Chaos Attraction

Disappearing Kleenex

2002-09-24, 7:09 p.m.

My weekend was pretty good, or at least an improvement from the last two weekends. Dave insisted on going out on Saturday, which is how we ended up, no joke, watching Teri give Gabe a head lice treatment as our main source of entertainment. Apparently she'd passed them on to him, but she got them from... Jeremy. Now guess who else is worried about catching the lice? So far no itching, though. Though between hanging around that and having Teri redye my hair red, who knows...

So Dave's back at home, and I'm back to my old normal life.

Yawn.

Having him around that long certainly got me used to things. I'm weirded out now having to fend for myself without any company. And who knows when I'll be seeing him again. Since the discussed trip with Jackie for this weekend has been called off on account of it turning out to take 5 hours to get there, I'm caving in and seeing my parents this weekend. Mainly (a) to SHUT THEM UP, and (b) they're bribing me with money and a gift certificate to my favorite restaurant. Specifically, $300 came in for me and "we don't trust the mail to get it to you, so you'll have to come home and get it." Sigh. But I need the cash, and I'm going to need winter clothes soon, so I might as well. Ugh. Well, things are at least going pleasantly with the parents- Mom is definitely trying- so maybe it won't suck?

I couldn't sleep for crap Sunday night without him there after these last two weeks. I had just finally caught up on my sleep this weekend, and all my good work has gone to hell. Plus me being a little sickie hasn't helped. I went into the supply closet at work and noticed something scary: When I first got here in February, there were two rows of Kleenex boxes in the supply closet. A week ago, there was one row left. This week, there were TWO boxes left. Period.

I went off to the natural food store again for post-pneumonia remedies and came away with orange-flavored echinacea throat spray and ivy leaf syrup. You know, I just love natural remedy places. If they recommend that you get one thing and then they mention it tastes nasty and you say "Um, in that case I'll probably never use it," they'll go find you something else better tasting! So beats my crapass doctor. She also recommended that I get these $70 (choke!) pills that should REALLY clear things up if I need to later. Yeah, when I have big money again, I guess. If you ever get sick, I HIGHLY recommend you go to somewhere like that. Miracle workers, I swear.

In other news, I found out that my cousin Alicia moved into the dorms Sunday. (Thanks for letting me know, guys.) She has moved into a dinky room for 3 people in the dorms closest to the cow barns, there's not even a bathroom on her floor, and one of the roommates is apparently quite bossy. That poor girl. Lord, it's bad enough coordinating alarm clocks when there's one other person in the room. I predict that she'll want a transfer within the quarter. I wrote her an e-mail today (though from what I hear, that isn't working for her) saying if she needs somewhere to crash... I doubt she'd take me up on it, though. I miss being close to her, but I think it's not likely at the age she's at.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com