Chaos Attraction

If I Can Just Find My Hip, I Can Walk

2002-11-06, 5:57 p.m.

I didn't get any work done last night at all. Hill wanted to go out shopping and do dinner for her birthday, and I felt guilty for bailing yesterday to write, so I said yes.

On my way home, I got off the bus and was faced with a wall of traffic going both ways. Crossing the street at 5:15 p.m. in my neighborhood (or indeed, the entire downtown area) is a bitch. I was already feeling late for this, and waited until a few more cars cleared out and ran across the street.

I made it most of the way across, then SLIPPED. Badly. I think I actually landed and rolled over, because when I finally stopped I was on my right side and my left hurt like absolute hell. I also think I chipped a tooth (chewing has been fun, nice and sensitive. And this is only for a little chip.). My elbow is not happy as I type today. As for the rest of me, I hurt on my entire right side from waist to mid-thigh, and am sporting an enormous bruise.

I can barely walk. Barely. No joke. I wish I had a cane or a wheelchair or something. It's not quite as bad as it was when I broke my leg when I was five, but it's the worst I've hurt myself since then.

I so wanted to cancel on last night's plans (walking around a store? two stores?), and every step hurt like a bitch. I was relatively fine just as long as I was sitting or didn't put any weight on the bad leg. However, you can't walk without putting weight on both legs! Getting in and out of a car, OWWWW. Walking, only slightly less owww. Getting out of a chair, OWWWW again. I seriously debated whether or not it was easier to just stay standing up instead of getting up and down, then realized that I was hurting so badly either way I might as well just sit and take a load off.

Though I did get some lovely black velvet pajamas, velvet slippers, and a nice dinner out of the evening (mmm, raspberry cheesecake), so it wasn't all bad. Plus I now have leftovers that I brought in to work so I wouldn't have to hike out and buy lunch. Though I did drop my fork right out on the sidewalk this morning... let's see, eat with a dirty fork, or hobble downstairs to wash it off or grab a plastic one? I think I'll just eat dirt.

As you perhaps imagined, Dave was upset to hear that I fell down and yelled at me to never run in traffic again. He also told me (he has been injured badly too many times to count) that a "blunt force trauma" like that was going to leave me in even worse pain the next morning and I might not be able to get up and go to work. Gee, thanks for telling me that. I suggested we go clubbing for his birthday and he said "You might not be able to do that at all. You probably won't be better until next Tuesday." ARGH.

I am better, though. I slept flat on my back (icky because I normally sleep on my left side, or any side at all, and I just couldn't get into that position) with the electric blanket cranked on high, and the pain is not so bad this morning. Still hurts a lot, but not in the walking-on-broken-glass kind of way. More like the walking-on-jacks kind of way. I suspect walking around on it all night and then keeping it warm helped me to not freeze up entirely. Kind of like when I sprained my ankle trick-or-treating and then proceeded to continue trick-or-treating for the next 2 1/2 hours. Yes, I'm a stubborn bitch. It actually improved throughout work too, it wasn't nearly as stiff and painful to move when I left as it was when I arrived. I could even handle stairs. Though I'm still walking with a funny back lurch.

I'm wearing my new pajamas to work so I wouldn't have to worry about changing so much- hell, the pants are dressy, and I put a shirt on over the skimpy top. At least I could make it all the walk to work. (I take the bus there, but there's a looooong pathway I have to walk up to the building.) I keep thinking of this Robin Williams tape I have, "A Night At The Met," where he's talking about driving while under the influence. "I can drive! If I can just find my feet, I can drive!" At work they made jokes about putting me in traction.

I hope it doesn't rain tomorrow like it's supposed to. How on earth am I going to NOT slip and fall in the rain?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com