Chaos Attraction

Shopping and/or a Lack Thereof

2002-10-07, 8:22 p.m.

The last three days have had a mixture of good and bad in them. We'll get the bad out of the way first, okay?


It looks like there will be no large purchases made by me or for me in the future after all.

The bed thing has pretty much been scrapped for now. He asked me if I was feeling pressured to do this, and I said "uh, yeah, kind of," so the whole thing got dropped. I had looked at futons that weren't too bad, but right now I'm not up to dealing with that mess. At any rate, Dave had a futon (the pad is pretty much trashed thanks to drunken friends and a peeing dog) and the frame is still okay, so maybe at some point we could just get that and then all I'd have to get was a mattress. Not too bad. But right now, it's a big relief not to be worrying about this. At any rate, we managed to make some arrangements and he's now sleeping again. Phew.

As for the much-desired Palm, Mom has decided that no, she doesn't want to buy that for me at all after all. Well, she wouldn't say that outright, she said she wouldn't buy it for me "until the Jornada gets fixed." Which means, of course, that she won't buy it, because if the Jornada is fixed, I won't need a Palm. Why she even bothered to say that, I don't know. She called Friday and went on and on and on about how I shouldn't be wasting money by abandoning expensive machinery that stopped working such as the Jornada and my old PDA (which crashes so often it's not worth the constant resyncing and rebooting) and how I really should call tech support, over and over and over again if necessary, because I paid for that good brand name and they should be providing me with fine, quality tech support.

*cough*yeahRIGHT*cough* She also didn't believe Dave's and my claims that we had tried calling and e-mailing tech support and got no response. My Aunt Susie told Mom to her face that tech support from any company is utterly useless and a waste of your time to try, but I highly doubt Mom believed her on that one. Oh yeah, and Dad said it was too much money.

ARGH.

I'd just like to know how we're supposed to fix a machine that has lost the file that allows it to sync with the computer. How on earth would we put this file, should it be found, BACK on the Jornada, if it's missing the file that allows it to sync? Catch-22 much?

Meanwhile, I continue to spend money like a drunken sailor even when I'm not getting major purchases. I really need to be smacked for that. Because when Dave and I get bored, as is likely to happen on weekends, we end up wandering around town into various different stores. Which is when I end up finding stuff to buy. I wandered into the hippie store and found a cute tiny pentacle to replace the one that got lost in the first Great Room Rearrangement, and for $15 less than I originally paid for it. Okay, not too bad so far, but then Dave wanted to look in the bead store and I was intending to find a few small beads for something else. Spend $5 or less. Well, that would have worked out, had I not found the most gorgeous green heart glass bead... for $25. Ouch. But I couldn't let it stay there and be bought by someone else either. Honestly, I really can't get on Dave for being a spendaholic when I'm not so great at not buying things I want myself. I have no restraint, dammit.

You know what? I'm really tired of hearing "Is Dave moving into your place? It sure seems like he's moving into your place. He's not supposed to be moving into your place. Does he actually know he's supposed to find his own place? When's he going home yet, anyway? Is he actually looking for jobs?" In other words, your boyfriend's a big mooch, get rid of him already *groan*

He already said he'd go home for this weekend, mainly because Nikki was calling and begging me to go to her baby shower. You can imagine my um, joy at doing that, but Dave thinks they'll have to have it at somewhere er, much nicer than her apartment at least. But I think I'm going to have to kick him out again for another week or two just to shut everyone up that is obviously not believing me when I say this stuff. Ugh. Yeah, that'll help him job search here by having to stay out of town. I don't want to have to kick him out, but what else can I do?

As usual in today's job market, he's sent stuff out (most stuff seems to require being sent via e-mail) and hasn't heard diddly for the most part. I actually saw that a place similar to his old work is looking for someone for the same kind of thing he used to do and has open interviews on Tuesdays. I told him about this, and he is planning to go (he's sick of being out of work). However, I have to admit I'm not sure if I did the right thing by telling him about this. I have heard several stories from spouses of people that worked there that this place's owner is a raging biyotch to the employees. Probably similar to the Pocket Nazi boss he had before. (I've actually talked to the owner for old work-related purposes and the person was quite nice to me, but then again, if you're not nice to a reporter you're shooting yourself in the foot.) I have the suspicion that he'll just be getting into the same kind of icky situation that he was in at his last job. But on the other hand, it's not like he's got a whole lot of other options either.


Okay, now that I've whined and moaned and wailed for pages and pages, on to the good stuff.

The Apple Hill trip with the relatives actually went really, really well. Dave seemed to be well-liked by everybody that was around him, he was sweet and helpful to folks, and even *gasp* got along with my mother, who spent the day happily chattering away about stuff. He fit right in. Yay. Phew. All was well. We schmooped on each other all over the place, I'm afraid, but oh well.

The Apple Hill trip thing has been a tradition for years, and I would never have imagined that a guy I'd be with would actually want to go, much less enjoy it. But surprisingly, he did. Loved sampling apple stuff, loved checking out the craft items, etc. Had a great time, and said it was better than any family things he'd done in a long time. Awwww. Heck, he was looking at a brochure and saw that a few places up there do weddings, and then had the idea to do it up there. Hmmmm....

One place had a guy who did name rings- carving your name into gold or silver. Dave considered getting one that said "Marry Me" as a way to let them know about the proposal ("since neither one of us can ever think of a way to actually say it."), but it turned out it'd take the guy way too long to make it and my relatives didn't want to spend that much time there, so never mind.

It looks like another family gathering thing will have to happen in the future, though- Dave bought two glass dragons while he was there, one for him and one for his mom, and I stupidly forgot them in the car. Since it's a bad idea to mail glass stuff, we'll have to do something later on, I guess.

Maybe by then one of us will get up the nerve to actually tell them.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com