Chaos Attraction

Somebody Lock Up My Wallet, Please?

2002-08-23, 6:18 p.m.

In a supreme bout of irony, I realized yesterday, the day that I went permanent, that I had run out of stuff to do. This problem is kinda remaining today too. I asked my coworker (the other one who's not new) if there was anything, and I found out that he doesn't have a whole lot to do either! We're er, working slow, and feeling relieved that our boss is on vacation today. Kind of a waste of a day, though.

Oh well, I need paychecks anyway. Between going out to dinner with Dave Wednesday night and then seeing XXX (surprisingly not that bad. Holy shit on the special effects) on Wednesday night and then going out to dinner with Dave and Hill last night to celebrate, and then hitting Wal-Mart so Hill could get a new blender and I could get sewing supplies... I also stupidly bought myself the Michelle Branch CD (quite good) and RollerCoaster Tycoon, which I've been drooling over for years. And was nice and bought Dave some PC game called Fallout, which he practically was hyperventilating over. Then I realized that geez, I sure have bought a lot of stuff lately, and yeah, I am only going to get a few hundred dollars this month for paychecks, so... um, perhaps this wasn't the best idea. *sigh*

I think I may just not go visit him this weekend and save the cash. And skip lunches for awhile or something. I don't think I'm gonna end up broke or anything, but I need to behave more often.

Dave's got an eye infection. Acccording to him, at the end of summer every year he gets one. Unfortunately, this time it's in his good eye. The good news is that he has an eye doctor appointment on Monday, the bad news is that "I'll probably be blind for Labor Day weekend," i.e. by the time he can get to a doctor, it'll be too late to clear up quickly and easily. Ugh. So far he still seems to be able to see enough to not be tripping a lot or whatever, but he had to wear sunglasses in Wal-Mart due to the light hurting and asked me to lead him around by the hand for awhile in there. Eeek. Not to mention this morning's "Where's the lamp?" When I last saw him he was doing well after four Excedrin, enough to wander around playing arcade games for an hour.

I'm not feeling too comfortable knowing he has to go to work during the weekend (he's not calling in sick until he really has to). He said it was probably a good thing I wouldn't be around, as "I tend to get REALLY, REALLY CRANKY when I can't see." Oh, goody, something to look forward to for married life. He said he might have to go on temporary disability- which knowing his boss, would probably mean he'd get fired ASAP. Yes, I know that's illegal, and no, I don't think this would bother his boss a bit. Truth be told, I think he's highly likely to get canned soon anyway given how his boss is acting and what's been going on there. Oh well, I guess it's for the best, given Dave's current level of "I do NOT want to go back there"-ness.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com