Chaos Attraction

The Shopping Masochism Tango

2002-10-08, 8:40 p.m.

I have determined how exactly that I am a shopaholic.

If I see something online that I want- for example, wanting to buy a Palm online, or some books I want and can't find in town, or 3WA's new online auctions- I can usually restrain myself from buying them. It's major delayed gratification for me to deal with typing in the card info online and then waiting 6 weeks for the item to come in, ugh. So I can restrain myself.

It's when the object is right in front of me, in person, I could take it home today if I bought it, that I go berserk and lose all self-control. It's even worse when I'm at a craft fair or *ahem* the bead store and find something unusual that you know exists nowhere else in the universe, and if you don't get it right now you'll never see its like again. "I want it, I want it NOW" rages through my head and takes me straight up to the cash register, logic be damned.

Really, I could just kick myself for all the money I dropped during the weekend on cool, unique craft items. I'm not at all sorry I got them, I love them, but... my mouse has just started to die and I am really going to have to get a new one. I could buy yet another cheap crappy one, or I could go with the nice right-handed, thumb-mousing, carpal-tunnel-avoiding, $38 quality mouse I saw in the school bookstore. But then again, note the cost. Combined with really needing groceries, yet another high phone bill coming in the second I paid off my last one, and (God forbid) having to buy a baby shower gift and train tickets for the weekend, this isn't great.

Which is why I told Dave yesterday that when we're bored, we canNOT go into any stores for entertainment. Don't take me into the book store, any jewelry stores, and (occasionally) the music stores, and I should be okay. Right?

So we're planning on going back to Office Max today to look at computer stuff. Brilliant move!

I continue to eye some kind of Palm, even though the Jornada miraculously managed to get fixed last night. (Turns out the problem was on the big computer, not the little one, and we managed to find a download.) I still want to write the novel on that one, and I do love it, but I wanna Palm too, dammit. Hell, even Columbine got one. I'm thinking about other machines beyond the 500, as that one seems to be going out of stock in general. There's the 125, which seems to be the 500 only using AAA batteries instead of a rechargeable. I'd really prefer a rechargeable, but hey, it's $145. Or there's the 130, which is a lovely little color one- but $250 for color? Doubt I need that. However, it looks like getting a keyboard may be a PITA- no stores here offer one, and they're out of them at palm.com. Ouch. I swear, I just want it for portable games. Hardly any games or writing programs are made for the Jornada, oddly enough. I really should know better than to torture myself like this. And yet, I continue to do it.


So Dave has submitted applications to some downtown joints, one of which hasn't received a whole lot of apps in a week and offer good benefits, so there might be some luck there. He's also going to a place that does open interviews this afternoon. Either way, I'm hoping something works out soon. We're both kind of fed up of me having to pay for everything. I told him about the whole "is he moving in" litany I'm getting from everyone and we've agreed that if he doesn't hear anything workwise by the end of the week, he's going to have to stay home after the weekend's up. If he hears something, then we'll see.


Speaking of employment, Scott called Dave last night. He's actually employed for now (we'll see how long that lasts), but somehow still broke. Remember that guy Jason from camp that was such a friend of his? Well, Jason managed to (a) lose Dave's CD collection, (b) take Dave's rats, and (c) eat ALL of the food in Scott's place to the point where he hasn't eaten in three days for lack of money. And from what I hear, he hasn't paid any kind of rent to anyone, so Scott called Jason's mommy and told her to haul his deadbeat ass home. Lovely. Also, Demma's car has been fixed for beaucoup bucks, and they're going to work on moving. Again, we'll see if that happens.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com