Chaos Attraction

The Universe Taunts Me

2021-10-20, 6:51 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Hallmark Movie Reviews: Divorce Drama and Dying Trees - 2021-10-24
So Much For Cord Cutting - 2021-10-23
Pre-Show Jitters - 2021-10-23
Go Blow - 2021-10-22
Whomp Whomp - 2021-10-21

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: I had to go into the office today. They have opened the front counter to the public now and people are swarming in! Yaaaaaaaaaaay. I didn't have any major dramas today (which was "less international mail drama, no phones, and nobody asked me anything on the Slack channel during my babysitting hour!"), but I am disappointed (if not surprised at all) to find out that nobody was able to get shit done while I was out on Big Quarterly Project because they got confused and tech-ops complained about something. It's still not done today. SIGH.

I also have to work 3 days in office AGAIN this week, surprise! (Which is to say, someone called in sick, apparently.) Also waaaaaaaaaaaah. Seriously, there is no point in me physically being here. I didn't have to surprise help anyone at much of anything, other than people messaging me, which didn't exactly need me in office.

No, seriously, I really do not need to personally be in the office twice a week, much less three times. (a) There's a manager every day. (b) The younger employees seem perfectly fine. I did talk to one in person for like 30 seconds after we were attempting to figure out where something went (she found it) and that's about it. (c) WE HAVE THE GROUP SLACK CHANNEL FOR STUFF, WHICH WORKS JUST FINE (d) I didn't get called in to babysit anyone at the counter (e) Did I mention that all of our new temps are supposed to be in the office full time? That's like, three people (we just got another one). Do they NEED me there more than once a week to do the mail? I think not. But is this a thing I can bring up? No. Though I may gripe about it with Hope sometime, I'm sure. (f) Meanwhile, I have shit to do that I need to do on my own computer--it's waaaaaaaaaaaay too much of a pain in the ass to set up the excruciating security logins I have to do for special crap and I'm not doing it for one-offs I do rarely. It'd be nice to just be able to do it without "oh, gotta wait till I work from home again to log into Excruciating Website."


48 hours after I did that ritual, I was feeling over him. Not caring and numb, FINALLY. FINALLY.

However, the universe has to fucking taunt you.

I incorporated this NYT article into my whole ritual on Monday, and then there's this quote from it:

“And don’t be surprised if you hear from him,” she said. “He’ll feel the disconnect instantly.” I doubted that. He was living in Australia. Wasn’t that a bit far for our little ritual to travel? Our session was on a Friday evening, by Sunday morning he had called. “I was just thinking about you,” he said on the message. Damn. That woo-woo business had worked! It was like some sort of karmic love boomerang."

To which I was all, yeah fucking RIGHT, and then figured people bringing him up at karaoke afterwards was that sort of thing.

I guess I'm not going to the Casa de Fruta Renaissance Faire this weekend--rain predicted every day until Monday, at least, sigh. And thus, I accepted Robert's free comp ticket to see Rocky Horror in Fairfield that he offered circa lunch. I said yes and then thought, "fuck, it's a midnight show and over a half hour away driving home at 2-3 a.m. in the dark and rain, WHAT WAS I THINKING?!" ... oh well.

Anyway, at the time I did not ask if Scott or anyone else was going, I decided to hope for the best on that score even though he loves him some RH, used to be in it, et al.

DAMMIT ROBERT JUST TEXTED THAT SCOTT'S IN FUCK A DUCK.

I texted my therapist this and she was all "remember how you told me about probably having contact because you let go...." and I was all "yeah, but I didn't think he'd actually do that because he always disappoints me!" and she was all "Notice it wasn't him that instigated or put it out there...." and "Universe did. Electricity did. Or maybe it was him," and asked if I knew how it came about. Not really, no. "Never know how it all came about...."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com