Chaos Attraction

The Hunter Gets Captured By The Game

2002-08-22, 6:13 p.m.

The SmartyPants Award: Do you love to say "I told you so"? What's your best I told you so story?

I wasn't going to have anything to write for this topic, until yesterday.

I've mentioned before that Dave had Wednesday through Friday off, was going to the doctor Wednesday, and then was dragging ass on saying if he'd come up here or not. Would NOT say if he would or not.

Anyway, he was driving me NUTS during our conversation Tuesday night. Kept saying how much he wanted me to be there or vice versa, and then said "I might go to the DMV on Thursday morning. Less people then." At which point, I was like, "ARRRRGH!" Like he couldn't get it all done in one day?

It did, however, finally occur to me that this was probably all just a ruse to surprise me.

A-hem. I bet I could bust him on that one.

On Wednesday, he called me during lunch. I was in the Craft Center, since I'd had yet another enormous potluck breakfast at work. I figured I'd work on my new ring band then so I wouldn't have to come back later like I'd been planning on before.

"So, what are you doing this afternoon?" he asked. Uh-Huh.

"Oh, going to work, might come back here later to work on this..." I said.

He mentioned that he wouldn't be going to the DMV after all that day. Oh, and he had to go now so he could wash the dog.

On the one hand, it didn't exactly sound like he was moving, if you know what I mean. On the other hand, why would he stay in town? And of course, he hadn't SAID anything about coming or not, beyond er, checking where I'd be.

I debated whether or not to come home straight from work or not just so I could screw with him, but my cell phone was about to die, so I needed to go charge it anyway.

I wondered how he'd do it? Show up in my office? (Assuming he could find me, since my new private cubicle is in the dead back of the dead back area we're in.) Meet me when I got off work? Show up on the bus? Be in my room when I got in? A bit of suspense there...

But no, he did not come into my office. He wasn't lurking in the lobby with a camera when I got out. He didn't show up at the bus stop. And when I tried to creep quietly into the apartment (which doesn't work, the lock's noisy), I only found Hill there.

I walked into my room and the phone immediately rang. Coincidence? (Not to mention the voice mail that showed up on my phone after I turned it back on to recharge it.)

"What are you up to tonight? I thought you were going to the craft center and wanted to call you before you left."

"Oh, I'm not going, I got done," I said. Just to fuck with him I said "I was thinking of going back, though. Might as well use the extra time. What are you doing?"

"Oh, just wandering around downtown." I IMMEDIATELY knew he meant this downtown, as the downtown in his town is really far off from his house and he couldn't have gotten there easily. It's not really somewhere you 'wander' around.

"How'd you get there?"

"Oh, by bus." (Not a city bus!)

"Find anything interesting? Any cool stores?" (There's not a whole lot of those in his downtown other than the bead store.)

"No... I was just window shopping anyway."

We were both so coy.

"Anyway, I'm about out of minutes on my cell, I just wanted to call before you went. Bye."

30 seconds later, Hill's cell rings, and I hear her say "Why on earth is Dave calling me?"

The joys of caller ID... Naturally I listened in on this. She mainly said a lot of uh-huhs and then hung up.

"What did he say?"

"Oh, he called the wrong number."

Uh-HUH. And you talked for that long, eh?

"Well, that's funny," I said, as I slowly wandered back into my room, "since he said he was about out of minutes and all."

I went in there and basically stood around for a bit, opening the window to see if he was out there (nope).

"What are you doing?" Hill asked.

"Oh, nothing."

I conspicuously wandered back into Hill's room again and hung out until I heard the lock on the door.

"Hah, I knew you'd be showing up!"

"You're on to my tricks, eh?"

"Yup."

"I'll just have to come up with some new ones, then."

Now he's all bothered that he's become so predictable (insert eye-roll here), and claims "How could you know I was going to show up if I didn't decide I was going to until three hours before?"

Riiiight.

Oh, and speaking of another "I told you so" that's been going around with my relatives, who have been stressing about this- I went permanent at work today. Woo hooo!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com