Chaos Attraction

Drugged Babies on Laxatives

2022-10-27, 9:25 p.m.

Work: had an in person breakfast meeting with the entire office today, which was delicious and friendly. After that, I went back to working from home and doing another tedious list of checking things, nothing terribly exciting to report there.
Singing lesson: went over my solo in the show for like 5 minutes ("be a bit more gravely, otherwise fine") and then did more "Maybe This Time," including acting it out dramatically to "loosen me up a bit." That was fun/hammy. Did a little of "As Long As He Needs Me," which I guess is doing ok?

Rehearsal: went early to pick out a petticoat and muff (was not allowed the gray one...have to have black because of my brown, brown costume...sigh...Noel and I grumbled a bit about having brown costumes when that is Not Our Color afterwards), but she's happy with the ah, decorations we added to her ghost dress. Texted Felicia to go pick out a muff though!

We went over "Abundance and Charity" again. Omar was there and upright and dancing, and Scrooge Scott tested negative today so he was there, masked. Added in the tap dance and things like that. I note that the kickline-ish bit where everyone has to hold someone's leg and then drop it has now been dubbed "Legs Over London" (formerly "cursed kickline"). Jan isn't too fazed when people flub. Got out early again, yay.

Quotes:

I was reading from the Victorian book, got to a very depressing bit, and then ran up to Noel when she was available: "THEY DRUGGED BABIES AND GAVE THEM LAXATIVES!!!!" Noel: "I KNOW!" and then said about her baby, "You would have drugged him too!"

Omar: "I have an ensemble mentality." Danny calls Omar a "single Pringle" for doing some stuff on his own in this number. I'm all, "Pringles are never single, people keep eating them!"

Jan, on the town water: 'Steve always says you chew your water." Morgan on her bottled water: "My water just tasted like pickles."

Danny, backstage: "I love a sugar walk. It looks sexy."

Scrooge Scott has discovered his "adopted family," and of course it's "Am I The Asshole," where his answers are getting upvotes and quotes. "I have like 18,000 karma points. I got quoted on Yahoo News" for some article about how some lady wanted to be the first to hold her grandbaby and then couldn't show up for 3 days. Me: "What were they expected to do, use tongs?!" Him: "I know! I said tongs, and a series of pneumatic tubes!" Also from him: "I can unleash my inner judge."

Scrooge Scott was also having some interesting conversations with others about other shows, so I heard remarks like, "Would Hugo be your Xana-dude? In short shorts?" Also, he was in Spamalot and the night they were filming, Dannette started out the show by tripping and another guy slapped the castle and it started to fall, and Scrooge Scott's belt was falling off, and some other guy wanted to improvise and Scrooge Scott was all, "Not tonight! Everything is going wrong!" I'd love to watch this video.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com