Chaos Attraction

Hopping Backwards While Singing In Heels

2022-10-04, 8:42 p.m.

Winters sent out their announcements for the 10 minute plays. Bad news: I definitely can't audition for them (auditions at the same time as rehearsals), but that's not a surprise. Good news: at least they are doing the shows after Christmas Carol ends, so I can go watch it. I haven't read the scripts (is there a point?), but it's all looking like...cute elf stuff? I dunno....I'm trying to picture my friends being into play elves and kinda failing at this.

I'm still tired after a supposed 8 hours of sleep.

Today I actually RAN OUT OF WORK TO DO. Like seriously, we even cleared out all the emails except the weird ones and I cleared out my own personal backlog circa 2 p.m. Happily, I was at home so who knew? Especially since the rest of my afternoon was doing office chat. Specifically, someone's parent emailed me wanting to know where his kid's Important Document was and ummmmm...turns out their ah, paperwork has not gone through, shall we say. Something I categorically cannot admit to someone's daddy. So I said "have your kid email such-and such," and he made his kid email us 5 minutes later and cc him. Then teammate #1 saw it and had a similar freakout to me on "um....shit, what do we do," and while we were discussing THAT, teammate #3 just wrote back saying "contact X office about that."

I went to karaoke. Very few people at it, but got to do more songs! Tried doing "Pompeii" and "Feel It Still."


Rehearsal: second half of "Fezziwig's Ball" and it's STILL not done because she wants to throw in yet another couples number (presumably more lifts, presumably me not in that either) and STILL hasn't gotten to it yet, in the MIDDLE. I will note that it is somewhat confusing to learn from a choreographer who literally can't really do a lot of the moves and has to farm them out to Felicia at times...

Anyway, the rest of the night involved: (a) Irish jig (b) more "ratatatatatatatat" dancing (c) waltzing with Omar, which went well, I like it (also BREATHING TIME FOR GODSAKE) (d) doing a lot of allemande-ing in a giant circle a la a maypole minus the maypole--that's fun (e) MORE COUPLES LIFTS, still not doing that (f) um....what after that?! I forget.... (g) I finally get to do a bit of show-offy stuff in front and it involves HOPPING BACKWARDS WHILE SINGING IN HEELS...I can manage that in dance shoes but have NO idea how to manage that in high heels and a long skirt.

This is super insanely fast paced for most of it, hooooooooo boy.

Morgan was around supposedly doing publicity stuff, but she wasn't there that long and I'm not sure what she was doing? Not sure if she filmed anything, she said she was going to interview people and I think maybe she just did Felicia. Who knows there.

Obviously I did not have much time to write down anything funny, here's all I got: Danny: "Propose? I barely know her!" Someone else: "It's only week 3?" Jan: "You're going to watch your wife having fun." Don: "That sounds kinky." (Yes, said in front of Sage.) Omar while we're waltzing: "Leave room for Jesus."

Felicia told me she has to go to her work retreat--IN TAHOE--driving straight there after rehearsal ends at 10 and then it's overnight. Oy vey, poor girl. She's out Wednesday and then back again Thursday. She also told me that the dance studio is having some free drop-in classes this month and we were trying to figure out what we could do around rehearsal. We can do an improv class Saturday and that's about it, I think....we both like the idea of doing the flash mob class, but rehearsal, so...I dunno.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com