Chaos Attraction

Third time's the charm?

2001-11-09, 9:00 p.m.

Third time's the charm?

Hi. Once upon a time, I used to have a couple of online journals. The first one featured my then-scandalous, soap-operatic love life and was quite entertaining beyond my adoration of stupid GIF's. Not a lot of people ever read that one, despite my promotion (probably because of the GIF's). I stopped that one after I got dumped. The second I deleted because it featured whining that nobody else but me wanted to hear anyway, and I never mentioned it to anyone because of that. Now, however, I am going to attempt to start out with a cleaner slate. One in which we have no love life references whatsoever directing the entire state of the journal (okay, probably not, but at least no ACTIVE love life references).

So I'm a big 3WA addict, and awhile ago some 3WA folks were having a gathering. I didn't make it to said gathering, but did sign up on a journalers mailing list around that time to find out gathering news. I signed up to get into a carpool for the next one, happening tomorrow. Now I'm starting to wonder why I did it, since I know a whopping two folks off 3WA (and haven't actually met either in person, though I did talk to Jolene once on the phone for like a minute) and one that lives in town and writes for the same paper I do. The rest of them? No idea. As for me, they also have no idea who I am whatsoever, since I've been doing the bloggin' thing for awhile now instead of the journal thing, and haven't said boo on the mailing list either. And I'm also having my usual potluck anxiety, as I am not Ms. Chef O' The Future by any means and I can't just make cookies or brownies like I usually do to fulfill the requirement. And after a long, hard day's work and a frantic hour freaking out over the potluck selection, I came home to check the e-mail and found them discussing reading journal entries. In a kind of "hey, we'll make you print something out and read it" way. I'm like "Oh crap, I don't have any," beyond the occasional column I did on the weblog, and I don't want to read those, especially not the last one that ticked people off.

So, well, here ya go, in the event of an emergency...

Things to know about me:

* I've been in the newspaper biz for a couple of years, started during college and finally graduated from that this spring. At this point in time I am a general assignment reporter/editorial assistant. What this means is that I do a lot of the people-wrangling for obits/births/weddings/columns, some layout, some typing, and while waiting around for those to come in, work on stories.

Good things about this: Generally this is fine by me, as I spend a ton of time waiting for calls to be returned and at least I have something to do. Not stuck to a particular beat covering City Council meetings *shudder* I officially get out of work at 4 p.m. Bit of a pay boost too.

Bad things about this: Job starts at 7 a.m., and I'm a natural night owl. This can be painful. I have to pick up the police briefs most of the week, which is a pain since the station has been moved to the far side of town and I can't drive. Obits can get depressing. Page layout sucks ass on the days I have to do two pages on Friday afternoon, since I don't get done till frigging 5:30.

On the personal side, I seem to be in a cycle of losing most of the friends I've been hanging out with the last four years, even though I haven't left the town I went to college in. (Hence why the second journal was deleted, actually, as that was about all it went into.) This isn't great, but seems to be inevitable. At any rate, I seem to be heading in a new direction from them. Hoping it's an actual good and lasting one, but knowing me, probably not. The online friends are a hell of a lot more decent than the ones I'm not around so much any more. I'm not sure if this is good or bad or just warped of me.

Relationshipwise, I am avoiding having them like the plague. There are several fellows interested in me, but it's not mutual. At all. Whatsoever. The last boyfriend I had was two years ago. I miss the fellow I dated as he was then, but at this point I think he's bipolar (and untreated), so he's pretty much well, gone to hell. We no longer speak. After him I dated a bit and was not impressed by the available selection out there (it seems like 98% of the guys my age suck ass in the maturity department), and at any rate I am just Not In The Mood to go through the process of fall in love, everything goes great, dump, hurt, repeat, especially since I suspect I'm really just too young and immature to have ANY relationship last even if the guy doesn't need medication. I pretty much figure I was meant to be alone anyway. I don't know how long this state of not wanting a relationship is going to last, since it's pretty unnatural for me. I figure I'll end up meeting someone on the internet and having an agonizing long-distance relationship just like everyone else... I'm kind of kidding there, but kind of not. I think I've used up the supply of men in this town, so if I do end up with someone else he'll probably live elsewhere. I dearly hope that elsewhere is in northern CA or it's REALLY not going to work out.

Other random facts:

* I have a hamster. He doesn't do much.

* I have a roommate. She is quite goofy. She is the real Ms. Chef O' The Future. We have the same taste in bizarre home decor, which currently involves being decorated for all holidays at once throughout the year.

* My favorite movie is When Harry Met Sally. I've seen it TOO many times. I used to laugh hysterically every time I thought of Baby Fishmouth. I've also seen Sleepless in Seattle and Clueless many times.

* To quote from Clueless, "Woman, you can't drive for SHIT!" No, I can't drive. That's can't, not so much won't. I'm pretty incompetent behind the wheel, throw hysterical panicky fits, drive off teachers, etc. Yes, I know I should learn how to drive, given that I am a reporter living in CA, but I've managed so far. And I honestly have no idea how this situation of sucking at driving is going to change, because I drive teachers nuts. I've suggested taking Valium beforehand, but everyone yells at me for that one :P

* I am a spoiled brat only child.

* My dad is handicapped as of five years ago. His particular disease and condition sucks ass in so many ways I can't even begin to tell you. And if I did, you'd throw up.

* I am apparently quite the fast writer. I am doing NaNoWriMo and broke the 20,000 word barrier the other night. The novel in question is a real-life-fantasy thing and is going surprisingly well.

* I also read incredibly fast. I've estimated it at about 100 pages/hour. This is a very convenient talent to have!

* Not too talented at: Math that isn't add/subtract stuff, plane geometry or chemistry-related, remembering numbers, directions.

* I shop like a fiend. It's a Taurus thing.

* I have degrees in English and design.

* I heart the Internet. It's like a free library open 24-7 (I have DSL). I surf all the damn time, hence the weblog.

* Roseanne was more of a domestic goddess than I am. This is a major failing of mine.

* Mom's side relatives are pretty cool, Dad's side drives me up the damn wall. They all wanted me to get married at 18 like the rest of them. They're from Montana *sigh*

* I look like Daria, only with the hair tending more towards the blonde and longer, and er, dressing like Quinn.

* I really should be working on that NaNoWriMo novel instead of writing this ;)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com