Chaos Attraction

Heart Attack At Work

2002-08-27, 6:06 p.m.

I gave Dave my phone number at work for emergencies. I guess this would count...

(note: this entire conversation on his side is in a totally cheerful tone. Mine obviously varied.)

"Hi, I just called to tell you a funny. You'd better come see me this weekend." (That doesn't sound good.) The doctor got my blood work back today, and according to that, I should be dying or in the hospital by now."

"Um, WHAT?!?!" (You don't even want to know what was going through my head there.)

"But I feel perfectly fine! The doctor and I think it's just a mix-up. I have to go get it redone on Thursday. So I might be in the hospital this weekend or next, but hey, I'd get off work for another week and then we could go to Scottish Games!"

(At this point, I started laughing semi-hysterically, collapsing over my keyboard.)

"What's so funny?"

"Uh, did you listen to yourself?!"

My boyfriend IS A SICKO. (And perhaps not just mentally, either... oy vey. Now I get to be all nervous as hell Thursday.)

See, this is why I'm embarrassed to get phone calls at work. Not only can I not ask him everything I would if I were in private, they always seem to go ... funny... in public.

"So, that was your boyfriend, huh?"

"Yeah..." Then I get to explain what the heck that was about, which is just plain weird...

Oy. My heart's still recovering from this one.

In other news, Demma's car is in need of weeks of repair, so they'll be in ye olde hometowne for awhile. But apparently have left our names at the Games if we do end up going so we get in for free. I talked to her today to get all the details. Once again, I'm frightened of what they plan to do to the "fair virgins."

I don't know if I'll have an outfit for the Games or not. I ran into another of my fellow classmates today, who'd already talked to our teacher about getting metal boning for her bodice. Turns out that the owner of the place the teacher gets it from died, and the store is closed. So she had to order it from Southern California, so who knows when it'll come in. I may not have anything to finish the bodice with by Friday. Ugh.

Oh yeah, and Mom has canceled on the dinner idea, saying that Dad can't handle being around a big group of strangers. (Why do I have the feeling this bodes ill for a wedding?) Dave suggested just the two of us going if he had a driver along, Mom's ignored that one to go on about how he really shouldn't be in a dusty environment. Demma said they weren't planning on going along- just dropping us off for dinner. I'll see how Mom takes that news tomorrow, I guess.

I don't know what to make of anything these days.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com