Chaos Attraction

You Got It Or You Don't

2002-08-24, 6:03 p.m.

The PrincessPants Award: Are you a little pink fluffy delicate princess? What brings out your princess side?

I am such the princess. I have a T-shirt that proclaims me so, I even have shorts that say "Spoiled Brat: You Got It Or You Don't."

What brings out my princess side? Er, breathing? About the only time I'm NOT princessed out these days is if I'm messing with a large amount of paint, or if I'm "dressing down" for Dave (uh-huh).

Seriously, I go around in skirts nearly all the time until it gets too cold, and usually they're bright and flowered to boot. Admittedly this is what I need to wear to work and I can't wear shorts there, but still, I'm often dressing like this on days off too. And of course when I'm not feeling too lazy, this is compounded with a ton of elaborate jewelry. And I have long hair that most people yell at me to cut (groan).

This is odd, considering that as a child I had ZERO interest in clothes and how I looked. Mom has a picture of me in a hideous outfit of shorts, T-shirt, cutesy red sneakers and knee socks that I can't stand to look at. I never wanted to try on anything, I just wanted to hit the toy section. But by fourth grade, the clothing bug mysteriously started to hit.

I've mentioned in previous Pants that in middle school I dressed like a major dork with bizarre fashion sense (if any), and that in high school I just tried to blend in. Other than wearing a lot of jewelry on a daily basis, I mostly only princessed on special occasions.

The only problem with that was, there are hardly ANY special occasions that really require you dress up any more. Even the pretty nice restaurants (that aren't a ton a plate) are usually casual wear. I'd be in a store eyeing yet another dress, and my mom would be griping "Where are you going to wear that? You have nowhere to get dressed up for." No bloody wonder I went to three proms, right? And let's face it, it's highly unlikely that I'm ever going to live a life where I'd have a lot of occasions to look that pretty. (Hell, so long as I have a great dress, who cares about the rest of the wedding?)

So in college I decided I'd make my own occasions. Or at least, get dressed up for no good reason other than I felt like it, and go around looking a bit out of place anyway. Screw what other people are doing, I'll make myself happy. And pretty.


Just so's you know, there won't be an AntsinYourPants entry, because I have NEVER taken an interesting road trip. For one thing, mine haven't gone beyond a day or so, and for another, what is there to say about any of them? I sat in the car and read/listened to music, we got out and ate a few times. Whee. I literally have nothing to say about any of them.

I've been working on the RantyPants for ages now, hopefully that will go up this week.

I spent hours in class today and now have most of two pieces done. I ended up being unable to finish the bodice today because the teacher didn't have the right size boning for me (sigh), so I can't finish it yet. I then spent most of the day making my top, which can't be quite finished yet either until it's tried on with the bodice to see how to adjust the neck (sigh). I'm impatient, of course.

Next week will be busy. On Monday my other classmate is taking me to get fabric, as it turned out I didn't have enough to make one of the skirts (huge sigh). Wednesday is metalsmithing again, and Thursday and Friday will be the last of the costume classes. She decided to move them to the end of the weekdays and have 2 2-hour classes instead of one long one after work hours.

I don't know if I'll be going to Dave's for the rest of Labor Day weekend or not, now that I know I could. He went home from work at lunch today because his eye hurt from the flourescent lights, and now he's debating whether or not to go to the emergency room (again) a day early instead of waiting to go to the doctor, and wondering if he'll be able to work at all next week. He can't afford a week off, though he does have 3 separate days off then, one is Sunday. (Thus making a weekend ambush possible, if not probable due to the eye/lack of money.) What makes me nervous is that he got the idea to have his parents come pick me up Saturday and bring me over there, since they want to check out my place. EEEEP!!! I'm so not thrilled about THAT idea, lemme tell you. I don't feel like I can object if it happens, though. I'm hoping they say no, but who knows.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com