Chaos Attraction

Today Sucks Ass

2002-08-30, 7:57 p.m.

So close, and yet so far. It figures.

What a crappy day.

By one p.m., I'd finished my dad's ring (mine, alas, needs some Superglue) and heard from Dave- the doctor wrote him an excuse until the middle of next week, he's good to go.

By one-thirty, well... I'm not going to go into the ugly details, but I'll summarize it as we were all told we had to come up with a lot of money, immediately, or this trip wasn't gonna happen. I was Very Not Thrilled. Dave, Gabe, and Teri had to relinquish all their spending money, and I'll have to cough up the other half of the money *sigh* So much for going cheap.

Around two p.m., I went back to testing the database system at work. Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong, but ONLY for me. Nobody else had problems of this nature but me. My files were being deleted, I had to type the same thing in ten times apiece.

By three, I called my mom to let her know we were going for sure. She was just plain nasty to me for most of the conversation. Bitched that I'd been too busy to call her, bitched that I wanted to spend time with my friends and not her so maybe dinner should be canceled, bitched that "You don't have this trip planned out at all, do you?", bitched that she didn't want to wait around for me to call all day because she might want to do something (and no, she had nothing in mind), bitched that I want my own life and not to have her in it, blahblahnastycakes. I REALLY loved when she said snappily, "You're crying, aren't you?" Nice, Mom. I so wanted to cancel on the weekend right there, but didn't for Dave's sake ONLY.

By four p.m., I wanted to throw the computer across the room.

At five, I called Dave and found out that the car had broken down 8 miles out of town, and S&D weren't likely to come and help for at least two hours. Suffice it to say, no trip's gonna be happening.

Ah, the irony: by 6:30, I'd finished enough of my costume to not have to worry about it any more.

By 7:30, I was home, and decided I might as well work on the costume anyway, even though chances were I wouldn't be using it.

At 8, Dave called to say that S&D were coming to get him and Teri, and he was going to MAKE THEM come get me late at night. I tried to talk him out of it (at this point, do I even want to go any more?), but he said if they don't get me tonight, they'll come up with an excuse to not get me tomorrow. Nice.

As I type, it is 10 p.m. I have no idea if they'll come to get me or not. I am highly skeptical, and last I heard Demma was already feeling very cranky and bitchy (won't we all), and she only gets worse the later she's up. I can't imagine that it's going to be a very pleasant weekend after all, given the shit that's gone on. I'm about dreading it. Everyone's going to be pissed and cranky as hell, not to mention broke.

But hey, at least my outfit's done and I look good, right?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com