Chaos Attraction

Maybe, Maybe Not

2002-08-26, 7:17 p.m.

Well, Dave got out of the eye doctor's with good and bad news. The good news is that he can still see pretty well- the eye thing seems to be in and out on hurting/sensitivity/etc. The bad news is that because this infection isn't acting like the usual kind he gets, and isn't acting predictably at all, and seems to be spreading to the other eye, So they think it may be something else (worse, I guess?) than his usual yearly thing. He's not allowed to go back to work in case something else weird happens/he goes temporarily blind, at least until Thursday when he has to go to the eye doctor again for most tests. I find it kind of strange that they won't let him go to work, but getting his driver's permit today (which he did do) nobody had any qualms about... but whatever!

If you're on the notify list, you've already heard most of what's coming next before. For those of you who are not, I was in a bitchy mood yesterday (ah, the joys of headaches and financial stress, not to mention sewing getting annoying) but thought I shouldn't ruin a perfectly long RantyPants entry by throwing another off-topic rant into the mix that day. So here it is today.

There is the possibility that a Scottish Games trip and/or parental ambush will happen over Labor Day weekend. S&D want to go (of course) and bring us and Teri and Gabe along too. If we go in costume we can get in for free, apparently. I'd love to go and have a place to show off my new outfit. And since the SG's are located in the town next to Demma's and my hometown, they figured they could just drop by and er, surprise my parents, and thus get the Dreaded Parental Visit With The Boy out of the way. Which in all honesty, needs to be done sometime ASAP, much as I don't want to any more, and if a bunch of other people are over, at least Mom and Dad can't bitch at me for it.

I REALLY wanna go. However, the likelihood of this trip happening isn't very good. It'll probably happen only if a bunch of factors come together.

If we're "working" the games by going in costume, we'd have to stay and camp out there the entire weekend (well, Friday through Sunday), as far as I know. Before the doctor's visit, Dave did have Sunday and Monday off from work, but NOT Saturday. If he's okayed to go back to work on Friday, he won't be able to go unless he can show up a day late (which I'm not entirely sure he can).

If he's still badly off enough that he can't go to work and has that time off, will he even be able to go? He could be blinded by then, could be in pain, who knows if he'll want to go (not to mention two days of sunshine). Scott said that Dave could just wind his head up in something and go as a blind man, but how much fun is that going to be for him?

Oh yeah, and we'd have to get our own tent for camping out, since S&D are loaning their extra to T&G. Which we would not be able to transport in S&D's tiny (and currently not working) car, so we'd need a big vehicle. Which Dave will have control of by then if he can come up with the rest of the minimum amount of money he owes the chick by Friday, and then he could have Teri drive him over. But if he's not working for the entire week, which he can't afford to do, he certainly won't have the money for the car and tent. (And then will probably get fired for not coming in, but I don't think he gives a shit any more.)

So guess who's going to have to cough up a lot of money if we want to go? I'll have to loan him $100 for the car (I forget how much he has paid off by now), probably $50-100 for a crappy Wal-Mart tent, and of course there's food buying to be done for three days (probably for S&D too, since they are now incredibly beyond broke and the car brakes died to boot, so we all know what that means) unless there's a pleasant surprise and that turns out to be free if you're "working." (Dave said that Scott says food is "taken care of," but God only knows what that means.) And of course we're all gonna be tempted by stuff, especially if we have to have some items in order to be "working." And I already had to buy more fabric this week and (newly upped) rent's the week after that and two bills just came in and DAMMIT, I AM NOT A MONEY FACTORY RIGHT NOW! I don't mind paying for other people usually, but SHIT, this much?! Right now? With no new money coming in until the end of the first week of September and that won't be very much at all and has to last me a month? Not good. I wouldn't be utterly broke, but I'd be close enough to be very nervous about it, and not sure I could pay rent when it was due the next month.

I think it's the food part that bugs me the most. I could manage the car/tent and feeding the two of us (I am not sure how much he gets paid for sick days, if anything, but it's probably a pittance) if I had to, but I can't be the charity queen to everybody for the entire weekend for everything. Just can't do it.

ARGH.

I really want to go. I want to have a reason to wear my new outfit. The weekend sounds like it'd be a lot of fun. And we could do the parental ambush finally if Dave's feeling any better by the end of the weekend (if not, it's off), and having other people around would help keep my parents on best behavior for the thing.

But I don't think I can afford to go. Not if I'm paying for four people the entire time, anyway.

Buggerall to hell.

Admittedly, it doesn't seem all THAT likely that all of the factors are going to fall into place that I can go right now. Who knows how Dave's going to be feeling on Friday and what'll be going on after that. I can't even find out how things will be until the day of, practically. What. A. Pain. He's very iffy on the whole thing right now.

Adding to the fun, Mom e-mailed me at work today to say "hey, if you're in town, would you like to do dinner? Let me know, because we might be doing something else this weekend." I write back saying "Well, we were discussing doing that as a surprise, but hey, that's even better, if you can deal with six people," and she writes back in a panic with "Were you going to bring them over to the house?" (Having been to the houses of everyone in the party, I REALLY don't think our house is a mess compared to some folks). I lied and said "I don't know yet," and then had to leave work. So who knows (sigh).

At any rate, I have no idea what's going on. I just told Dave this and he said "Well, if someone can drive us there and back, we could still go see your parents on Sunday even if we don't go to the games." Hmm, there's an idea.

Why am I so nervous all of a sudden?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com