Chaos Attraction

Fashion Nerd

2002-08-20, 8:32 p.m.

The ICan'tBelieveYouWoreThosePants Award: The worst fashion faux pas evah! And YOU wore it! Tell us. Extra points for pictures of you with bad 80s hair and a string tie.

Here�s how out of it I was in middle school, fashion-wise:

* More than once, I left the house wearing either two different socks or two different SHOES. Yes, I was absentminded. Yes, the lighting in my bedroom wasn�t so good. Yes, I had some similar socks and similar shoes. Thank the gods I had PE second period (I usually realized this stuff in first) and could change clothes there.

 Most people in middle school wore jeans. I was into hot pink flowered leggings. And I had this one screaming pink dress that I�d wear with them.

 Someone (a former friend I didn�t hang out with that much any more- gee, I wonder why) had to tell me that the style these days was pegged pants, and that it wasn�t cool to carry a backpack. I gave up on the non-backpack-look after a few days because I had too much crap to carry, but I kept pegging my pants until halfway through high school, when I finally noticed that nobody did it any more.

 Then there was the nightmare time when my best friend, who tended to dress pretty slutty for a 12-year-old (at the time� now of course it�s much worse), convinced me to borrow her short shorts to attract the guy I liked. Since she had more butt than I did, they just did not look good, especially with teeny stick legs coming out of them. I wanted to die. That year I had PE fourth period and immediately changed after that, which turned out to be a good thing because the crush guy�s friend HAD to start making comments at lunch�

 For eighth grade graduation, I was apparently the only girl who paid attention to the rule about no shoulders showing. I had a skimpy strapped top, but wore a jacket over it. Every other girl? Strapless and boobs-a-poppin�.

And I wonder why I was a nerd? Seriously? I just had NO social skills at all.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com