Chaos Attraction

More Phones Again

2021-09-10, 11:32 a.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
HAMILTON - 2021-09-16
Tech Week Continues - 2021-09-14
I'm Totally Fried - 2021-09-13
Mary Poppins Tech Week - 2021-09-12
Shopping - 2021-09-11

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

It...rained last night?!?! Doesn't look like it did much, but weird after the virtually no rain year. I had something outside to dry yesterday and um...yeah....?

I woke up at 6:49 this morning and then had to remember "Oh yeah, I can't ever go back to sleep at that time again." Waaaaaaaaah.

It randomly rained last night? That's so weird. It looked like it had a little bit by the time I drove home last night, but I guess it rained more. I had hand washed my nightgown after the 100+ weather the other day and put it outside to dry yesterday so uh....that went well. (It's dry now though.)

I had to go back to the office today.

I spent hours working on the mailing. Well, at least I got as much done on it as I could. I had to prep a bunch of Other Important Documents to go out with the usual Important Documents.

I have asked Grandboss if we can just have all the Important Documents delivered back to our office directly now since we have to be open every day again. She said yes, but she's got to set it up. It takes at least a week longer for GiantOrg mail to send stuff after they receive it, so....

I had a meeting with my boss in which she told me to stop apologizing for anything I haven't been proven to do, sigh, and not to say as much stuff to the younger employees. Not an excruciating meeting, thank goodness, but...sigh.

On the other hand, I was entertained at her telling me about going to the Farmer's Market, and also this story: somebody's mom contacted the CEO of GiantOrg, which got passed onto my boss. So my boss calls, has a looooooong conversation with the mom about her personal life before finally getting to talk to her kid, our client. Boss says to do XYZ, etc. This is on Friday. MONDAY MORNING she hears from the CEO again saying this mom complained on Monday that "nobody called me!" I will sum up my boss's reaction to this as (a) WHAT, (b) "I have call logs." Boss is super not thrilled at liars. So she calls up the mom AGAIN, points out that all calls going to CEO are going to go back to her anyway, and did her daughter actually do XYZ? No? Well, we're going to follow up on this again in a week now, shall we? So yeah, she gets annoyed as well. "I like helping people, but...." I wanted to say I don't want to help people at all! Boss's theory is that they were all annoyed that she didn't magically fix everything for the kid, and boss is all "She's old enough to need to learn for herself."

I got told to suddenly answer the phones. Suffice it to say the office setup was in no way prepared for this. I thought I could just use my coworker's phone and one of the agent lines on said phone, but nooooo, I had to go get my old phone and set it up, which went extremely poorly and disconnected the Internet twice and this shit literally took two hours. (I note that the actual office phone blowup apparently took 15 minutes, according to Hope.)

My lunch date canceled on me early that day for a work thing, which is fine because guess who had to not take lunch until 1:30 to deal with the phone crap because it blew up circa 11:30 and I ended up having to wait around for Grandboss to fix it.

I'll say this for Grandboss: she was lovely today. I was pretty tired/incoherent by the time she came in to fix the phone crap and she was all "Here, I have bought tons of food for anyone who has to come into the office." Seriously, tons of snacks "because hey, you showed up" and she wanted people to have access to food if the lines are too long at the restaurants and making people uncomfortable. * She gave me a card that she bought out of state in March 2020 (knitting theme) and managed to hold on to the entire time and not bend or lose! How sweet!

By the time I got to have lunch at 1:30, I seriously ate soooooo many of the snacks, and then eventually my own lunch. I stuffed face exhaustedly for an hour.

I did find out from Grandboss that she came down with Covid before the vaccines--"I went to go visit my daughter-in-law and she said it was allergies...I said I wished she'd mentioned it before I arrived..." but had a legitimately (not "medically") mild case of it, nothing too bad. Lucky her.

Oh yeah, and GiantOrg sent out an email saying that they think delta variant is dying down because cases went down a bit last week. This seems a bit optimistic.... Though on the good news side, over 90% of the GiantOrg population is vaxxed now, they say. That's good, because apparently my office is going to be ah....forcibly removing anyone who categorically refuses to. FUN TIMES.

Anyway, I was utterly tired after all of this crap and I feel fried now. I wanted a slushie but did not have the energy to go get it.

I did record singing "My Way" over Zoom for Jim for Walt's birthday, briefly, but mostly am just watching Lucifer again. We will sadly have to stop it for most of a week....


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com