Chaos Attraction

Too Many Shoes

2022-10-16, 9:02 p.m.

No set construction for me today! I wonder if anyone showed up and if so, how it's going. I laid in bed till nearly 11, made an omelet, watched "Abbott Elementary" while finishing the Encanto purse and tried putting my hair up in a bun with one of those fake bun donut things everyone has. It looks fairly good, albeit not quite the whole Victorian style thing. How the heck did they POOF the rest of the hair out around their head while still maintaining a bun?! That I am at a loss at. Maybe they all just had bigger hair?

I tried on the shoes I got for the Encanto costume and...they hurt. They hurt too much to wear, they are tight on the top for no good reason, hurt to walk in, and waaah I'm going to have to start all over again on the shoes. I have had to give up on looking for hot pink espadrilles (literally cannot get), or similar-to-espadrilles (that didn't work, everything else I found is more expensive/ugly), and had to resort to "hot pink shoes" on Amazon, and some of the more promising shoes probably are coming from China, or I could get hot pink ballet shoes but those aren't great to wander the streets in...sigh. I ended up ordering hot pink ballet flat SLIPPERS that should show up by Wednesday (supposedly) to see if those are better/worse than the feet that hurt ones. Got, I hate my whiny-ass feet and having to buy shoes on the Internet. THIS IS MY SIXTH FUCKING PAIR OF SHOES I'VE HAD TO BUY ONLINE and EIGHT PAIRS TOTAL I'VE HAD TO BUY IN THE LAST MONTH.

(Note: three pairs of Victorian boots, kept two. Two pairs of hot pink espadrilles, never got. One pair of hot pink woven shoes: going to have to send them back. One pair of hot pink slippers: ordering. One pair of high heeled tap shoes, bought IRL. The previous Oxford tap shoes were bought over a month ago, but that's still nine pairs this fall. AND I HATE SHOE SHOPPING.)

On a related note, I'm starting to freak a wee bit over my new high heeled tap shoes because the toes are a little bit tight, but I did get the closest fitting pair (size 6.5 was too big already, the other high heeled tap shoes were higher), so I don't think "shopping around" is going to get better there. They are comfortable sitting around the house, at least.

Morgan got engaged!!!!!!!! Had to check online before I saw her today, so it happened! Happened at Disneyland, they got a Mickey-shape engagement ring there. Actual wedding not for a few more years, but Steve did offer the theater.

Singing lesson: did more "Maybe This Time," which continues to be fairly hard, followed by "As Long As He Needs Me." --chest voice focus, still. Hard stuff.


Rehearsal: "Abundance and Charity," round two. The tappers came a half hour early to learn the "tap break" (a wee bit of tapping in the first part), which wasn't too bad. I really like what I've seen of Danny's choreography so far, though we didn't get time to go over the longer tap section too much. I didn't use the new shoes today--still feeling ambiguous about whether or not I'm ready to devirginize 'em, I guess--so just kept my oxfords on the entire time.

Felicia's tap shoes keeled over and died. Kimmie stuck around for the beginning of rehearsal today and found her some tan heeled shoes to use tonight and even found some tap shoes for Omar to fit into in the theater. Good job, Kimmie. I asked how set building went today and she said well, they had builders come in, the doors are all set up, as is Scrooge's chair platform on wheels and the fireplace flat. Said she'll probably indicate who goes to what next weekend.

She also had all the lifters go over the circle lift dance, THANK GAWD, so hopefully nobody will injure themselves or fall off or any of that. She also said "Just switch Felicia and Sage, the height difference is an issue with the hips," so that got changed too. Whew.

Boris is on vacation until tomorrow, so Steve had to play the music off his phone. This was somewhat difficult to line up which part to keep playing and start on. Anyway, things are going well on this score and I really like the number, Having the tap shoes on for it all wasn't too bad, albeit I can spin a LOT faster in those and I gotta watch that. And not trip on stage seams or anything. Fun times! I like this number!

Quotes:

Noel to Kimmie: "I feel like this place is slightly cleaner and it's all due to you."

Omar: "I'm building a demon door in front of my house," and he's going to borrow an extra projector from Dannette for that.

Steve, wandering in during tap shoe discussion: "I have heels on."

Steve watching Other Jennifer precariously balanced during the circle lift: "She looks so comfortable!" Noel: "She's faking it."

Steve on Hugo's mom: "She's like a Jewish Spanish mother."

Steve to Morgan: "That's the dance step of an engaged woman."

Omar, inserting his own line into the song: "You can't have Christmas spirit without tap dancing!"

Scrooge Scott (missed the start of this): "...you dance for 3 hours without a break, I will throw up on your shoes."

Morgan to Steve: "Hey, the engagement would have happened sooner if we had gotten into Beauty and the Beast. That was the original plan." (No comment from Steve that I heard.)

Scrooge Scott: "I thought I'd just stand here so they know not to run into me."

Danny to Scrooge Scott: "I expect triples out of you. It's the Christmas spirit!" Scrooge Scott: "Take that up with my doctor."

Jan, on everything: "You only have to do it once per show."

Felicia: "Does anybody have any questions?" Scrooge Scott: "How do I get out of this?...I signed up for it."



previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com