Chaos Attraction

Aftermath

2002-08-31, 3:20 p.m.

As you perhaps guessed by seeing this entry, I'm not there.

I got fed up and went to bed around 11:30, after leaving Dave a message along the lines of "See you next weekend." He calls at 1 a.m. to say that Demma's car (or maybe it's her dad's car by now, I've lost track) died in Stockton. Hmm, that's two cars dead during the course of the day... why am I reminded of City Slickers when the horses go off the cliff and they do the funeral? "What can we say about Skyrocket and Buttercup?"

Dave seems to be having a meltdown. Suffice it to say he wants OUT of there to go see me or the other way around very badly. (What a waste of a 3 day weekend, huh?) When I last talked to him he said he was still working on trying to come up with some way to do it. Only with them all having NO money, no nearby public transport, and no way to get to the nearest public transport station, it just isn't going to happen.

I looked it up. There's no way for me to get to that town or him to get here via Greyhound (no station here) or Amtrak. No train goes over there, just the busses, and they won't sell me a ticket for a bus-only trip. Unless I go back and forth on a train trip I don't need to make. Or alternately he could attempt to make it to the nearest BART station (impossible to do without a car), then take it into Oakland, then switch to another BART route to get to Berkeley, THEN get on Amtrak to get here. No money, though, so that ain't happening.

Truth be told, I'm GLAD I'm not there right now. I suspect they're all having a miserable time. Instead, I've had a leisurely day, sleeping in (well, trying to, anyway), going to the Farmers' Market and picking up yummy vegetable pakora for lunch, and making a LONG time needed run to the grocery store. All very calm and giving me time to chill out and relax and destress from the hell week. I plan on spending the three day weekend doing that, perhaps sewing or beading, and chugging wine coolers. Two for $5, yay.

I finally broke the news to Mom and she was actually a bit nicer about it. Said I was being bitchy and needed to spend this weekend chilling out alone instead of seeing them. Though I was ticked off at her acting like she'd just gotten a medical degree in her spare time and saying that Dave was going to lose his eyesight if a speck of dust got in his eye while at the fairgrounds. Yes, really. Called him a "fool" for wanting to go instead of staying home. Grrrr.


Update, 5:45 p.m.:

Dave has somehow managed to find someone to give him a ride out to Oakland, where he'll catch the last train back to here. He has Had Enough. I expect when he finally arrives here, there will be much rejoicing. And possible alcohol consumption. And a whole lot of venting.

Oh yeah, and Scott passed on the message that "we all miss you, we feel bad you're not here, and we're all coming back tomorrow because it's no fun without you." Or something like that anyway.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com