Chaos Attraction

Pre-NaNoWriMo Horror Stories

2002-10-30, 6:36 p.m.

(Otherwise known as "In Which All Of Jennifer's Computers Have Issues Today.")

Last night I had a notice pop up on my screen that I hadn't checked for viruses in seven days. So I set the virus scan on at 10:30 p.m. and went to bed. I woke up at 5:30 (damn non-DST) and the computer was still merrily and loudly chugging away, having scanned 27000 of 33000 files and had yet to find a virus. I went back to bed.

When I got up again at 6:30, the computer had shut itself off entirely. Eight hours of wasted effort.

CRAP.

Last night I FINALLY got around to reading my old novel and taking notes on the plot and what I wanted to follow up on. I got up this morning and took some more notes.

Pulled out the Jornada at lunch today to take some more notes and- it's dead. Totally dead. Won't turn on, won't reset when I hit the button, won't reset after I take the battery out and replace it. And it should be on a fairly new battery charge.

CRAP!

At least I hadn't started adding anything new to the novel yet, but presumably I've now lost my new notes and the stuff I was adding to my financial listings that I haven't synced yet.

CRAP.

So far it shows no signs of life.

I rushed to OfficeMax today to see if they have any Palm keyboards so I can have it for the weekend. (I was going to wait until I got a paycheck again at least, but nevermind.) I found a nice one for an affordable cost. I asked the guy "Is this one compatible with a 125?" He said yes. I brought it home. No, it is NOT.

CRAP.

Just the thing I needed before NaNoWriMo starts, right? Two days before it starts? I am going to be leaving town this weekend (unless I give up and let Dave come back here and make him fix my computers, anyway). I NEED a way to type while on the road!

I've got the Palm in case the Jornada dies, but I need a keyboard NOW! Worst comes to worst, I can drag Dave out to the town mall/Circuit City and pick one up, but that's wasting a day until I get there.

I'm even stupider than you think: I saw a keyboard that was probably compatible with my machine. I just didn't get it because the box had been opened (generally a bad sign at this store, an employee told me when I got the Palm).

Dammit! I hope it's still there tomorrow. Though I am not looking forward to hoochieing it over there in a screaming flourescent skimpy-ass dress and bouffant wig, not to mention the damned orange clogs from hell.

I am also having a heart attack about doing the damn dress. Starting next week, there's five weeks left of the quarter, and buying a quarter pass is cheaper then. Only you can't go in and use their materials when classes are in session, and the sewing room is apparently booked from 5 p.m. to 10 (when they close) almost every weekday. A bit of time will free up at the end of the quarter (say, the last week), but until then it looks like if I want to use their space, I'll have weekends (did I mention I probably won't be home on weekends in November?) and Mondays after 7:30 until the end of the month to do it in.

CRAP!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com