Chaos Attraction

It's Election Day, Bring Out Your Dead!

2002-11-05, 5:43 p.m.

(Entry title courtesy of Stef on 3WA chat. Love it)

NaNoWriMo Update #2:

I managed to get all my previously written work typed into the main computer last night. Took all night long to do and I was so tired when I finished. I felt evil for telling Hill I'd already eaten and wouldn't do dinner with her (on her birthday!). Normally even though I had eaten I would go, but I had writing to do. Sigh.

The irony of it all is that my 23 pages of handwriting came out to only 4,773 words. That's all I have after four days, one of which I couldn't even work on anything at all because I was retyping. Shoot, I might as well have just skipped the weekend and wrote for the first time on Monday night, I'd probably have more written now. I could just cry.

I'm normally better than that. I think I had at least 6,000 words by this time last year. I'm generally a fast writer- when I can type, that is. And now I feel like a slowpoke. Especially after seeing how fast certain people are going, I can't help but think "I used to be that good! What happened?"

I have my doubts that I'll be able to finish this year. Fairly severe ones.

I got the new Palm keyboard working, but it's not as easy to type on as I thought. Mainly, I somehow keep missing the space bar and running the words together. Maybe I'm just being thrown off by the height change for typing (I tend to keep keyboards low instead of on the top of my desk), but it was not all that speedy. Ugh.

I did manage to get some research done for the upcoming chapters. For some reason I decided to set one section on a real life island last year, so I had to go find information again on that. I think I'll also throw in a tarot card reading, so I did some research on that too. At least now I should have enough to churn out the next few chapters.

Here's my NaNoWriMo site profile, if you're interested in the word count and seeing a sample of what I just wrote.


You know what else is distracting while trying to write? Having your nose so plugged up that it feels like you have a little brick hanging off your face.

Yes, I'm sick once again, thanks to Demma. Joy. (Will they not allow me to get a flu shot on Thursday if I'm sick?) It's not that bad other than the massively plugged nose, but it doesn't help the post-pneumonia cough to have even MORE drip causing me to cough in the middle of the night. I woke up at 4 a.m. coughing, finally decided to take a shower at five a.m. to see if I could relieve any of the congestion, and ended up puking in the shower. Not badly, but still, ugh. As for the shower itself, that totally cleared out my nose until the second I turned it off again. Ugh. People go on about how I should get "well rested," but how on earth am I supposed to do that when I wake up for hours of coughing? It's not like I get to sleep in any more and make up the time.

Gah. Seems like everything I see today is bitching about how people aren't voting, how young people should go "get out the vote!" today, how if you don't vote, you're an asshole moron, etc., etc.

I'm not voting today, so thanks.

It's not for complete lack of interest in doing so, actually. It's because you know that paper they make you fill out saying that you're going to vote this year, the one that has to be turned in weeks before election day or you can't vote? Mine has up and disappeared. Hill handed it to me when it came in, I put it down somewhere, and it is gone, baby, gone now. I can find all the OTHER election materials perfectly well, they're taunting me at home. But can I vote anyway? Hell no. I could "get out the vote" today, but they're not gonna let me because I wasn't signed up weeks ago.

Why the hell do they do that? That really doesn't do much to promote people to vote. And for that matter, what is with the campaigns whining "People aren't voting this year, go out and do it!" They've been going on in the last few days, but if you didn't already care enough (or um, lose the paper) to sign up weeks ago, a campaign like this will make no difference.

Oh well, it's not like my voting record hasn't been ruined before, such as the year Mom didn't send me my absentee stuff from my home county in time, or the year when I still lived at home and she blithely announced on election day that she'd forgotten to send in all of our absentee ballots. And truth be told, I'm not all that sorry to be missing out on the chance to vote for one sleazy politician vs. a socially conservative Republican. Or the Green Party, which just ticks me off. I hope they all lose, because I don't really want any of them to win. Too bad you can't vote for "none of the above, please find all new candidates." I probably would have voted for Davis only because I refuse to let any socially conservative (i.e. religious born again dictator type) Republican into office no matter how stinky the Democratic candidate is. I'd like to be able to still remain in control of my own goddamn body and reproductive organs. But it wouldn't have been an enjoyable vote.

As for elections in general, the religious right Republican types are gonna win. The Evil Empire is in charge now. God is on their side, how can they fail? I've given up hope on that since the "presidential election."

It saddens me to think of how excited I was when I turned 18 and could vote. Now I can't work up any enthusiasm about it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com