact I did not discover until intermission. Sigh. He didn't come over and sit with me after that either.

Anyway...um, that was certainly something. I probably knew around slightly less than half of the people from other plays. Bryan and Lizbeth from As You Like It (he played Oberon, she played the wall), Jim (playing Thisbe), Janene (playing Quince, but see below), Robert as Bottom, Cameron as Puck, Gail as Hippolyta, Germaine as Philostrate, Valentin as the dad and the lion. There were a fair number of kids in it, so the four lovers were teenagers, as were most of the fairies. I note that the girl playing Helena was shorter than Hermia and thus was in like 3 inch wedge heel sandals to be about as tall as her, making that line section a bit awkward. I will politely say that some folks were more....lively...than others in their roles. Robert did an excellent hilarious job as Bottom, Jim was a hilariously high pitched Thisbe, Cameron was obviously having a very good time playing Puck (at one point she's all "eeny meeny miney mo..." on the lovers, LOL). I had heard Amy from DMTC auditioned, but I didn't see her in the show. Did she not get in or quit or what? Last I heard she had auditioned but hadn't heard about parts yet.

Germaine clearly loves to uh, edit the script and in this one, since obviously they were short on dudes again, cast Janene as the playwright Peter Quince, but wrote a little scene in which Janene says her husband just died but she wants her play performed, so she's going to pretend to be a man for the rest of the show and wear a beard. This sounds like it was kind of a negotiated thing, or so I heard afterwards.

I note that Bottom and Titania straight up were in bed together in a tangle on stage. Making it explicit, eh? I laughed. Probably my favorite part was the Wall because she was swinging around and slapping Bottom "accidentally" like me at airport security. I found out later they only finished that scene for the first time LAST NIGHT...

Anyway, what was odd about this was that they cut a LOT of the play. It should be about 2.5 hours and it was 1.5 They finished up the whole Bottom-magicked plot by the end of the first hour and I was all "what the heck? Didn't they just skip a bunch of parts?" Yeah, mostly Bottom being cosseted by fairies and the mechanicals not knowing what to do without Bottom got the axe. So it was an hour for the first part, a half hour intermission that was supposed to be 20 minutes (maybe they couldn't figure out the stage lights?) and a half hour in the second act, mostly just watching the mechanicals do their show. (Sadly, the guy playing Theseus has some good snarky lines, and that guy was a pretty flat deliverer of said lines for the most part. Darn it.)

Basically it was a show where you suspect some kind of drama has been going on behind the scenes and I wanted to know the hot goss. I pretty much talked to everyone at some point after the show (everyone's oohing over Scott getting Lumiere, I had to say I play nobody), but I note Gail literally called me "Miss Fartface in the farting play." That's...new.

Re: hot goss, I briefly talked to Cameron and she said she'd write it to me later (I note she wrote me a brief note this week saying "the last month has been nuts" and will tell me about it soon), but Scott and I did go out to Sonic afterwards with Robert and Janene and heard things. I asked about the new director compared to Laure (who drove a lot of people nuts, Robert had some stories) and they said she was inexperienced, mostly. It's her first show as a director, though she assistant director'd a few shows before. And that the show was um, still coming together as of a few nights ago and people were still calling for lines, and that the wall scene only got finished last night, and oyyyyyy. I'm not sure which is worse, that stuff or Laure's particular scatty. It sounded like they were glad it worked tonight!

Scott mentioned all of us going to In The Heights--I'm not sure if that included me or not or just their private gaming group I don't do, but I guess me if it was mentioned around me (I was assuming I'm going alone at this point). Not sure when that would go on.

Romantic signs of the night: (a) seeing a MiniCooper with the license "MINILVE" on it, (b) the receipt from Sonic said the carhop was "MCLOVIN." I didn't see said carhop (everyone else went to the bathroom and Scott of all people ended up holding the food, I got it away from him right quick so no spills /allergy incidents happened or anything), but grabbed the receipt as a souvenir anyway. I note that he hugged the other two, then was about to leave, and then came back to hug me, at least.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com