Chaos Attraction

Dead Goldfish

2022-10-26, 9:24 p.m.

Work: the meeting actually went differently than I was expecting. Which is to say it wasn't a long list of whatever Jennifer's done wrong again in the last few weeks--I was expecting at the very least to get a metaphorical spanking over one girl complaining that she never gets her documents and claims to have paid twice when I could only find evidence of payment once, and the other two things I offended enough for to cause another meeting and writeup would have still been a mystery.
Instead, it was a very polite version of telling New Boss, "This is Jennifer. She has a lot of problems. Here is what to look out for with her." Old Boss actually said I'd made a lot of improvements (faint) but still had a lot to work on (sigh) and made me recite the list of things I'm not supposed to say any more, more or less. She also claimed I have "monthly" goals (um....news to me? Literally first time I've heard this?) to work on regarding my (terrible as usual) service and re-read me the job description again, that sort of thing. Happily, this meeting only lasted 23 minutes--Old Boss apparently was allowed to run this and end it rather than (Great) Grand-Boss, go figure. WHEW. Giant whew. Old Boss made it sound like maybe these shaming meetings won't go on any more...possibly? Not gonna get my hopes up on that one, but it sounded like "well, New Boss is going to write your performance reviews now, so...."

I was supposed to do lunch with a buddy from another office, but she called in sick today, bleah.

New Boss is going to have one on ones circa next week work or so. She nicely approved me to do some staff development workshops in a few weeks (there's some kind of online conference that week for that sort of thing), huzzah, even if one was "applying for jobs at GiantOrg" and the other was "transferable skills" (the third one I asked for was actually work-related-ish).

I spent the afternoon looking up patterns on the Internet again for the next Encanto costume...which is to say I got through my workload except for absolute dregs of things that have no urgency whatsoever, kept hitting refresh on when deliveries are coming in (nothing), and then was waiting around for another workload to get dropped on me, after 4 p.m. Then when I started that, the computer program I needed crashed after I did about seven of 'em. I was all "not rebooting this again at 4:56 p.m., y'all."


Rehearsal: did the entire past, from Scrooge's tragic poor childhood to the end of act 1. Scrooge Scott still tests positive/was on Zoom tonight, but says he never felt bad, like a cold at most. Jan is all "he's back on Sunday, ten days, even if he still tests positive!" which I do not like since that will be picture/video day and I'll be forced to have the mask off... (great, worrying about another Scott testing positive in ten days...didn't need that deja fucking vu). And Omar was out with a case of vertigo :( which I hope is not permanent. Missed him tonight, obviously, especially during dance stuff (at one point I got kicked out of the allemande circle because of the odd number...sigh).

At first I was all "oh, cool, I'm not in most of this" but surprise, somehow I'm still in enough of it. Or at least I walk on, say "Happy Christmas, Ebenezer" (as the factory owner's wife) and leave. This seems pretty useless to me for a clothing change, but...whatever. Mostly it's just Fezziwig and the ending scene (Money Machine Montage) for the likes of me. The non-dancing stuff is pretty much walk on, sing, leave, whatever.

Morgan was not having a good night, for various reasons (spilled coffee, car trouble, blah de blah whatever else she didn't elaborate on), I felt bad for her. I guess entering a cast as a newbie is being...not great for her :( I tried to support her, anyway. Hope that helped a bit.

Set painting (for me if no one else?) and building Saturday, no building Sunday, but we are supposed to do photos/video early on Sunday before the rehearsal. Caroler costumes and ghosts.

Maya was dancing in the audience while the rest of us were Fezziwigging. Danny did some crazy acrobatic leaps around an invisible Omar while waiting to get his bonus.

Quotes:

I'm wearing an aquarium- themed shirt today. Noel likes my outfits and today told me that while she likes a nicely kept aquarium/Monterey Bay, etc., "goldfish are filthy creatures" and well, easily disposable little pains in the ass. She said a friend of hers replaced a dead goldfish and ended up with a pregnant one, and then was all "What do I do? I have to give them all away, they're living creatures!" and Noel was all "dump 'em." I laugh and laugh.

Later we discussed people doing ALL KINDS OF DRUGS that they could just get over the counter in Victorian London (it's in the book we're both reading on the Victorian era), and how her husband used to work with a bunch of crazy people. I was all "I'm the crazy one at work," and she was all, "I'm sure you're very nice," and I said, "They call me eccentric to my face, not gonna ask what's behind my back!"

Jean: "I'm sewing as you go on the stage," and "I'm running off with your child, if that's okay." ("Bring her back by 10.")

Other Jennifer on Felicia: "She's dancing over the graves."

Steve walked in and said something was full of shit, then amended to "full of crap" when he realized a 7-year-old was in the room. I doubt Alex noticed or cared.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com